We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem tucked away in the mountains”
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Gem tucked away in the mountains”
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed 2 nights in Feb 2017 and enjoyed it so much we plan to come back next year for 4 or 5 nights. A beautiful historic hotel, 119 years old that has been refurbished with modern amenities but keeping with the traditional feel of the original hotel. Fabulous detailed woodwork in the Library (dining), the Bar and the breakfast restaurant. The food menu in the Library is terrific with gourmet items and some standards that are delicious. Several nights they have live jazz/lounge music, it's a very comfy and warm venue with super friendly locals who are happy to strike up a conversation. Bathrooms are beautiful as are the rooms, including a small fridge, nice linens and very comfy bed. You can't go wrong staying at the Hume. I also arranged a massage with Wendy in the Spa. Very nice and professional, I wasn't disappointed.
Nelson is a really freindly town, with lots of outdoor sports year round to entertain you and a varried collection of restaurants, galleries and shops. Definitely worth a stay.

Green Features: If you forgo a change of towels and hang the notice on your door, you will recieve a $5 credit voucher.
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannonbeyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    182
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
109
320
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
szzzed
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Wonderful hotel with an amazing breakfast included. Close to everything!

On site pub was fantastic and had fantastic food. The room was quiet and comfortable and the staff were quite helpful. We had no issues with pre-arranging parking.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szzzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

From the moment we walked into this hotel we knew we would be having a top notch experience. The front desk personnel on check-in were professional and friendly. Our room was a double queen, and it was a split room so there was a wall between our beds. Each side had their own TV. We had to share a bathroom but it worked out well for this group. The rooms were clean. The pictures in the hallways in the hotel were fun pics. You could make up your own story for each one. It was quiet, we slept good. Breakfast was included in your room price. There were five selections to choose from. There is a spa at the hotel but we did not have time to use those facilities. Will definitely stay here on our next visit to Nelson.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2017
Thanks for this, Pam. It's been so great to see our American neighbors coming up a lot more frequently the past couple of years, particularly from the Spokane area. The Two Queen Split rooms have been very popular, so much that we have designated them with their own room type code so guests can book them directly from any platform whereas in the past they had to request it.

We hope to see you again in the future and be sure to check out Aura Spa & Salon next time. The team up there have been absolutely amazing with all the services they can deliver to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I highly recommend this hotel. Such a wonderful staff whether you're checking in, dining in one of their restaurants or getting room service, they really over deliver on making sure you feel welcome and comfortable. I stay here frequently and enjoy my stay every time. Great ambiance, staff and owners. Thank you!!

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
You will notice a common theme amongst almost all of our reviews on Tripadvisor - it's the staff. I can't stress it more, the staff is what makes this place special. Thank you for mentioning them. We are so fortunate to employ true hospitality professionals at our property. We hope to see you again, Nicole!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I have stated at the Hume every year for the past 15 years and it has always been a great experience. Staff are wonderful, food is great and it is set in funky Nelson B.C. My favorite hotel. Looking forward to next year.
James

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyrocket2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
We appreciate all of your support for the past 15 years. You have witnessed first hand the big changes we have undergone. We are in the final year of a 10 year renovation project as we put finishing touches on our Lobby level. Thanks for always coming back and sharing the love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Such a lovely old hotel, centrally located and full of character but with all the ammenities we needed - comfortable bed and pillows & wonderfully friendly helpful staff. If I could change one thing, it would be the shower over bath set up. A walk in shower with a higher pressure shower head would be an improvement. Including breakfast in the room rate is a nice touch. We will definitely stay here again when next in Nelson.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Great time and great staff! Great beers on tap. Seems like the owners and staff are always trying to improve! We ate in a place in the front corner of the Hotel! Very good food. There is a night club down stairs that has live music! There is a pub upstairs which has nelson brewing on tap! Like the face plant the best!

Room Tip: Some have fire places!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
You are right, we are trying to improve every single day. Thanks for such a glowing review of this old hotel. I will send your regards to Chef Brad and the rest of the kitchen crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.2 km away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
360 reviews
0.2 km away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 10 in Nelson
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
280 reviews
2.4 km away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
188 reviews
0.8 km away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Property: Hume Hotel & Spa
Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing