We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
81
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanadian rockieshiking groupwild flowersfun groupsnow shoesother guestsexceptional caregreat hikingangel's landingmodern conveniencesgeologychrishelicoptertalonhikesaunaouthouse
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 89 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Walking through this beautiful alpine landscape with Chris and Graham was a rare experience. They led us to sweeping overlooks, and to miniature alpine gardens with tiny waterfalls and pools. The care they took to accommodate the various levels of hiking ability in our group enhanced everyone's experience.
Snacks awaited when we returned each afternoon, and tasty dinners matched our hearty appetites.
Mountain goat watching from the deck was popular, as was photographing the swirling clouds and glowing mornings.
I particularly enjoyed the quiet - just the sound of the wind.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms have grand views!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CiaGadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2016

Uncommon is the word that comes to mind for Talus. It took time and great courage, imagination, fortitude and know-how to build this place and in just 15 minutes by helicopter you can escape the world and access this remarkable Canadian Rocky Mountain hidden gem.

You live completely off-grid with 12 people, 2 guides and a great cook to care for you.

We had a great weekend and as late afternoon thunder storms rolled by I was completely grateful for the lodge staff and wine cellar. The hikes were nice rambles, there were lots of wildflowers, marmots, mule deer and birds.

The helicopter ride was a thrill.

Room Tip: the lodge is easier, the cabin more private
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2016

This lodge was recommended to me by friend Don who had skied there twice before. He reassured me the terrain was nice and gentle, especially with owner Chris breaking trail and guiding us in all the various directions. The clean white snow was superlative-and so much enjoyed after our drought in/around Canmore this winter. Bedrooms very spacious with even reading lamps and ceiling lamps on until 10pm when "lights out". MO, our cook from Golden was fabulous. She made it all look so easy and I'd say her trademark was hot homemade soup (different one every day) ready at 4pm with other wholesome snacks. Her various salads were great too and salmon cooked to perfection! Nice wash house/bathrooms just adjacent to main building and connected by deck. I did not try the shower but sauna was an enjoyable treat one night. While I usually like to "put on the kms.", we did not do any lengthy skis-maybe 7-8 kms. max/per day. I could envision some of our many Meanderthals who love to snowshoe coming here in a group. It would be a workout breaking trail as our ski tracks would get blown in with us doing extra circuits around the lake. Some slalom poles or stakes put in to mark a bigger ski around the lake right outside the lodge would be helpful. Had a fun group of retirees from Prince George sharing the Lodge with us; lots of lively cribbage matches, Bananagrams, puzzles to do.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2016 via mobile

Together with 4 friends we enjoyed 4 days at the lodge. It's a very scenic spot, good accommodation and great food. Chris did a super job of guiding us in non Avalanche terrain, and getting a tasty homemade soup when we returned was most enjoyable. The shower was "unique". Definitely a great place to get away from it all and relax.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2015

We spent four wonderful days at Talus Lodge. The lodge is located at tree line with wonderful views of the surrounding mountains. Our guide Chris was both an experienced guide, with extensive knowledge of the area as well as the perfect host! I would recommend Talus as a unique experience and a great outdoor adventure.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wiayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews