We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Well priced, well appointed, exceptionally clean and quiet rooms. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyc130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    125
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
142
128
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Have stayed at this hotel a few times now and always find it convenient, comfortable, clean with a great continental breakfast. The staff are very efficient and friendly. They have a really great pool area with a water slide and hot tub.

Room Tip: We usually have the king suite which is really nice. This time we decided on the two queen room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in Aug 2011 on our way to take the ferry to Powell R.

The hotel is located on a highway strip in Courtenay with several other hotels and restaurants.

Check-in was very fast and efficient. The staff person was very friendly and helpful. They were able to provide written instructions to the ferry terminal and recommendations on where to eat.

The room was clean and well maintained and the bed comfortable.

We both sampled the indoor pool which was an adequate size for swimming some lengths.

The hotel does not have its own restaurant but does provide a breakfast room for an adequate prepare it yourself breakfast with waffles, cereal, toast, coffee and juice, all of which was included in the room rate. We walked down the road a bit and ate in a family restaurant with a car licence plate motif. I forget its name. Service was very friendly and attentive and the food was good for a family type restaurant.

Overall, I would stay there again for a quick overnight stay. It is a bit outside of the main town for a long stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtravcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

This hotel is located right off the main drag when you drive through Courtenay. Check in was easy as was their willingness to accomodate special requests. The hotel room itself was modern, spacious and clean. There was a microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker as well. Breakfast is served between 6:30-9 am in their "Great Room" near the lobby, which I noticed could also be used for groups traveling together to have snacks or talk together etc... We missed the breakfast, so I can't comment on what was served. There is a small pool and exercise facility as well. We were supplied with a free Wi-Fi code and Globe and Mail newspaper too.

To my understanding, this hotel allows pets. It directly backs on to walking trails where a lot of people take their dogs, which is convenient.

All in all, the hotel is well-maintained and run. My list of cons is as follows:

*room temperature was hard to control. It was very hot and stuffy. After playing with the buttons for a while and discovering the temperature was still 24 C after leaving for a couple of hours, we resorted to using the air conditioning, which helped considerably. Unfortunately, because it was not nearly warm enough outside to justify the use of the air conditioner, it made a horrible loud noise all night.

*the hallways/sound insulation is poor. Having said that, the hotel had a lot of kids staying in it. Thy ran up and down the halls, took full control of the elevators etc...which contributed to the noise problem.

* parking seemed limited. We returned to our room at about 9:30pm to get literally the last parking spot. I wonder where others parked?

*TV had basic cable only. Not a big
deal for us though.

If I could figure out the room temperature, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripchick29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel is a nice HI express, all the service felt very warm

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OttawaCato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This new property is really a great place to stay. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly, but not in a way that made you feel like they were just trying to get good reviews. I was always greeted in a friendly way as I came and went, and helped immediately if I had a question. The breakfast was more than ample - everything hot and fresh including the coffee. The room was large and nicely decorated. The bed was super comfortable. Its well located on the main street of Courtenay.

Room Tip: Since I had my small dog with me I was on the first floor. My room faced the street and even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckcanuck27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Whoever designed the rooms at this Holiday Inn Express deserves a medal. I've stayed in a lot of hotel rooms and never come across one so well thought out. At less than $125 per night, it's a bargain and beats out hotels charging twice as much.

We were greeted by very efficient and friendly front desk staff who couldn't do enough for us, even suggesting favourite places to go for dinner. The property is centrally located and within easy walking distance to malls and restaurants.

Our huge room, a King Suite, was exceptional. Unlike most hotel rooms, the bathroom was situated between the "living room" and bedroom so if one person wanted to stay up late watching the game, the other could just close the bedroom door and they wouldn't hear a thing. That living room included a sofa bed and matching chair, foot stool, desk and office chair. Free wireless internet was included of course. There was also a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, china cups, sink, paper plates, cutlery and two large styrfoam coffee cups with lids so you could take your coffee with you in the morning.

The bedroom had a really comfy bed, another tv and lots of drawers to store you clothing. (Note to Management: an extra blanket would be a nice touch and it's time to replace those lumpy pillows.)

But the best room was the bathroom. Starting with a spacious countertop (I hate those pedastal sinks with no room to put your stuff), I was amazed at how well thought out this room was. There is a heat lamp/fan directly above the large tub/shower - great for reading in the tub at night. Tucked behind the shower curtain is a long vertical grab bar and another is mounted horizontally on the back wall, just above the edge of the tub. This really makes it easy to get in and out. Needless to say, there were lots of fluffy towels and plenty of hot water. There was also an extensive selection of toiletries: shampoo, conditioner, lotion, mouthwash, bath gel, makeup remover, shower cap, sewing kit and shoe mitt. I really appreciated the large print on the bottles of shampoo and conditioner. Have you ever tried to read that tiny print on most bottles while in the shower without your glasses on? Of course there was also a hair dryer with a night-light mounted into the bottom of it. And they had alternated warm and cool light bulbs above the mirror, something I've never seen before but it worked very well.

This property includes a pool and small waterslide which would be a real hit with kids.

I can highly recommend this property and we look forward to returning to the Holiday Inn Express in Courtenay.

Room Tip: Although the hotel is set back quite a way from the highway, there is still a fair bit of noise. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.7 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
3.3 km away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
7.1 km away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
4.1 km away
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
Address: 2200 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#3 Business Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley! Our friendly service oriented staff are dedicated to providing you with a memorable experience that will leave a lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Comox Valley is the newest property in the Courtenay/ Comox area with the Comox Valley's only in-hotel waterslide. Our convenient location is ideal for corporate guests. Inquire about holding your next meeting in our lovely Seaview Boardroom, or prepare for that next big presentation in our 24 hour business center where we welcome you to take advantage of the self serve complimentary fax and photocopy services. Naturally we offer complimentary high-speed wireless internet access in all of our guestrooms and throughout the entire hotel. Leisure guests and families love our amenities! Stay Smart with our free hot breakfast buffet, focus on fitness in our 24 hour fitness center, or make a splash in our family oriented indoor pool with waterslide and spacious hot tub. All of our beautifully appointed guestrooms feature HD TV on 32" multi-media televisions, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, and hairdryer with the majority of our guestrooms featuring stellar mountain or ocean views. We invite you to keep cool and get out of the summer heat in our air conditioned guestrooms, or curl up under our warm and cozy deluxe comfort bedding collection on a blustery winter’s day. Whatever the season, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Comox Valley has your comfort in mind!The Comox Valley is nestled in the scenic splendor of Forbidden Plateau and the Comox Glacier. Visitors to the Comox Valley often enjoy hitting the slopes for an exhilarating ski or snowboard adventure on Mount Washington, kayaking in the Straights of Georgia, or hiking in the vast pristine wilderness that surrounds us.So, for your next trip to Vancouver Island let us welcome you to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley in the heart of British Columbia's "Adventure Playground." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Courtenay Comox Valley Sw
Holiday Inn Express Courtenay
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing