We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Nachos at Mike's Place Pub”
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 December 2010

The food at the Hume is excellent.
Best breakfast in Nelson. Shredded hashbrowns. Puh-lease.
The nachos at Mike's place are the best I've ever had, and they support the local brewery. Nelson Brewing Company ales are the bomb.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2010

When my sweetie and I were planning our wedding we knew that we wanted a simple, low-key affair. We chose the Hume Hotel as the quality of the food and service from the staff is second to none. The prominent down town Nelson location of the Hotel, also made it easy for our out of town guests to find. Upon check in and arrival to our top floor corner suite, we were greeted with a huge bouquet of flowers in the room, and a lovely bottle of champage on ice, compliments of the Hume Hotel. This personal touch definately added to the Hume experience.

We had our reception for us and 17 guests in the Lydia room where we had allowed our guest to choose any dinner they wanted off the menu. We were all served in a very timely fashion and the food was fantastic! After a most lovely dinner we all went out to Mike's Place Pub, located in the hotel for some drinks and post dinner fun. Again the service was fantastic and no patron was left waiting for anything. To continue our celebrations we headed to Spirit Bar, the club in the basement of the Hume, and danced until closing.

Once heading back to our room, exhausted, after a fantastic day, a clean comfortable bed awaited us, and we slept soundly.

Once regrouping in the morning, many of us had breakfast at the General Store resteraunt. Most wonderful to have so many dining, and drinking options in one hotel.

I would most definately recommend this fantastic, top service hotel!

Ryan Martin and the loyal and dedicated staff at the Hume Hotel provided an unforgettable experience! Many thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misso_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I have stayed many times at the Hume and find that every time i return it get's better. The hotel is clean and the service and management are excellent. If your ever visiting the charming town of Nelson the Hume is the right place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Amazing find right in the heart of Nelson. It's nice to see that there's so much character left in a quality hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodneypayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

Thank you for the feedback, I have shared your words with the whole staff. We definately aim for an authentic and unique Nelson experience here at the Hume Hotel. We aren't one of those cookie-cutter properties. One hundred and thirteen years and a staff who truly take pride in this place is what makes the difference. Thanks for noticing and I hope you will be back soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Hume Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hume for a portion of our honeymoon. It was his first time in the area, and my second time staying at the Hume. I chose the hotel for it's great location - right in the heart of downtown Nelson. You definitely cannot beat the location for the price, and I also loved the fact that breakfast was included.

The rooms are furnished with old pictures and antique-inspired furniture, as the hotel itself is very old. The rooms were clean and fairly comfortable but with minimal amenities. Due to the fact that the building is so old, the floors are slanted which gives you the feeling that the building may fall down. The walls are also quite thin and the plumbing is loud.

The food at the hotel is great - they have a number of different restuarants, lounges and bars. We ate breakfast (which is included) every morning and it was great every time. We also had dinner in the hotel's lounge one night. There are lots of options to choose from, and the portions are gigantic. We should have shared one meal as we both left about half and couldn't pack them up as the rooms don't have a fridge.

I didn't sleep that well at the Hume - as the hotel is right on the main highway, the rooms are quite noisy.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to someone looking to stay in downtown Nelson, but I might try somewhere quieter next time I visit the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarissaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2010

Thanks for the positive feedback. We appreciate it very much. Because of our downtown location, we can definately be subject to some street noise. Next time however, we could place you in a room that faces the rear of the building which can be far more quiet. We hope to see you again.

Ryan Martin
Owner
Hume Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My wife and I spent the night at the Hume on our way up to the Arrow Lakes. This hotel has great character! We found it quiet and accommodating. The room was comfortable. The Library is a great place for a meal! The breakfast is great! We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 39Dodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

From the location, to the history, to the comfortable bed, to the preservation of the decor, to the reasonable price, to the friendly staff we were very pleasantly surprised to find this gem of a hotel. Picturesque and quaint. We'll definitely be back in spite of the fact that there is no air conditioning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColdstreamCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 km away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
375 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
1 km away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#8 of 10 in Nelson
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
231 reviews
0.2 km away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 10 in Nelson
215 reviews
2.4 km away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#9 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $154 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. We just completed a 12-year renovation. All floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing