We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Heights Motel
Ranked #12 of 15 Courtenay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 April 2017

For price, exceeded expectations. Clean and comfortable but the bathroom exhaust fan connected to the light was quite noisy if effective. Looked as if the room had been renovated. Wifi and TV were good. Located on busy 4 lane main road but quiet at night.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BabyboomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2016

Booked it online, as other posters have mentioned it is a good value and while the owners/management attempts to keep it updated just a simple look at the bathrooms shows it's age. I would be quite hesitant to recommend the motel to anyone. Its only my opinion of course but I dont like staying in motels with wood flooring. It seems like a cheap overhaul of the room was done.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank frozen998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We were very happy to find affordable accommodations. It was a busy place, with no vacancy. It reminded me of a hotel my parents would have taken me to as a child. Nothing like a chain hotel but it was clean, and the owners are nice.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

The desk staff was very helpful. The motel is off a busy street but it calms down at night so there is no inference with a nights sleep. The rooms were clean and staff came by daily to check if anything was needed. The bed was comfortable. Over all It was a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eipw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015

I have been travelling a lot and this location is probably one of the best in terms of money and location. You have similar hotel along the the way. The bed is very comfortable and the suite gives you some space. Those unit are designed for a sleep, don't expect the holiday inn suite with the couch and everything. They have a table to work on and a t.v. for your entertainment. They have a nice kitchen so you can cook in your room.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 442joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Courtenay, in my opinion is worth avoiding. It has a highway running through it and not much to recommend it. This motel was at best, average. Bathroom was OK. Bedroom had its fair share of nylon. Our room had a microwave and small fridge. But its location isn't great. Not their fault...

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank trustmewhenIsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

Older look on the outside, but very nice on the inside.Updated; fridge and microwave in each unit, and some kitchens.We had 2 units because my son and his wife were with us, and both rooms were clean and comfortable.I loved the laminate floors, because I always wonder what's been spilled on carpeted motel floors, and how often they are cleaned.This floor was spotless.Slept like a log in the comfy bed, with nice big pillows.No breakfast, but you're surrounded by places to eat.Staff were very helpful, and friendly.We had booked for 2 nights, and I had requested ground floor because I need a cane.We not only got ground level, but we were also side by side.We had so much fun visiting relatives that we decided to stay a third night, and with some juggling, the staff were able to let us stay in the rooms we already had.I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courtenay hotels
0.2 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Courtenay
1,052 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.3 km away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Anco Inn
Anco Inn
#7 of 10 in Courtenay
55 reviews
3.9 km away
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
7.5 km away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Heights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Heights Motel

Address: 1820 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Courtenay
Price Range: $84 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River Heights Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your River Heights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Heights Motel Courtenay, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing