We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden Get-a-Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
“Golden Get-a-Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed in the Green Chalet during a cold January weekend in 2012. The chalet was beautiful with everything we needed to keep us happy and cozy. Beautiful view from the hot tub on the front deck, nice wood burning fireplace and a large flat screen TV to enjoy a movie while the snow fell.
We also enjoyed a 5 star gourmet dinner in the main restaurant with some local friends. The food was superb and the service was A-one. We're looking forward to a return visit this summer so we can enjoy some hiking and first class golf. Tim Dennehy (Calgary)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and uploading such a nice review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to relax =)
We hope to see you very soon. Thank you once more and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
107
210
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed in the Sun Suite and have also toured the Green Chalet. Darrin’s design and craftsmanship are impressive and he has taken great care to maintain the privacy, quality, and comfort of each of the chalets. The views are stunning and the area peaceful. While we had cooking facilities, it was also so convenient to have such a great restaurant within a very short walking distance. The chalets are located just outside of Golden but it’s only a short drive to town, the ski hill and many other activities in the area. You can snowshoe right from your door or curl up with a book in the sun room while enjoying the view. We highly recommend the Cedar House Restaurant and Chalets and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceg138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time in putting up such a nice review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your time at the Sun Suite and that Darrin's efforts are paying off. We hope to see you back here very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed in the Sun Suite January 9 and 10. I travel a lot and this is one of the best places I've ever stayed at. It seems that Darrin has thought of everything, it's hard to imagine any improvement on this place. Sun Suite is very comfortable, view is great, very quiet location. Next time we come for skiing we will stay here for sure.

When we booked it, Darrin told me we would not be disappointed - that was the truth.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to put up such a nice review!
We are very glad that you were completely satisfied and that we could make you feel at home. We hope to see you back very soon for more days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I recently stayed in the green chalet with 7 of my friends on a snowboarding trip and the comment from the guys that got there first was that they were impressed with the condo. It is very spacious and easily accomodated us. We really enjoyed the hot tub on the deck and the views that you saw once you stepped out onto the deck. Another thing that we enjoyed was how peaceful and quiet it was, no loud neighbours or traffic to wake us up in the mornings. This was a really amazing place to stay and i will be recommending it to all my friends and will be going back to stay in this condo any time I am in golden!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyroniuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time in writting such a nice review! We are really glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the Green Chalet! We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I just spent the New Years weekend at the Green Chalet and it was absolutely perfect. The mountain view from the chalet was fantastic, and the house itself was beautiful and very well kept. There were 8 of us and the Green Chalet was the perfect size. The hottub was great after a day of skiing. We had dinner at the Cedar House Restaurant for New Years Eve and the food was excellent. I still can't get over how great the meal was. I think it is close to the best steak I've ever had! Alexis and Darrin were wonderful hosts, and made sure that we had everything we needed. They arranged ski passes for us, and called ahead to confirm our arrival time so they can come and greet us in person. I will definitely stay at the Cedar House again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of the Green Chalet! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you and all your friends had a very good time, We hope to be able to accomodate you in the near future. Thank you once more and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We spent our first family Christmas away from home and it was a memorable experience at Cedar House. We stayed in The Green Chalet which exceeded our expectations. The chalet was roomy - 3 bedrooms - cozy but with all the modern conveniences. The kitchen was fully stocked to make Christmas dinner including wine and champagne glasses. The customer service was great - the owners cared that we enjoyed our stay. My husband and I have travelled a fair bit in recent years and I have never been inspired to write a review (although I do read them when researching places to go) until our experience at Cedar House. We are already planning a trip back this summer. This truly is a hidden gem!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHunterEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
We are so glad that we could make your first Christmas away from home a fantastic one! Also, we would like to thank you for taking the time and posting a review for us =) We hope that your visit in Summer will exceed your expectations and that you keep coming throughout the years. Thank you once more an Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We just finished our stay at the adventure chalet and from the location on the moutain to the view from the hot tub this place is the perfect place to get away. The pictures don't do this place justice. Ate one night at the cedar chalet restaurant and had one of the best meals of my life. The special Christmas martinis were so good and went down way to easy. Darrin and Alexis both made us feel so welcome. We will be back to these chalets for sure! Don't hesitate to book here!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank french_frey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It was lovely accomodating you and I hope you will come back to try out the other chalets =)
Thank you once more and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
9.8 km away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
10.2 km away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Emerald Lake Lodge
1.7 km away
Mount 7 Lodges
Mount 7 Lodges
#3 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.2 km away
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets

Property: Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Address: 735 Hefti Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House Chalets are located 5 minutes south of Golden B.C. And provide accommodations for 1- 40 guests in 7 unique guest houses. Each chalet is privately situated among towering spruce and surrounded by mountains. All chalets feature private hot tubs, beautifully decorated interiors, locally milled wood accents, comfy beds with warm down duvets, spacious bathrooms, full kitchens,wireless internet, TV's, wood stoves, and private decks with hot tubs and gas BBQ. All private chalets are conveniently located within a short stroll to our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing