We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Nice modern, clean hotel”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights as part of a Mount Washington ski vacation. I will comment first on my overall impression of the hotel, and then on the room itself.

From check-in to check-out, the staff were all very friendly. The hotel is new, and both clean and modern. The layout of the hotel is great, and everything is easily accessible. They offer enough luggage carts so that we didn't have to wait for one even when they were busy.

The breakfast was similar to what we've experienced at other Holiday Inn Express locations, but overall the quality and options seemed better. They offered quite a few options, including eggs prepared differently each day (scrambled, omelettes, etc.). They offered a nice selection of healthier options as well including whole wheat bread/bagels, fruit, yogurt, etc. They also had the usual cinnamon buns, cake based muffins, sausages, etc. But there was definitely enough to keep us all happy. They also offer plenty of seating in the main dining area, and have opened up a conference room for overflow as well. It was very busy while we were there, and they managed to keep the food fresh and topped up.

The hotel pool and hot tub were clean, and they offered an indoor waterslide. The whole family enjoyed this, and we used the facility every day after skiing. They also have a small fitness room with some cardio and weight equipment.

We stayed in a room that had a separate bedroom with a king bed and jacuzzi tub. This was a great layout because our kids slept in the living room on the pull-out couch, and still had access to the bathroom. This room offered lots of space.

We appreciated that we could buy our lift passes at the hotel so we didn’t have to stand in line when we got up on the hill. This was very convenient, and we’ll do it again.

My only complaint about our stay, because everything else was excellent, would be the location of our room. Second floor rooms on the front of the hotel, between about 208 and 216 sit behind the large covered awning/entryway. This was a problem for a number of reasons. First, the hotel (like all Holiday Inn Express Hotels) must play music 24/7 to greet people as they arrive. Unfortunately, the sound of this music is reflected directly at the rooms between 208 and 216. The first and second nights we thought there was a nightclub in the area (or rowdy guests in another room), and called down to the front desk. It wasn't until later on the second evening that we finally realized it was the speakers in the drive-up entryway. When we spoke to the front desk, they turned the music down right away and solved that problem. The second issue we had with the covered entryway is that they fly a number of flags off the end of the large awning. When the wind picks up (as it did the first night), the awning amplifies the sound of the flags flapping in the wind, and it sounds like a train clickity-clacking, or a luggage cart being driven back and forth on the brick walkways.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again in the future, and will recommend it to our friends, but we will ask for either a room at the back of the hotel, of if we must be at the front, then a room on the third or fourth floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel (any floor), or if you must be at the front of the hotel, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoriatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jauline, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your breakfast experience was both efficient and enjoyable! The Ownership and Breakfast Bar Management at our hotel have put forth considerable time and effort to ensure that we offer a wide range of healthy breakfast options in addition to the traditional Holiday Inn Express brand fare.

I am truly sorry to hear that the location of your guestroom did not afford you the peace and quiet that you both deserve and expect from your accommodation experience. Perhaps on your next visit to our hotel we can have one of our friendly Guest Service Agents add a note to your guest profile specifying that a room on the backside of the property with an ocean view, away from elevators or stairs would be more comfortable for you. If you are a Priority Club Rewards Member, we can even add this note to your member profile so that all Holiday Inn Express properties around the world will be aware of your preferences prior to arrival.

Your complete satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us; if ever there is anything that we can do to make your stay with us more comfortable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley for your accommodation needs! We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jauline Matkin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    135
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
150
135
24
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Over the last few months, I have stayed at this hotel several times when I have been visiting the Comox Valley for work. It is a great hotel! The staff are professional, friendly and helpful! The hotel is new and clean! The rooms are nicely designed and love that there is a fridge and a microwave! The bed is comfy! It's all good! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildindigo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I was impressed with this hotel. Newer hotel, decent price, good location (in the middle of Courtenay near restaurants and stores). I appreciated that a daily breakfast was included during our stay. Throughout our breakfast, the staff kept the food supply stocked and hot and there were plenty of choices.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and the shower head (an important feature for me) was great. Our room was quiet and right by the stairs, which we took, instead of the elevator which was farther away from our room (which contributed to the quietness factor).

While we didn't get a chance to try out the pool or hot tub, it looked busy each time we passed by. Not a huge indoor pool area, but I'm sure the waterslide is big attraction for families with children.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the third floor, away from the elevator, but right by the stairs. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaredVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

nice new hotel in courtenay..30 minutes from the slopes and close to good restaurants including the blackfin pub our union street grill or atlas restaurant...all with much better food than you find on the ski hill. Staff is friedly, ammenties are as expected, and the rooms are both newly decorated and very clean. A nice option if you are going to go to Mt Washington to ski or play golf at Crown Isle or my personal favorite Storey Creek

Room Tip: may not want to stay on the ground floor, otherwise a new hotel, free wi-fi, free breakfast with go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canucktravellers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I have stayed in this hotel 4 times in 12 months and I am happy to keep going back. It is located on the main street, Cliff Avenue, near all amenities and restaurants within walking distance in Courtenay, BC. The rooms are new, updated and nicely furnished with LCD hi def TVs and views of the harbour or the city and Washington mountain. The breakfast is included in room rates and is standard Holiday Inn fare with eggs, fruits, yogurts, meats and baked goods. In all my trips, I have never had any reason to be disappointed. It is also one of the rare Holiday Inns that provides bathrobes in the room on request. I wish they could offer more TV channels. Will return again soon.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor with options of city or water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psahaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here on New Year's Eve because my brother-in-law had booked a flight out at 7am on the 1st.

The rooms were clean, comfortable, and modern. The staff was friendly and attentive. The WiFi service was reliable and worked well with all of our devices.

My only real beef (and this goes for all HI Express properties) is that the bacon in the breakfast was paper-thin and super tough and, unlike other properties, there seemed to be a very limited amount - I was the last one in my family to get some before they switched to sausage patties only. This kind of thing is understandable during the holidays though. Apart from this, the breakfast was actually considerably better than many of the other HI Express we stayed at in the US this summer. The tex-mex omelettes were edible, and the biscuits were decent as well.

I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a pet room, make sure to call the property directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoGeek-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Well priced, well appointed, exceptionally clean and quiet rooms. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyc130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.7 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
781 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
3.3 km away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
95.0 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,345 reviews
7.1 km away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
0.4 km away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
Address: 2200 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#3 Business Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley! Our friendly service oriented staff are dedicated to providing you with a memorable experience that will leave a lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Comox Valley is the newest property in the Courtenay/ Comox area with the Comox Valley's only in-hotel waterslide. Our convenient location is ideal for corporate guests. Inquire about holding your next meeting in our lovely Seaview Boardroom, or prepare for that next big presentation in our 24 hour business center where we welcome you to take advantage of the self serve complimentary fax and photocopy services. Naturally we offer complimentary high-speed wireless internet access in all of our guestrooms and throughout the entire hotel. Leisure guests and families love our amenities! Stay Smart with our free hot breakfast buffet, focus on fitness in our 24 hour fitness center, or make a splash in our family oriented indoor pool with waterslide and spacious hot tub. All of our beautifully appointed guestrooms feature HD TV on 32" multi-media televisions, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, and hairdryer with the majority of our guestrooms featuring stellar mountain or ocean views. We invite you to keep cool and get out of the summer heat in our air conditioned guestrooms, or curl up under our warm and cozy deluxe comfort bedding collection on a blustery winter’s day. Whatever the season, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Comox Valley has your comfort in mind!The Comox Valley is nestled in the scenic splendor of Forbidden Plateau and the Comox Glacier. Visitors to the Comox Valley often enjoy hitting the slopes for an exhilarating ski or snowboard adventure on Mount Washington, kayaking in the Straights of Georgia, or hiking in the vast pristine wilderness that surrounds us.So, for your next trip to Vancouver Island let us welcome you to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley in the heart of British Columbia's "Adventure Playground." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Courtenay Comox Valley Sw
Holiday Inn Express Courtenay
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing