We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

It is always a little difficult to have a complete Christmas celebration in a strange place
However.our two families(two suites) were able to manage a full sit down feast for 8 in one unit . The kitchens are very well appointed. Staff was amazing and provided us with all the extra anything within minutes of a request.(except for matches to light our candles /bring that although you can buy a lighter for$3 in the store)
This was a magical place to spend the holiday. Brandy did a wonderful job of providing Christmas crafts and spirit . The cider in the lobby was delicious.. Stephanie makes you feel like a VIP no matter who you are,You can view of the mountains from both sides of the property .It is a little bit of heaven, especially when it snows....We would highly recommend this place to celebrate anything.

Room Tip: It seems that Even # rooms look out on the hill, odd # look out to the valley. Both are excellent vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elleke a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us and the Trip Advisor World from your recent stay with Bellstar Hotels & Resorts at Kicking Horse. Our seasoned staff was very pleased to hear your gracious comments and are very appreciative of that. I’m thrilled you enjoyed your experience and we’re anxious to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    38
    20
    22
    7
See reviews for
41
49
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2011

There was no one at the front desk at the lodge to check into my room which made another trip to the glacier lodge to check into the hotel. i had specifically requested a king bed in my room but showed up to 2 twin beds. when i asked to be switched to another room with the king bed they showed up at my door to tell me they were here to make my bed into a king by simply pushing the beds together which created a line in the middle of the bed... not what i was looking for, not to mention the beds and pillows were terrible. I had no sleep. the heat in my room didnt work so it was freezing and the "hot water" was not hot at all... try luke warm. They only have house keeping come around every 3-4 days depending on how long you stay. For the prices of these rooms this was terrible and needs to be stepped up.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to address your comments from your recent with us at the Palliser Lodge. Our Central Check-In is located at the Glacier Lodge and I do apologise for the inconvenience – Rest assure we took the necessary steps to ensure all current and future guests are aware of that by mentioning it in their confirmation letters and notices located at the Palliser Lodge. All of our Hotel style suites at the Palliser Lodge are split kings. I will ensure that our staff is well aware and along with our booking partners to prevent this from happening again. Our condo style Housekeeping Service is completed on the fourth day of the guests stay. We are more than happy to provide extra amenities or textiles upon request at no addition fee. Once again my deepest regrets that we didn’t make this trip a memorable one for you. I hope we can regain your confidence and host you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
119 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit over the Labour Day weekend and we all really enjoyed it. It was set up perfectly for 2 couples sharing with the rooms separated and each having an ensuite bathroom. Finishing in the unit was to a very high standard with granite counters, etc. Kitchen was quite well outfitted for cooking - it at least had all the basics. Nice to have a private hot tub that was set at a perfect temperature. Great to have access to the communal BBQ as well. While we didn't mind not having any maid service, it would have been nice to at least have access to additional bathroom amenities...for instance when we arrived the small lotion bottle was 1/2 empty and we didn't receive any more. As well one tiny bar of soap for the entire stay wasn't enough. That's the downside of not having a front desk on site. There were \a couple of lights burned out in the suite. As well, the bathroom walls could have used a good cleaning. Lastly the bed covers seemed like they were from a cheap motel...a proper duvet would have been much preferred. Overall a great stay and a great property and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brently55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent stay at Palliser Lodge. We always look forward to hearing feedback from how our guest’s stays were with us. I have shared your comments with both our Maintenance Team and Housekeeping Team and we will make sure we’re more diligent with having everything in the room in top notch order (i.e. light bulbs) as well we discussed putting more amenities in the units, especially for our guests who are staying longer than two nights. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Our trip started out with everything going wrong but that is NOT how our stay finished. The staff took full responsibility for what went wrong and went above and beyond to make the reminder of your stay outstanding. There were never any excuses or blame just action that was top notch customer service. I would recommend the Palliser Lodge if you are going to be travelling and staying up at Kicking House Ski Resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roscovancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Palliser Lodge at Kicking Horse Resort. My apologies for how your trip started off on the wrong foot; it’s never the route anyone wants to begin their stay on. I’m delighted to hear that our staff was able to make your trip a memorable one and that you left satisfied with how the situation was resolved. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Palliser Lodge is quite new and very clean however the lack of service, abandonned atmosphere and the complete absence of air conditioning in the summer combined to make this a terrible stay for us. As mentioned by another reviewer, there is nobody working the front desk of the lodge and the office at the Glacier Lodge check-in is understaffed and working limited hours. When we arrived about 20 minutes before the 4 pm check-in time, the room still wasn't ready which is their prerogative but still surprising.

The Palliser Lodge itself has an abandonned air to it which is greatly worsened when trying to reach staff for any concerns. Around midnight, we realized the room was much too stuffy and hot for comfortable sleep and spent the next half of an hour trying to adjust the room's thermostat. We were horrified to learn that the room does not have any air conditioning. When we finally got ahold of an off-site hotel worker, we were brusquely told that 'we advise you to open a window'. Not entirely an unexpected solution; however, the mountain air can be really cold and drafty at night and kept us freezing and tossing throughout the night.

We haven't been back to Golden for a couple years and I was looking forward to seeing the changes that had taken place on the resort. I had a feeling of apprehension when noting that the single file bridge leading up to the resort still hasn't been expanded to accomodate two-way traffic. As my wife put it when we left- this place will never be very successful if this is the way they treat their customers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Proto79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
I would like to thank you for your recent review from your stay at Palliser Lodge. We strongly encourage all our guests to share their experiences so we can consistently improve our services. Unfortunately Palliser isn't equipped with Air Conditioning and I understand your concerns with how that that can affect the warm temperatures in the rooms. Luckily at night the temperature drops dramatically and the rooms tend to cool of quite nicely; still, it’s not always the most reasonable alternative. The Front Desk does not operate at Palliser during the summer and shoulder seasons; however, we are very excited to have it fully operational starting in December for our winter season. I understand with the amount of traffic that comes up and down the mountain it can be quite congested at the bridge crossing. Just last year our partner, Kicking Horse Mountain Resort announced their 40 Year Master Plan. I strongly encourage you to visit their website to learn more about the future of the Resort. Thank you for your comments and we hope this visit won’t detour you from future ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

For our recent stay at the Palliser in a 3-bedroom suite we had the unfortunate distinction of being wedged between a large party above us, and the incredibly noisy garage door beneath. There's no question that the room was beautiful (not generously sized but adequate) and features such as the patio hottub and heated ceramic tiles were nice, but they could have spent a lot more money on sound proofing as we could hear every sound in the hotel it seemed. In particular the toilet flushing upstairs made a horrible noise in our bedroom.

Check-in was down the road at the sister resort, something we were not informed of and in fact, the only sign indicating so was behind the locked doors. After 6 pm there were no staff - so there was no one we could call at midnight when the party upstairs had turned into a karaoke/line dance party that went on until 2 am. The next morning, despite posters indicating the desk would be open at 8 am, no one was there and I was informed by the cleaning staff that they likely wouldn't be there until 10 am. I was told just to drop off my key and a receipt would be emailed but I still haven't received it.

There was no working wi-fi in either the room or the lobby despite being advertised. The lack of air conditioning is certainly a consideration in the summer. The mattress and bedding was completely basic and disappointing for a luxury priced hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask to be on the opposite side of the building from the parking garage and on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionaYEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us at Palliser Lodge. My apologies for the above items you made note of. Unfortunately our Front Desk hours of operation are decreased for the summer season and I can understand your frustration as you weren’t aware of that. We do however provide our hours of operation within the confirmation letters as well as after hours contact information which can also be found in the check- in package and throughout all our lodges. Most recently installed Wi-Fi in Palliser and are still working on dead spots that are in the property, regardless I do apologise as this should have been rectified. I hope we can retain your patronage and have the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wide Open Future
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Had a really comfortable stay. Unit had a well equipped kitchen and good amenities. Quiet units. Good ski lockup area and easy access to the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Three60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Much obliged for your comment on Palliser Lodge at Kicking Horse Resort. We hope you can make it back for the 11/12 Winter Season. May I recommend trying one of our Palliser units that is equipped with your own personal Hot Tub…Spectacular ending to a long day shredding through the fresh champagne powder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.6 km away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
5.3 km away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
108 reviews
6.5 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
444 reviews
5.5 km away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts

Property: Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Address: 1420 Palliser Lodge Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, the Palliser Lodge is well situated in one of the area’s premier locations, boasting spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains and ski slope activities. The Lodge, just walking distance to the Gondola base at Kicking Horse Mountain, ensures quiet enjoyment while maintaining the convenience of ski-in/ski-out access to the mountain. Other features include: private hot tubs, full kitchens, exercise room and underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palliser Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing