We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
196
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland cattle other guests rooms are beautifully furnished hot tub an amazing host best places we have ever stayed every morning stayed longer short drive great place to get away spent nights beautiful house relaxing place to stay ensuite bathroom canadian rockies perfect stay feel right at home
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 198 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2017

Two families gathering for a wedding on the mountain, found this lodge and its host Lynn to be perfect in so many ways. Lynn is wonderfully friendly, a super cook for breakfast, and is passionate about the town and area. Her (and Sigi's) home has 5 beautiful bedrooms, all with ensuites, an outstanding Big Room, with windows floor to vaulted ceiling, fire place, ski equip room, library, hot tub, down a small rural road. What a surprise to see this magnificent home tucked away in the rural forest. They have Scottish cattle, a wonderful horse, and many Mule deer to keep you entertained.
We were coming and going all weekend and Lynn was so good at knowing when to be with us and when to let us do our own thing. Our two families got to know one another in a beautiful setting, pampered throughout. If you need a comfort break, this is a beautiful place to find it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bush-76BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homelodge, Owner at Home Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. The run up to a wedding can be a stressful time so it makes me really happy that you felt able to relax and enjoy the time. Sorry the only thing I couldn't organise was better wedding weather - but the photos with blustering snow will be dramatic!! The mule deer are still here, playing and showing off, with the occasional fighting and the cows are getting excited for Spring and fresh grass I think. Hope to see you again the future, with thanks, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2017

We loved our three night stay. Lynn's hospitality is warm, attentive and caring. The house is beautiful, comfortable and immaculate. Breakfasts are plentiful and delicious. Other guests gather by the fire in the living room - with floor to vaulted ceiling windows - and share ski stories and travelers tales. We loved the farm setting just outside of town - and seeing deer snack from the bird feeder while we relaxed in the outdoor hot tub. And we flipped over the ski/boarding terrain at unheralded Kicking Horse Resort. Tip: ask Lynn's mate, Sigi, to give you some ski terrain tips using the big map in the boot room.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homelodge, Owner at Home Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2017

Hope you had a really great trip to the Canadian West and your animal, vegetable and mineral photography was a success! Thanks for your company, your photos and your review. Best wishes from us all at Home Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2017 via mobile

Fabulous family day extended getaway to Golden B.C. Such sunny beautiful weather, great ski/boarding on the slopes. Thanks to Home Lodge, for the best B&B experience ever!! We had the whole place to ourselves, made to feel so welcome by our lovely hostess Lynn and her husband Sigi! So beautifully decorated and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable with clean crisp white sheets and linens! Hot tub, reading room with lots of books, games, t.v. with an large assortment of DVDs! Had a great time with the kids!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homelodge, Owner at Home Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2017

Thanks for such a kind review and I give you my sincere thanks for your family's genuine warm presence here - I have never witnessed a family who seems to enjoy each other's company so much! Hope to see you again. Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2017

I stayed at Home Lodge with friends as we were skiing at Kicking Horse, the ski resort 20 kilometres up the road.
The Lodge is ideal. It is beautifully laid out and fantastically comfortable. The fittings and bedding are of the highest quality and we had free access to the lounge, hot tub, dining room and kitchen.
The landlady, Lyn, is great fun, good company and could not have been more helpful. She happily got us discounts at the best restaurants in town as well as a discount on our ski passes.
Breakfasts are really good and Lyn always offers something cooked and delicious in addition to a sumptuous spread of fruit, cereals, bread, muffins and croissants.
Go!!

Room Tip: It is fantastic value.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homelodge, Owner at Home Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

Hello, and thank you so much for posting your review - it was my pleasure and enjoyment to have you all to stay. You forgot to mention that I managed to get fresh snow fall for you (now, if only I could do that!!) Hope the rest of your ski trip was not too cold and that perhaps we see you again another season. Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2017

From the start with a very warm welcome from Lynn, our hostess, this was a special location. The house is extremely well appointed and the bedrooms spacious and nicely furnished and, of course, en suite. Guests have the run of the house and it is well equipped for our visit for skiing.
The only downside for some will be the distance to Golden and on to Kicking Horse ski area but for us this was more than compensated by the scenery and help given by Lynn in making our stay so enjoyable.
Although a B&B, Lynn will provide an evening meal given notice.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are fine.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian_m_robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homelodge, Owner at Home Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

Thanks so much for taking the trouble to post a review, it's very much appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay - it was super fun looking after you all and I'm glad the snow gods delivered at Kicking Horse when you were here. Hope you make it back another time!
For others thinking of booking, yes, as mentioned, I am the other side of the valley to the ski area, but I hope the price I charge compared to similar standard on-mountain accommodation reflects this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews