We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quiet Skier Sanctuary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cloudside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cloudside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windham, Maine
2 reviews
“Quiet Skier Sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Very nice, quiet and cozy, B&B within easy walking distance of shopping and an amazing variety of restaurants and pubs in downtown Nelson. Great for skiers who are skiing locally or who need to recuperate after skiing at one of the region's helicopter or cat skiing operations. The proprietors are very accomodating in seeing that your needs are met, whether it be dietary concerns at breakfast, stowing your gear, or sharing their local knowledge about activities in and around Nelson. I've stayed with them while on ski vacations over the last three years and the rooms and bathrooms are always spotless. With such a welcoming environment, I haven't thought of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a private bathroom while others share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    41
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
190
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Loved everything! From the more than welcoming reception and guidance to neighbouring restaurants...to the exceptionally clean, comfortable and cozy bedrooms. The attention to detail and options at breakfast, made me rethink what I serve my family everyday! Now that we have found our favorite spot to stay in Nelson...we cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: The pictures depicted on the website are a good representation of the rooms. Great view from the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

It was an all round great experience staying at Cloudside between Xmas and New Years !! Our daughter lives in Nelson and we needed a comfy clean place to stay while visiting. From my first contact till the day we left ( 8 days ), we feel, after a lot of years of B & B ing, that this is the top of our list. Super clean and spacious rooms, yummy breakfasts with a good variety of healthy food, as well as a perfect location in the heart of town. Chris and Sally thank you for your welcoming nature and home. We will return and tell anyone who is looking to stay in your beautiful town of Nelson to experience what a top notch B & B is like-- Cloudside !!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

A great little B & B, right in the middle of Nelson. Close to everything. Proprietors very helpful. Lots of brochures and information about the B & B and also reviews of local restaurants which is very helpful. Suite was very clean and beds were great. Internet was free and free parking available at the back of the B & B. Breakfast was nice. Lots of homemade cereals, yoghurts and fruit, plus sausages and eggs. Fruit juice on the table and whatever beverage you required was available (Fresh coffee, tea, herbal tea, hot chocolate). Check in was not available until 4.00 pm.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonybanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
To everyone reading this review: here's a bit of inside info from the B&B industry: you never get a 5 out of 5 from another B&B owner...it's a rule (even if they loved it!)

Oh well, we'll carry on trying to do our best!

Chris and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Excellent service and great rooms, would highly recommend. The inn is located right in town so it's easy to get around at night and has easy access to the highway for skiing. Breakfasts were fantastic, be sure to ask for the eggs benedict!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

What a little gem . Chris and Sally were both very welcoming and so helpful. We were visiting from the UK and couldn't believe our luck finding Cloudside.
The breakfast was great and they even accommodated our daughters food allergies.
The house is spotlessly clean and our bed more comfortable than our one in England!
Highly recommended, enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Glad to have you stay from the UK. We caught up on some news too! Thank-you for reviewing us.

Sally and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

My sister flew in from Minnesota and I decided to take her on a road trip from Edmonton, AB to Nelson, B.C. where my daughter was living for the summer. She was walking in downtown Nelson and saw this beautiful old house that was also a B&B and suggested we try Cloudside Inn. Well, let me tell you that Chris and Sally Drysdale were wonderful hosts. As well as loving the cozy decor and the location (downtown, within walking distance of all the good stuff), we truly appreciated their efforts in accommodating our dietary needs. We had decided to go "raw vegan" for the trip...not an easy feat. And Chris, with enthusiasm, began researching ideas for raw food breakfasts. We were there about a week and each morning he would try to find breakfast foods we could have. He really went out of his way. Meanwhile the other guests were having delicious looking waffles and pancakes and eggs, all made from scratch. Anyway, above and beyond...which I guess suits being up in the clouds at Cloudside Inn. You know, just go there; you'll see! Just don't go when I plan on going. I don't want the place to be so full that there is "no room in the Inn".

Room Tip: Talk to Chris or Sally and they will give you the best suggestion for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
We do like a challenge...and I learned a LOT from looking into what makes a 'raw' diet. It is - to be very honest - a tricky one to cater for. But, you know, when I make pretty much the same breakfasts on a regular basis (pancakes, French toast, Eggs Benedict, oatmeal waffles, scones, muffins of assorted flavours and so on and so on...), I do like to have the chance to explore different things. Nothing that you could eat fitted into our standard breakfasts, so we had to come up with a lot of new things, and I really enjoyed the need to explore and learn. Things I thought were raw, actually weren't (like shredded coconut, for example), so it was a steep learning curve. But it makes it all worth while that you enjoyed your visit, and your breakfasts!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 km away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.6 km away
Alpine Inn and Suites
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 km away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.8 km away
Prestige Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloudside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloudside Hotel

Property: Cloudside Hotel
Address: 410 Victoria St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4K5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cloudside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although our heritage-listed building dates from 1900, Cloudside is a totally new hotel right in the heart of Nelson's historic downtown, offering stylish, contemporary alternative to standard accommodations for the discerning traveler. With just eight guest rooms (three of which have two separate bedrooms), we offer a high level of personal service and attention to detail. All of our individually-designed, modern rooms have private bathrooms, high-speed Internet access, refreshment facilities with fridges, HD satellite TV, a/c and individually controlled heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cloudside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing