We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Mountain Experience”
Review of Talus Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Invermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talus Lodge
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Secluded location, protected from the rest of the world by mountains and a cliff, the Talus Lodge playground is a feast for hikers. Rocks, flowers, ptarmigan, great views, tarns and outstanding food are all part of a package deal to be found nowhere else in the Canadian Rockies.
Get a glimpse of the rugged mountain West as the First Nations people and explorers experienced it. No railways, no roads, no shopping malls and nothing to distract from the natural world.
I've been several times, in winter and summer, and each visit is precious and unique.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view so choose a direction that suits your fancy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DavidAFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2016

Walking through this beautiful alpine landscape with Chris and Graham was a rare experience. They led us to sweeping overlooks, and to miniature alpine gardens with tiny waterfalls and pools. The care they took to accommodate the various levels of hiking ability in our group enhanced everyone's experience.
Snacks awaited when we returned each afternoon, and tasty dinners matched our hearty appetites.
Mountain goat watching from the deck was popular, as was photographing the swirling clouds and glowing mornings.
I particularly enjoyed the quiet - just the sound of the wind.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms have grand views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CiaGadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Uncommon is the word that comes to mind for Talus. It took time and great courage, imagination, fortitude and know-how to build this place and in just 15 minutes by helicopter you can escape the world and access this remarkable Canadian Rocky Mountain hidden gem.

You live completely off-grid with 12 people, 2 guides and a great cook to care for you.

We had a great weekend and as late afternoon thunder storms rolled by I was completely grateful for the lodge staff and wine cellar. The hikes were nice rambles, there were lots of wildflowers, marmots, mule deer and birds.

The helicopter ride was a thrill.

Room Tip: the lodge is easier, the cabin more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

This lodge was recommended to me by friend Don who had skied there twice before. He reassured me the terrain was nice and gentle, especially with owner Chris breaking trail and guiding us in all the various directions. The clean white snow was superlative-and so much enjoyed after our drought in/around Canmore this winter. Bedrooms very spacious with even reading lamps and ceiling lamps on until 10pm when "lights out". MO, our cook from Golden was fabulous. She made it all look so easy and I'd say her trademark was hot homemade soup (different one every day) ready at 4pm with other wholesome snacks. Her various salads were great too and salmon cooked to perfection! Nice wash house/bathrooms just adjacent to main building and connected by deck. I did not try the shower but sauna was an enjoyable treat one night. While I usually like to "put on the kms.", we did not do any lengthy skis-maybe 7-8 kms. max/per day. I could envision some of our many Meanderthals who love to snowshoe coming here in a group. It would be a workout breaking trail as our ski tracks would get blown in with us doing extra circuits around the lake. Some slalom poles or stakes put in to mark a bigger ski around the lake right outside the lodge would be helpful. Had a fun group of retirees from Prince George sharing the Lodge with us; lots of lively cribbage matches, Bananagrams, puzzles to do.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

Together with 4 friends we enjoyed 4 days at the lodge. It's a very scenic spot, good accommodation and great food. Chris did a super job of guiding us in non Avalanche terrain, and getting a tasty homemade soup when we returned was most enjoyable. The shower was "unique". Definitely a great place to get away from it all and relax.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015

We spent four wonderful days at Talus Lodge. The lodge is located at tree line with wonderful views of the surrounding mountains. Our guide Chris was both an experienced guide, with extensive knowledge of the area as well as the perfect host! I would recommend Talus as a unique experience and a great outdoor adventure.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wiayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

If you want a full retreat from the pressures of suburban life, Talus Lodge offers the perfect escape. The hikes, with Chris as our very experienced, knowledgeable guide, were paced just right--not too challenging and slow enough to absorb the surrounding beauty. While the lodging is rustic, the comfort and food were top-notch. This was quite possibly my best holiday ever!

Room Tip: Do not use a hair dryer as the available electricity is powered by a generator that won't accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invermere hotels
312.6 km away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,633 reviews
311.8 km away
The Kanata Inns Invermere
The Kanata Inns Invermere
#3 of 3 in Invermere
271 reviews
310.3 km away
Best Western Invermere Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
311.5 km away
Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
310.2 km away
The Canterbury Inn
The Canterbury Inn
#2 of 7 in Invermere
37 reviews
310.4 km away
Lake Windermere Pointe
Lake Windermere Pointe
#4 of 4 in Invermere
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talus Lodge

Address: Box 731, Invermere, British Columbia V0A 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Invermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Invermere
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing