We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
A nice venue that keeps on growing.

This facility is constantly changing for the better, adding more and more displays and exhibits... read more

Reviewed December 12, 2018
booboo51
,
Cranbrook, Canada
Well worth the visit!!

We’ve been through Cranbrook so many times and never stopped at this museum. Though it’s under... read more

Reviewed October 21, 2018
CoachMeow
,
Lethbridge, Canada
via mobile
Read all 147 reviews
  
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
77
46
16
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
46
16
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rail cars guided tour grand tour royal alexandra train travel model railroad various stages gift shop great museum real surprise restoration work bygone era excellent tour love trains great place to visit local area stained glass
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 147 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2017

this museum is so amazing. the tour guides are all fun and interactive. the grand tour is highly recommended! snacks are also recommended as there is no food here. the gift shop has some really neat items though!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank travelgirl19992017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017

I quite enjoyed the museum we did the transCanada tour which takes you through the only front to back first class car. The walnut finishing was beautiful and so was a look into how first class travel was back in the 1920's.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Skeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

Great place to stop if you like railway history. We took the 1.5 hr tour and enjoyed it. The Guide really knew his railroad history. Lots of cars to see and enjoy.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank westerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2017

I love this museum! The changes to the cars over is amazing.ome of them are dry posh with mahogany walls. The dining care with their linen and Crystal are really beautiful. There always seems to be a new restoration in progress. I'll go here again

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank notjustclassicrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyM01, Manager at Cranbrook History Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience here at the Museum. We are constantly growing and there are many new things in the works!!!! Can't wait to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017

Refurbished old train cars that are open for viewing...interesting to see how travel treated a tourist many years ago as one crossed Canada. The Museum building houses the interior of the restaurant from the old CP Hotel in Winnipeg . It was salvaged and preserved and found a new home in Cranbrook? The room is now used for elegant functions and is typical of the old CP, now Fairmont, hotels!

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank vikkicanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyM01, Manager at Cranbrook History Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience here at the Museum .... watch for future displays that are up and coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews