We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riverfront campground.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlegar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kootenay River RV Kampground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We have been here numerous times. We come for the WALLEYE fishery on the river . The campground is well kept and quiet. The owners are fabulous and make the stay very personal. Congrats to KRK for a great place.

Room Tip: Riverfront sites are the best. Phone well in advance to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Visso2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Kootenay River RV Kampground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Thank you P and M. Thank you for your continued patronage and the review post. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2016

Planned to stay one night, ended up staying five nights....beautiful gardens, on the river, very quiet adult rv campground.....terrific amenities, power, water, sewer, cable, wifi, laundry, showers, washrooms, ice on sight. Staff a pleasure to deal with. FIshing 20 steps from campsite. will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: River sites or sites facing gardens, both are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Kootenay River RV Kampground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Thank you Barb F. We do hope you return soon and appreciate you taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

An awesome campground. The grounds were kept perfect. We enjoyed eating some fresh plums and apricots and it looked like apples will be ready soon. The bathrooms and showers were spotless. We would highly recommend this place!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RalphMalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Kootenay River RV Kampground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Thank you RalphMalf, the girls work very hard to keep everything tidy and clean for our guests. Thank you for choosing our park for your stay and taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Stay away from this campground unless you like the smell of sewer, the sewage treatment plant is right on the premises. Very strict rules in this park, make sure you read them and understand them,as management lurks behind trees to make sure you obey them. No privacy here !!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank jancan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Kootenay River RV Kampground, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Although disappointing that you signed up to TripAdvisor just to give your first review to us due to a vendetta (and our first negative review), we do accept your review and vow to make improvements. We take our reviews very seriously, appreciate them, and work towards improvement. Our apologies to all of the overwhelmingly great reviews, "the squeaky wheel gets the grease". Just upsetting because those of you that have been here know how hard we work to make the park beautiful for you.
We are an adults only RV Park which is made very clear. You are upset because that did not suit your needs at the time and that is where this has all stemmed from. We did advise you upon your reservation. Regardless, we are sorry and our fault is that we should have offered you alternate accommodations and refunded you fully so that you could stay somewhere else with your grandchildren. You were advised to purchase a proper sanitary connection for your sewer hose from Canadian Tire, yet you decided against that so we are finding it difficult to make apologizes when you simply would not listen or follow these neighborly rules. On a positive note, going forward, all reviews will be responded to so thank you again J & E. All the best in your future RV adventures, Mike and Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Wow what an awesome spot. Great friendly welcome from the minute we arrived. This is an adult only campground which was perfect for us. The grounds are immaculate as well as the luscious grass around each site. Washroom was so clean and impressive compared to so many you see when you go camping. Very affordable. We will certainly be back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Sherilynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Kootenay River RV Kampground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Thank you Sherilynn M. We are happy that our little park suited your needs and thank you for the review post. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Extremely well kept campground beside the river. Beautiful gardens and areas of native plants. Very quiet. Friendly upbeat owner welcomed us and helped us back in.
This is an adult campground and pets on lease are welcomed.
Reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Not a hotel , a campground for RVs.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Kootenay River RV Kampground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Thank you Janice S, glad you enjoyed it. We work very hard to provide a clean and quiet spot. We appreciate the review and do hope you come stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

This campground is our favourite among many. It's well managed, clean and detailed. The owner and her staff are highly industrious and involved. Customer service is first rate; it just doesn't get better than this - anywhere. While the park lies along the shore of the beautiful, rugged Kootenay River, it is located close enough to city services to be very convenient. There are several great walks or hikes available nearby and the mountain air is wonderfully clean. Doggies are most welcome and in return, they love the varied terrain for sniffy purposes. Stay and enjoy! We do...

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castlegar hotels
2.2 km away
Super 8 Castlegar BC
Super 8 Castlegar BC
#1 of 8 in Castlegar
505 reviews
2.4 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
2.1 km away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#2 of 8 in Castlegar
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Genelle House B&B Guest House
7.5 km away
Windborne Bed and Breakfast
2.5 km away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kootenay River RV Kampground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kootenay River RV Kampground

Address: 651 Rosedale Rd, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 4L2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Castlegar
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our quiet adult oriented RV park, where great fishing, hiking and golf are just a stroll away. Our Park has a beautiful river location with lots of sun, trees and flowers. The perfect base location to stay and do day trips, with many options within an hours drive. Full facilities include cable, power, water, sewer, laundry, free WiFi and very clean showers. New upgrades in 2014 include, 30/50 amp Big Rig pull through sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing