We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Weekend Away!”
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible Weekend Away!”
Reviewed 17 January 2017

My fiance and I came to the Hume for a little weekend get away. Neither of us had been to Nelson before and we couldn't have had a more amazing trip!
The hotel staff is incredibly nice and accommodating! We found that all of the staff works together throughout each restaurant which was really nice, it seemed that we got to know them on a personal basis and they got to know us on a personal basis throughout our stay. The staff always greeted us every time they saw us, and even by name. This hotel doesn't give that same "hotel" vibe that you would get at a Best Western or a Hilton Hotel, it truly seemed like a little home away from home.
We purchased the romance package and it was incredible. The hour long sauna treatment and the hour long couples massage were so great and the staff in the salon were wonderful and made us both feel very comfortable.
The rooms are very clean and well put together. The hotel itself has such an awesome look and vibe. It almost reminded me of a European hotel. The restaurants were all great, the food, drinks and the service. You are walking distance to other bars and restaurants as well. And the Ainsworth Hot Springs (which I highly recommend) are about 40 minutes away.
We cannot wait to come back and stay here again. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed January 2017
Helpful?
Thank may_1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
Thanks for such a detailed review of your Romance Package experience. That package has been a huge success since we started it almost two years ago when Aura Spa & Salon opened up. We are happy to hear that you loved our food as well. We hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    182
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
109
320
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

You can go just as a couple.
Or with the whole family. It has a very stylish design the rooms are very clean the staff is nice.
You can also just go for lunch at the library or family restaurant.
I would very much recommend it.

Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Meadow K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2017

My family of 6, four girls aged between 15- 21, and two partners aged 20 & 21 and my husband and myself booked to stay at The Hume Hotel and Spa for two weeks over Christmas 2016. We were married here 25 years ago and decided to head back for a celebration. We booked the Horace D Hume Suite, which has a beautiful kitchen, dining and living area as well as a king bed and lovely bathroom. We also booked two queen rooms which were next to us. 8 of us stayed very comfortably. The suite was amazing, very roomy and the living room made getting together as a group very easy. I highly recommend this if you have a large family.
From the minute we walked in the door we were treated like family. The staff here go out of their way to help.
The full breakfast included in our room rate was fantastic. We also used the restaurant many times for lunch and dinner and were never disappointed. Mikes Place Pub is always a fun place to have a drink, some nibbles and either play pool or watch the hockey. Our last stop most evenings was the Library Lounge for a coffee drink. Do yourself a favor and order a Motherlode. The perfect nightcap. A few of us used the Spa for massages and treatments. It was wonderful: relaxing and welcoming. We headed to The Spirit Bar for New Years Eve and had a great time. Great DJ's and a lot of fun.
The history of this hotel makes it special. The Martin family have gone to great lengths to preserve it and it's one of the things that makes staying here so great.
Ryan and Loralei helped my husband organize a surprise 25th anniversary celebration while we were there, which included a photographer to retake our wedding photo in front of the iconic neon hotel sign on the roof of the hotel. They went above and beyond expectations and we couldn't thank them enough.
We love this hotel and will hopefully be back very soon. Do yourself a favor and spend some time in Nelson, and don't miss out staying at The Hume Hotel and Spa.

Room Tip: The Horace Hume Suite is perfect for a longer stay
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer the option of foregoing the towel service/room cleaning for a $5 voucher towards any of the restaurants in the hotel. Great idea!
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumsy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2017

My husband and I recently spent a week at The Hume Hotel. We had a wonderfully large and comfortable room. Every member of the staff were fantastic and friendly, my personal favourite being Jody at the front desk. The breakfasts were terrific and the pub was great fun, especially on Bingo night. I would not hesitate to stay with them the next time we visit Nelson.

Room Tip: We had a lovely view of the river. The street was not overly noisy or busy.
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer the option of foregoing the towel service/room cleaning for a $5 voucher towards any of the restaurants in the hotel. I think this is a great idea. They also have a blue recycle bin in the room. Another great idea.
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegar, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times in 2 years. Every time I am in awe of the top notch service that is demonstrated by every single employee there. Whether it is check-in or out, information, service in the restaurants - it is always the same - THE best I have encountered. The hotel itself is a beautiful structure with lots of updates but you still feel the old charm. Location can't be beat either - close to shopping and restaurants. Just try it, you'll see what I mean!

Green Features: The Hume is a GreenLeader - lots of options and they offer a $5 GC to anyone who doesn't have there room made up everyday. This can be used at any one of their in-house establishments; restaurants, spa etc.
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheriM-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
THE Best?! You are too kind. Thank you so much, Cheri! The employees have been and will continue to be the heart and soul of this operation for many more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel has over 100 years history which can be seen in the decorations in the front desk and the restaurant. The historic atmosphere is definitely there. Location is good. Hotel is right in the center of Nelson city, next to many shops restaurant and the historic Baker Street. The library lounge and Mike's place are both good places to have dinner or drinks. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included and are pretty decent. However, the hotel walls are the thinnest among the ones I have stayed (I am a very frequent traveler)! You can hear next door neighbor coughing, sneezing, TV and the "couple activity" in night clearly. Also if your room happens to be on top of the bar you can hear the music till 1 am. Another thing is that they have a very small parking lot, like maybe 20 vehicles at maximum. If you cannot find a parking spot you have to park on street which is not fun in snowy winter days. Overall, for people require a quiet night to sleep this would not be your choice, otherwise it could be best in town!

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bobster30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2016

There are few things that matter to me more than warm service, a clean, well designed room, and a good story. I work traveled for a decade before having my family. Last week, my husband and I took a long needed solo date night dinner and overnight at the Hume Hotel in Nelson, one of the first hotels in the British Columbia. An icon of this mountain town, I had been in the pub more times than I care to admit over the years, but had never stayed beyond the last beer with friends. This time we didn’t go back home to our kids, we went right back upstairs.

We walked into the Rattenbury room, a corner room on the second floor named after the English architect who traveled to British Columbia in the 1890s and who would go on to build some of our provinces greatest architectural establishments (the Parliament and Empress buildings in Victoria), he died later in life at the hands of his second wife. The Hume itself has its own long history and narrative, inevitably since it was built in 1898. I kicked off my shoes and stood frozen for a moment in the room. In all my years of ins and outs of hotels, I don’t think I’ve ever stayed in a room that had hardwood floors. The room was immaculately clean. It was such a pleasure. How could I ever stay in a carpeted hotel room again? The floors, my king size bed, vaulted ceilings and contemporary turn of the century cozy bathroom, explains why my husband made it to the pub but I couldn’t leave our room.

Room Tip: Corner rooms for design and highest floors (for best views).
See more room tips
Green Features: Family friendly. Most of the staff have been there years (decades) and it's a family run business. What matters most to them is quality. You'll leave hugging the staff.
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farahnosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2017
Thanks for your rather poignant review of your experience in the Rattenbury Room. Not everyone takes the time to read the history piece with have of Francis Rattenbury's life framed on the wall. While he achieved so much in the world of architecture at the turn of the century, his life came to a tragic end after he was bludgeoned to death by his 18-year old chauffeur who was having an affair with his wife. A shocking end to an impressive career that seemed to accomplish so many grandiose creations that still stand tall today.

We have payed homage to this past guest of the Hume Hotel by adorning the walls of photos of him during happier times in his life while the view looks over one of two local buildings he built - the Nelson Courthouse (the other being Nelson's iconic Bank of Montreal building on Baker Street).

Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience in one of the corner rooms of our hotel. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.2 km away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
360 reviews
0.2 km away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 10 in Nelson
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
280 reviews
2.4 km away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
188 reviews
0.8 km away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Property: Hume Hotel & Spa
Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing