We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

What a place! The rooms are to die for, the service is top notch, the scenery is breathtaking, the privacy is serene, but the Pièce de résistance is the restaurant. This is some of the best food I have had, and the wine pairings are excellent.
We will be back...summer or winter

Room Tip: The green chalet for a family is a great 3 bedroom and a loft! with full kitchen and laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Hi Blake!

Thank you for the review. We are glad you were able to enjoy the restaurant, chalet and beatuiful mountain views during your stay. Hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
108
213
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We've been coming to the cedar house since the summer of 2011 and we have enjoyed every single visit. Whether it's during the summer for a few days away from the city, or during the winter to take advantage of the amazing Kicking Horse skiing, you can't go wrong with choosing to spend your nights here. While we have only stayed in the Sun Suite and Adventure Chalet, we haven't had a bad experience thus far. Pros: the awesome staff, sheppie, the hot tubs, the food! (best meal I've had in FOREVER), the beds, the views (amazing from every suite), and the fact that every single chalet feels like it's your home (complete with pots, pans, stove, fridge, microwave, coffeemakers, tea kettles, coffee, tea, sugar, and spices and oils to cook with). Cons: none. It's a great environment for children, couples, or even if you're by yourself! I can't imagine staying anywhere else around the Golden area. We will be returning as often as we can!

Room Tip: Depending on your group size, certain suites/ chalets are unsuitable. Reference the Cedar House webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Hi Jessica!

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to you returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our stay at the Cedar House was relaxing and very cozy. Management was very friendly and helpful. The chalet we stayed in had it all. Everthing including spices to spice up your meal. Very private deck with a hot tub, which we truly enjoyed after a day of snow mobiling. We would certainly make another trip back and stay there. Thanks... Stan and Tish

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollidayhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Stan and Tish;

Thank you for the wonderful review! Glad you enjoyed your stay, and we are glad you appreciated our attention to detail in the well appointed kitchen. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have a great time at Green Chalet in winter, it's one of the best accommodation we have stayed. Everything is perfect. Also, Cedar house Restaurant has wonderful dinning. Hopefully, we will be back in summer time and see real green house.

Room Tip: Green Chalet has a nice mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ping W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Ping,
Thank you so much for your great review! We are very glad that you and your family enjoyed the Green Chalet and your dinner at the Restaurant. We hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Cedar Chalet while we were on a Kootenay snowboarding trip. The place is unbelievable! Huge yet comfy 1 bedroom chalet with a full kitchen and all the utensils, pots/pans, appliances and extras you could ever want to use. Met Darren and Alexis and both are super friendly people who make you feel at home. Hot tub is perfect size and since it is in a remote location it is very tranquil just sitting out there after a long day of riding or just lounging around. We also took our dog with us ($25/night) which was an added bonus of being allowed our pet with us. We would recommend this place to anyone looking to just unwind and relax in mountain town peacefulness! Didn't get to try the restaurant but we will be back and will try next time. 5 stars, 2 thumbs up...whatever you want to call it, it was amazing and we wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Paul,

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We hope that you guys come back soon and enjoy the other chalets and the magnificent restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

5 of us stayed in the Sun Suite for 4 days a couple of weeks ago (March 2012). Was comfortably kitted out with good beds, sofas fittings etc and has a great hot tub - the view is glorious! It's also well kitted out with stuff like dishwasher liquid, washing powder, loo roll and all the saucepans and utensils you could want.

Overall would highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the Private Sun Suite. we hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I booked the Adventure Chalet for 2 nights in March, and upon arrival Alexis greeted us and informed us that we had been upgraded to the Garden Chalet at no extra charge because construction near the Adventure Chalet posed the risk of disturbing our peace. We gratefully accepted the upgrade and the first thing my wife said upon entering the Garden Chalet was, "Why did you only book us for two nights!?!" The chalet was wonderful. It was spotless, ridiculously well equipped with modern full appliances, and charmingly decorated. The private hot tub overlooking Kicking Horse Mountain was a treat, as was the BBQ on the deck which we took full advantage of. Our king sized bed in the upper loft was comfortable, yet looking up at the wood planking lining the open ceiling still reminded us we were not in some city-slicker lodge but indeed out in the wilderness where we desired to be. We tried the restaurant on our second night and were blown away by the quality of the food. It was the perfect place for a quiet, intimate dinner, and a big bonus that our chalet was only a stone`s throw away. To say that leaving Cedar House Chalets was the hard part of our vacation is truly an understatement. We can`t wait until our next opportunity to return and try out some of the other outstanding-looking chalets.

Room Tip: If you are looking at the Garden Chalet, the huge loft has a king size bed, the bedroom downstairs h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dohjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and posting such a great review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Golden and at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets. We hope to see you and your wife very very soon and for more than 2 nights =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
9.8 km away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
10.2 km away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Emerald Lake Lodge
1.7 km away
Mount 7 Lodges
Mount 7 Lodges
#3 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.2 km away
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets

Property: Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Address: 735 Hefti Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House Chalets are located 5 minutes south of Golden B.C. And provide accommodations for 1- 40 guests in 7 unique guest houses. Each chalet is privately situated among towering spruce and surrounded by mountains. All chalets feature private hot tubs, beautifully decorated interiors, locally milled wood accents, comfy beds with warm down duvets, spacious bathrooms, full kitchens,wireless internet, TV's, wood stoves, and private decks with hot tubs and gas BBQ. All private chalets are conveniently located within a short stroll to our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing