We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

Cranbrook History Centre
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum houses the TransCanada Limited, a 1929 luxury train, as well as many other restored Canadian trains.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

Great place to stop if you like railway history. We took the 1.5 hr tour and enjoyed it. The Guide really knew his railroad history. Lots of cars to see and enjoy.

1  Thank westerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rail cars"
in 21 reviews
"guided tour"
in 13 reviews
"grand tour"
in 9 reviews
"train travel"
in 6 reviews
"royal alexandra"
in 6 reviews
"model railroad"
in 5 reviews
"various stages"
in 4 reviews
"bygone era"
in 3 reviews
"love trains"
in 2 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"museum building"
in 2 reviews
"great displays"
in 2 reviews
"stained glass"
in 2 reviews
"informed guide"
in 2 reviews
"restoration"
in 21 reviews
"exhibits"
in 13 reviews
"restored"
in 30 reviews
Filter

32 - 36 of 145 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2017

I love this museum! The changes to the cars over is amazing.ome of them are dry posh with mahogany walls. The dining care with their linen and Crystal are really beautiful. There always seems to be a new restoration in progress. I'll go here again

1  Thank notjustclassicrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyM01, Manager at Cranbrook History Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience here at the Museum. We are constantly growing and there are many new things in the works!!!! Can't wait to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017

Refurbished old train cars that are open for viewing...interesting to see how travel treated a tourist many years ago as one crossed Canada. The Museum building houses the interior of the restaurant from the old CP Hotel in Winnipeg . It was salvaged and preserved and found a new home in Cranbrook? The room is now used for elegant functions and is typical of the old CP, now Fairmont, hotels!

1  Thank vikkicanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyM01, Manager at Cranbrook History Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience here at the Museum .... watch for future displays that are up and coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2017

We visited on Mothers Day so the Argyle Diningroom on the train was closed to sightseeing as they were having a "tea", which we could have joined had we had the time. However, just seeing the ballroom that was saved from destruction from an old Winnepeg hotel was well worth the stop. The conservationists at this museum are doing restorations that are truly amazing.

Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyM01, Manager at Cranbrook History Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

Thank you for your kind words ... the Royal Alexandra Hall is one of our pride and joys. We hope you will be able to come back some time soon to enjoy a train tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2017

We walked in the door and were told that everything was "by donation", so we donated $40.00, only to learn that a tour was $35.00 as well. Our tour was a bit half hearted and seemed entirely scripted. The exhibits are very interesting, but you are hurried through them, and they are very poorly presented with very low light almost every location. Museum staff seem more interested in restricting access to the exhibits rather than encouraging people to learn about them. Most of the other railway museums I have visited allow you to tour exhiibits at your own pace. I'm sorry to describe this museum as unimpressive, but suggest that your time and money would be much better spent looking at the rail related exhibits in Heritage Park in Calgary, Fort Edmonton Park in Edmonton, the Western Development Museum in Saskatoon, or actual working trains in Jasper.

1  Thank arewetherenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cranbrook History Centre also viewed

Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Cranbrook History Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing