We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
garypope027
Stoney Creek, Canada

Great place to stay/visit

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 7, 2024
It was a great place, close to everything. There is so much to do and see in the are. The one bedroom condo on ground floor was Fantastic. The views were Spectacular. We would love book again and try to stay longer. The staff was excellent. We will be back for sure
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Rathtrevor Beach
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Ocean Sands Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Ocean Sands Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$349
  • Hotels.com
4.3 km from Ocean Sands Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance for foot traffic from Resort Drive
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Ocean Sands Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Coast Parksville Hotel Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$268
  • Booking.com
4.8 km from Ocean Sands Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
close to everything !
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$179
  • Booking.com
2.9 km from Ocean Sands Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$1,164
  • Hotels.com
4.9 km from Ocean Sands Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Living room
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Ocean Sands Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Wyndham
    C$278
  • Booking.com
    C$278
  • Hotels.com
    C$278
5.0 km from Ocean Sands Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfortable bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$286
  • Booking.com
4.4 km from Ocean Sands Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Parksville
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
501
194
26
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
501
194
26
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two bedroom unit outdoor pool rathtrevor beach low tide full kitchen enjoyed our stay hot tub get away gas fireplace home away from home beach access darcy units ocean poolside elevator amenities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 738 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2024

Tranquil location with a nice view and comfortable unit. Off-season stay was perfect - the unit was comfortable with a fireplace, good TV and a well-stocked kitchen for cooking. Office staff were very accomodating when we needed to change dates.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 22, 2024

Booking agent was so incredibly rude that we booked elsewhere. She spoke rapidly; seemed to be in a rush. When I asked about room quality (furniture looked worn on website), she said, “I don’t know what you mean.” Very sarcastic; not interested in helping customers.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darcy Stephenson, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2024

We are sorry to hear that your interaction with our agent was not a positive one. We do not consider our furniture to be "worn" so her asking for some clarification about what you are seeing was her trying to understand what photo you may be speaking of since we don't use that description for any of our units. Each of our units has unique decor, that is kept in well functioning condition so that our guests have a pleasant and enjoyable stay. I can also say that none agents are sarcastic people so I am unsure why you would get that impression. Parksville has a multitude of lovely resorts, so we hope you found accommodations that met your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2024

As retired seniors, we love coming in low season. The visits always bring happy memories from when our children were little.
Would be nice if the luggage trolleys were updated and easier to push along.
Thanks for the help on working the remote control!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertbrynwhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darcy Stephenson, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2024

Thank you for taking the time roberbrynwhittaker in sharing your kind comments!
It is always nice to see returning guests to our resort! I have noted your thoughts about luggage trolleys and we will be looking into it.
We hope to see you again next spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2023

What a beautiful place, too bad it is unhygenic in the bathroom, toilet and tub, and in the kitchen, dishwasher smelled really bad when heat drying, dishwasher 'cheese', and the vent was moldy, not sure when the tub was last cleaned but it was covered in soap scum and had dried up soap shards in the soap holder, under the rim of the toilet was black and brown had to be scrubbed before I would sit on it, and brown smelly water was leaking from the base of the toilet. I didn't say anything to management as the last time I stayed in a different condo they said it was down to the owners and there was nothing they could do about the problem at that time, which was spiders and mould.

Room tip: Take along cleaning supplies and mold control spray, or stay somewhere else
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pennyv261
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darcy Stephenson, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2023

Good morning pennyv261,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide us your feedback regarding a recent stay with us. But I am so baffled by the feedback you have given us, that I am wondering if you have reviewed the correct resort. Our housekeeping team works diligently to clean our units, and if this is us, then it is a lot of misses on our part - which we sincerely apologize for!

We ask our guests to come to the front desk with concerns during their visit so we may rectify them or move them to a more appropriate unit. I realize that you may have approached our front desk before and not received a response that corrected your problem, but that is not typically the case. We do our best to fix the concerns our guest has promptly if it is within our control.

We have not found water coming out of the base of any toilet, which would be fixed ASAP if it is happening. Please send us a note directly to reservations@oceansandsresort.ca so we are aware of which room this is and inspect the toilet to be fixed.

We take our housekeeping concerns seriously so we can continually make improvements and our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,
Ocean Sands Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2023

Beautiful view from room and deck. Easy access to the beach. Mattress was horrible. Pillows were beyond horrible (worse than a cheap, run down motel). Towels had seen better days. I may book again at some point, but I’ll be bringing my own linens, pillows and towels.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darcy Stephenson, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2023

Thank you Paul_B_Victoria for providing us your feedback regarding your stay with us.
Please always touch base with the front desk if you have any concerns as we will always try to rectify them during your stay. We are in the process of replacing our towels, but we provide at least 5-6 different thicknesses of pillows on our big beds. We know that some of our guests prefer flat pillows, while some prefer fluffy ones. We do have extras in the office as well, so we can swap out pillows to meet your requirements.
Kind Regards,
Ocean Sands Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews