We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating with an awesome guide (Don)”

Cranbrook History Centre
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum houses the TransCanada Limited, a 1929 luxury train, as well as many other restored Canadian trains.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed December 13, 2017

We visited the History Centre on Dec 9th and had a fascinating tour of the train cars in various stages of reconstruction. Don was our guide and he was extremely knowledgeable and very passionate. Highly recommend you take all 3 tours (this comment will make sense when you get there).

1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CbkHistoryCentre, Manager at Cranbrook History Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2017

Thank you for the kind words. And yes, Don is an AMAZING Tour Guide!!!! He is very personable and outgoing and knows alot about the trains! We are happy to hear you had a great experience.
Tammy Morgan
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rail cars"
in 20 reviews
"guided tour"
in 13 reviews
"grand tour"
in 9 reviews
"royal alexandra"
in 8 reviews
"train travel"
in 7 reviews
"model railroad"
in 5 reviews
"gift shop"
in 7 reviews
"various stages"
in 5 reviews
"bygone era"
in 3 reviews
"love trains"
in 2 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"museum building"
in 2 reviews
"stained glass"
in 2 reviews
"make sense"
in 2 reviews
"informed guide"
in 2 reviews
"restoration"
in 23 reviews
"restored"
in 30 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 138 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2017 via mobile

I never thought that going to a museum could be so much fun and so interesting. From playing with the model trains inside to going outside and taking the one and a half hour tour of all the cars that they are restoring. Our guide told us as we entered one car this is the wow car. He was right as the only words out of anyone's mouth were wow.
I could go on and on and on about this but the only way you are going to believe it is by seeing it for yourself. And you too will say wow.

Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CbkHistoryCentre, Manager at Cranbrook History Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind response. The Model Railway is a stunning piece of work and you are right ... the best response in many of our cars is WOW!!!!! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2017

This has a great collection of actual rail cars from differnt eras and some local history of Cranbrook. For kids there are working model trains set up that are vistor activated.

Thank gd454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CbkHistoryCentre, Manager at Cranbrook History Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. The Train Cars are our pride and joy, and represent so many pieces of our railway history.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2017

If a person has any interest in rail travel this is a "must see." There's an impressive collection of restored passenger cars that illustrates the way in which travelling by rail changed over the decades. There's several tours to choose from, but take the time for the Grand Tour of everything.

Thank mmzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2017

This is a must do if your travelling in the Cranbrook area. Open year round and well worth the time to stop and take a tour. If your lucky you will catch one of the many events held in the beautiful Royal Alexandra Hall.

Thank SilverbackGrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cranbrook History Centre also viewed

Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Cranbrook History Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing