We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Extraordinary peace, stunning views, cozy...”
other travellers have booked this property
East facing view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
East facing view
West facing porch Dining table and kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
East facing view
West facing porch
Dining table and kitchen view
Cooking island and sliding door to deck
Outdoor shower
Living Room windows..facing South
Downstair bedroom
Soaker Tub
Tub with lake view
Second bedroom leading to pond area
The Nest
Deck chairs facing South
Porch table and hammock
Outdoor shower in evening light
End of day at El Nido entrance
Sunrise July 30th
Garden Bench at pond side
Early morning on the deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joy2B
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extraordinary peace, stunning views, cozy comforts!"”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Everything about this place is magical, from the hummingbirds, to the amazing views, to the soaker tub to the well-appointed kitchen. This is a real retreat from the world, and Mick is a most gracious host who does everything possible to accommodate. We've stayed there year after year and will be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Indoor/Outdoor living
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaAb...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“The BEST view on Kootenay Lake”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I visited El Nido this past July with my family. We were greeted by our very warm and friendly host Mick, even though we had arrived hours later than planned in the middle of the night. Mick waited up for us and kept the incense burning. He showed us around, and then went back to his Nelson home. The following morning we all woke up to the most spectacular views that we hadn't yet seen in the daylight hours. We sat outside and watched the hummingbirds chase each other around the treehouse-like deck. We never wanted to leave! We felt so at-home in El Nido's clean, modern, zen-themed accommodation. We had such a wonderful worry-free stay, and cannot wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spectacular views!!
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraBagg
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil, rustic luxury”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been renting homes in the Kootenays for the last 5 years and typically chose a different spot yearly -- until we happened upon Mick and his beautiful home, El-Nido.

With two young girls (1 and 3 during our first visit) our family was looking for a spot with all the comforts of home, yet which somehow, at the same time, would allow us to feel as though we’d escaped all that comes with such comforts. This is El-Nido. A cozy yet modern home constructed of raw timbre and literally subsumed by its beautiful natural surroundings.

A day of life at El-Nido for us includes: waking in cozy beds in thick cotton sheets to the sun glinting off dewy leaves in the overgrown garden, complete with rivulets of water pouring into a serene pool, and a moss covered bench from which to watch the snails creep by. Sipping on espresso made in the modern and well equipped open-concept kitchen. Relaxing on the expansive deck – with some time spent in the lounge chairs set out in the sun and some time spent on the couch or hammocks tucked away in the shade, the lake view ever-present.

As the day heats up maybe a warm outdoor shower with only the lake looking on, or a cool bath in the beautiful deep tub which is surrounded by large lake-view windows, bath salts, and candles.

After lunch a lazy and private walk through the forest—picking wild berries and communing with its creatures, followed by an afternoon snoozing on deck – reading, painting, making music or practising yoga, all the while the kids run around exploring the seemingly endless paths and corners of the house and garden.

Our evenings at El-Nido are spent BBQing outdoors and watching the moon over the lake.

When we are at El-Nido every member of our family is utterly contended and at peace. The place seems almost possessed by calming powers.

As Mick built his home and raised his daughter there, he is a part of the space. His love for the property makes a visitor feel welcomed and at home. He is a warm and open person who yearly makes every effort to accommodate us and our evolving needs.

Returned home from the Kootenays days ago and already yearning to return to El-Nido.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducfin
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Solitude”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

El Nido is a mix of rustic and updated tucked away up a long driveway with beautiful views and wildlife. We checked in on time but Mick was still cleaning so we got to know a bit about him and the property which was nice. The kitchen has beautiful views and we brought some of our own favorite items for cooking. We were there in July when it was really warm so having the lower level room being cooler was a bonus and there are character stairs that lead to it. The humming birds were so fun to watch all day long and the windows upstairs allow for lots of scenery. There is not much in the way for TV, movies and lounging around but you don’t come here to sit inside on the couch. The stereo was great and we really enjoyed having all of our favorites to play. The house has some modern flare and some rustic portions so remember that you are in nature and all the mice and spiders that come with it. The house was being cleaned while we arrived and it was ok but I would have preferred a bit more cleaning be done in the bathroom and kitchen. We came here looking for peace, quiet and solitude and when we had the property to ourselves it was there. For what we paid, I felt we should have had more privacy. Unbeknownst to us, we shared the property on the last night with Mick and his friend, there is a gazebo type building on the property as well. I was startled to see a naked woman walking around the property, she appeared to have just used the outdoor shower and this unfortunately left a negative lasting impression on me. Be prepared for the driveway as it is steep, graveled and narrow in some spots and can be slippery when it rains. If you are looking for rustic peace, quiet and solitude with some wildlife enjoyment and you are open to the BC culture and sharing ways, this may be a rental for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: sharing with others
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
I would like to thank ducfin for taking the time from their busy lives to post a review of my home.iI am sorry that everything was not to your liking and i would certainly have done my best to address your complaints had they been pointed out at the time of your stay.I sincerely strive to make the vacation experience of my guests the best i can.I would also like to thank them for the kind words and sharing their sitings of a 'naked woman on the lawn'.as i am now getting many request for accomodation hoping to enjoy same!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total Relaxation”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If you're looking for total peace and quiet then El Nido is for you. As its name describes, The Nest sits high off the water giving stunning 180 degree lake views while giving you the feeling off being nestled in the trees. My wife and I recently spent a week here and did nothing but relax and enjoy the views. Only noise heard were the sound of the hummingbirds. The property is well looked after with a perfect mix of the rustic and the new. It's 15 acre plot ensures no one will bother you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and quietness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonHap...
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Enchanting-Spectacular”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Pictures say alot, but once we arrived...sooo much more! This home is well taken care of and has all the amenities you could ask for. Sitting out in the evening, feeling the freshness of the air, the sounds of nature...and the SPECTACULAR views were awe inspiring. There's the master bedroom down stairs, very private from the rest of the home and has it's own deck, again with amazing views. Went out to the garden and picked fresh greens for salad and cooking in such an open and well equipped kitchen, who could ask for more. After the day is done, there's a luxurious, large bath tub with large windows, again with such wonderful views. Long hikes? No problem, there's a steam/shower that is so relaxing. Very secluded and peaceful. On the property as you walk around there's lots of surprises for you. We can't say enough. Just loved it!!!
Thank you Mick! We'll be back!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wrap around deck, with the best views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marivanco...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Most beautiful and relaxing spot on Kootenay Lake”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We spent 4 nights at El Nido last summer and would return in a heartbeat. This is one stunning property, secluded, yet close enough to drive into Nelson for a little hit of small town life, and always such a haven to return to. The views to the lake are breathtaking, and Mick has outfitted his home elegantly, everything feels selected for its beauty and practicality. The kitchen is well equipped, beds comfy and bathroom lovely with a very luxurious steam shower. Best deck ever. Our favourite night was when we watched an electrical storm start waaaay across the lake, and slowly make its way across the water towards us, an awesomely dramatic light and sound show that was elemental in its power. Highly recommended, something special.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing