We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid View and Delicious Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windborne Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Castlegar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
“Splendid View and Delicious Breakfast!”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Hi, I found the owner to be very congenial and friendly. The rooms are high class with high quality wood finishing, well furnished, warm and quiet environments. The view of the river and the mountains surrounding it are gorgeous. If you want a great breakfast and a restful, comfortable sleep I highly recommend this bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to review us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    12
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
133
26
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Invermere
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Marc is a great host of this excellent property. Very clean, comfortable and fabulous food. I would highly recommend this home to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhalwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to post this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I am so happy over the chance meeting we had with our future hosts in a little local cafe. Previous night we stayed in a small rundown motel but for only few dollars more we were treated for the most comfortable beds one could wish for ( if you feel any lumps you have a princess syndrome) and a wonderful breakfast. Combined with great hunting and fishing this area is the tops and so is this B & B.

Juha Askola, Mission BC

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAskola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you so much for rating and staying with us. We hope you got what you were looking for. We will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Last May some friends and myself rented the whole B&B for our friends stagette. It was the perfect place to host the event. We had a wonderful gift opening in the gardens, moved indoors into the spacious kitchen for dinner, and finished the night off in the hot tub! What more could a bunch of girls ask for in a wonderful day.
Mark was such a great host, was more then helpful too. He kept a close eye on us and made sure we had everything we and needed. And to top it off he made us the perfect breakfast, even accomodating for our friend who has a gluten allergy.
The bed are so comfortable, I could have slept in all day.
As a local resident, i recommend Winborne to anyone passing through town, and to other friends who are looking for a perfect getaway without having to travel. I have even treated my staff to a night in the Moonlight Suite!
You wont be disapointed in your stay here! 5 stars all round!

Room Tip: Moonlight Suite! All the way, the shower and bath are out of this world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for posting this review and utilizing our B&B for your stagette. We are glad you had a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2012

What a great place to stay . Lovely house by the river, very well appointed and comfortable accomodations . Great breakfast from somebody who goes all out and a very genial and hospitable host.
Oh and as an added bonus some stunning art work . A 5 star bed breakfast . Well worth the visit !!Dave W, Calgary, Alberta

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Thanks for all your kind words and the time to post this response. We are glad you liked the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I've stayed at the Windborne B&B on a couple different occasions, and recommend it to everyone I know, whether or not they will even be passing through the Castlegar area! The first time I stayed here was during the summer, and one of the first things you notice is the incredible landscaping. The garden is breathtaking, and you feel like you're entering a little paradise (not to mention the two adorable and very friendly dogs that roam the yard). The house is stunning, with 3 different suites to choose from, each one unique. I chose the Moonlight suite the first time I stayed there. Wow. It has it's own private balcony, huge luxury bed with beautiful decor, and the washroom is just incredible (a large jacuzzi and the best stand up shower that I've ever experienced). The location is perfect, as you are close enough to town to do any shopping or eating out you might want to do (about a 7 minute drive, tops), but also far enough out of town so you can enjoy hikes up the mountain side, or kayak rides in the river/lake which is basically just outside their front door.

The second time I stayed here was in winter. What a beautiful setting for a cozy winter getaway. A fireplace upstairs, big open windows. I just curled up with a book and a blanket on the couch and relaxed.

I realize this review is turning into a novel here, but lastly I just want to say what incredible people Marc and Mirja are! I've stayed at many bed and breakfasts and I can say that Marc and Mirja's hospitality and graciousness far exceeded anyone else that I've met. Marc also makes the most incredible breakfasts, and the house is decorated with Mirja's stunning artwork, which is truly inspirational. I will definitely return to this B&B.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgmiller1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you so much for this excellent review. We look forward to seeing you next summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Really the only real 5 Star location within hundreds of miles. Everything there is new and state of the art with beautiful decor.

Mirja and Marc are most gracious hosts as well as Mirja being a well known painter.

This IS the place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Manager at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Thank you for taking your time to give us this excellent review. We pride ourselves on giving each and every guest the 5 star treatment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
27.3 km away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
7.4 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
7.4 km away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#3 of 8 in Castlegar
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
4.9 km away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
24 reviews
27.3 km away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windborne Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windborne Bed and Breakfast

Property: Windborne Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3900 Broadwater Rd, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 4V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast. Many of our guests, both business and holiday travellers, have expressed how comfortable and welcome they feel at Windborne B&B. We've heard appreciation for the luxurious surroundings and casual atmosphere, plus for the great breakfasts. That about sums up why we are in business! It's all about people and providing a great place to stay. Temperature regulated by a heat pump for your comfort. Soft water system. Post and beam construction. Purpose built in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Windborne Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing