We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,375)
Filter reviews
1,375 results
Traveller rating
710
410
155
61
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
410
155
61
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hydro path steam room ocean view romance suite orca suite hydropath experience steam cave get away oceanfront room murphy bed hot tub mid week beautiful grounds relaxing getaway couples massage girls weekend bald eagles
Filter
Updating list...
923 - 928 of 1,375 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We spent 2 nights in the oceanfront room and enjoyed the views and privacy. The hydropath experience was nice and relaxing. We stayed a 3rd night in a regular room. It was cramped, and the furnishings were below par. Spend the extra $ if you go.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are more private and enjoy great views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarpLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Dear HarpLL,

Thank you for your review of your visit with us. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our signature service The Pacific Mist Hydropath and that your visit was nice and relaxing.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We are very particular about the ingredients we consume. The King Fisher Restaurant is too.

We travel 30 miles each way to go to the restaurant and feel it is well worth the trip.

The staff is lovely, the menu is fantastic. The eggs come from eggs, not a box. The drinks are creative. The food is local and uses fresh ingredients.

The view is really lovely.

We highly recommend this dining experience.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank JHvanbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Dear JHvanbc,

We are ecstatic about your review of your recent dining experience with us! Our Chef prides himself with choosing fresh local ingredients for each of his dishes. He is always following and implementing local food trends and sustainable seafood options for our restaurant. We agree our staff is lovely and they are the ones who come up with our creative drinks! Thank you JHvanbc for your stellar review and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kindest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I've been to the Kingfisher 3 times already for their hydrapath/spa when visiting Vancouver Island, but decided this time to stay for an overnight also. We had room 306, overlooking the water. Very nice suite, comfortable king size bed, even the Murphy bed was comfortable. Only negative thing was no air conditioning, and there was a hot spell while we were there, but we just kept the sliding doors open for a bit of a breeze. We enjoyed our stay, very relaxing, food and service was good, the ladies at reception are very kind and helpful. The stay was a birthday gift for my daughter, and my granddaughter was with us also, so it was a great outing for gramma, auntie and niece

Room Tip: Ocean view!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELISABETH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Dear misslizOntario,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us! We are delighted that you and your family had a very relaxing stay with us. To spend quality time with your family, making new memories, and enjoying yourself at our Resort means a lot to us and we were thrilled to have you all here. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how your visit was and we look forward to welcoming you all back again.

Kindest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Prepare to relax as soon as you get there. We had an ocean side room with the sweeping view of the ocean and nearby small city harbour. You could tan- oceanside or poolside- in a comfy lounge-style chair. The sunset was entrancing and luxurious from our suite's outside deck, aided by the fact that the weather was beautifully hot.
-you can get room service for any meal and they have basic kitchen facilities in the suites. I loved the dining room with an outdoor deck portion too. Good array of wines, including local ones.
-there was some funky dishes for the enlightened palate, but some basic pastas for the more basic appetite.
-bed was comfy and and the bathrooms had a spa-style tub for two. Nice seaside decor in the suites.
-try the Hydra Path spa and enjoy some pampering- well worth it.
-they could beef up their movie selection, which is DVD at the front desk. Nothing is very current.
Overall a lovely mini-vacation and we lucked in on the Travel Zoo coupon offer. Affordable luxury.
-bring some dress up clothes for the restaurant. It's romantic.

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and get the ocean front suites. Twenty paces to the shore if you get ground level! Basic kitchens in the suites only.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Dear Laura154945,

Thank you for your "Spectacular" review of your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our Restaurant and our outdoor patio that feature great local wines. We have an amazing property right on the water which offer stunning ocean views and local wild life. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise!

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I don't know why reviewers consider to be a good location this place.Entrance from highway and the other side is the "beach "where you can not walk.No bike or bike road opportunity.Stayed Aug.10-11
Rooms:so outdated,small tv's,old furnitures
Restaurant:very expensive and no other choice to eat unless you drive away somewhere
Spa: nice but it should not be by order to move one shower or pool to other.You should be able to stay in the pool as long as you feel like.Still this was the best part.
Outside pool: the size of a single family home not the hotel.I WOULD EXPEND THE POOL if i would be the owner.
You stuck at this place if you don't have a car. Definitely doesn't worth the money at this place to stay.Maybe on overnight sleeping place with the spa.Maybe.My husband changed the room from ocean view regular to half suit and we had a Murphy bed, very uncomfortable.We woke up like beaten up so we left after one night not cared about the second night was a loss of money.
It was a disappointing place and I would consider to be only 2-3 star.Won't recommend it.

Room Tip: The suits are ocean fronts.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kaviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Dear Kaviana,

Thank you for your review of your visit with us. We were sorry to hear that you did not sleep well and did not enjoy your stay with us. Our property is located right on the beach and to access the beach walk you would have to wait for the tide to go out, however once the tide is out the beach walk to Gartley Point is a stunning beach walk. We do have bikes on site for our guests to rent for the day and as we are just outside of the city limits there are many bike trails just minutes away. Our signature service the Pacific Mist Hydropath is a guided service through 8 different stations, it is almost an hour long service that our guests book so unfortunately we do ask our guests to move to each station so that all guests can enjoy their time there. Again we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we would love another chance to show you great island hospitality. If you do decided to come back, please contact our Front Office Manager so that we can ensure an amazing stay! Take care and thank you again Kaviana!

Kindest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews