We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great RV park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlegar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kootenay River RV Kampground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Our stay was great. Beautiful grounds, very well maintained park.
The staff were so helpful and friendly. The peace and quiet was fantastic. Close to town and other amenities. Washrooms were spotless.
Pat and Sandra Creiger May 28 - May 31st.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank creigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2016

This is a small RV campground with a few permanents. We are able to book a site 1 day before arrival only because there was a cancellation and good thing we called. Each night we were there the campground with full even this late in the camping season. The caretakers stress that this is a QUIET ADULT ONLY campground with quiet time all day and night - no problem for us. Upon arrival you'll meet the nicest people you can hope for in any campground. Shelby registered us and showed us to our all-grass site. It was plenty big for our 5th wheel and truck with lot of space to stretch out. It was a full hookup site with steady power and good water pressure. Cable provided ample TV stations. The roads are just wide enough for one trailer to get around but not an issue at all. They have a small laundry room (2 washers and 2 dryers) but it was clean. This is one of the best campground in the Castlegar area and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Make reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KeystoneMountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

One of the best RV parks we have ever stayed in. Lorraine is one of the nicest people you could ever meet. The park is beautiful. The prices are great. When I am in this area this is the only park I will stay in.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Our vacation this summer was a camping trip through Alberta and BC. Of all the campgrounds this was by far the best. Beautiful well kept grounds, spotless washrooms, showers and laundry facilities. As impressed as we were with the site and facilities this was nothing compared to the friendly and helpful staff. Thank you Lorraine for making the last three days of our vacation the best. Our only regret is that we didn't spend our entire vacation with you. See you next year.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Garrett and Mit... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Gorgeous grounds, and sooo quiet. There's a little road noise from the highway, but just v a low rumble. Laundry and bathrooms are very clean. Landscaping is gorgeous. Site operator is enthusiastic and obviously Loves this place. Strict rules about noise conduct and pets. Large group firepit alongside the river

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Karren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights recently on a river front site - spacious, level and relaxing. We were even helped with backing our trailer up which is something we haven't seen before - nice touch. VERY friendly management - always with a cheerful hello and asked about our day. The washrooms were very clean as well as the site itself - always saw someone working in the gardens/lawns. Very green grass I might add.
The "sewer" smell was of the mill in Castlegar we were told by a local in town and only bothered us for about 10 mins one afternoon when the wind blew the wrong way - not a deal breaker for us. WiFi was very strong as well. The highway traffic from the bridge was almost never heard from which we were grateful for. Opportunity for a decent night's sleep.
Great central campsite to Castlegar as well as our day trip upto Sandon's ghost town. Would recommend this RV park and look forward to returning in the future to explore more of the area.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Kootenay River RV Kampground, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Thank you for he great review Susan G! You should see the reaction when Lorraine parks a unit for someone who has just had enough from the days drive. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the area. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

It's like camping in someone's park like back yard. Fruit trees, nut trees, beautiful flower beds and even a vegetable garden outside the office. The staff that work there are on the go from morning til night. Lawns are hand mowed, sprinklers are moved.

The spotless washroom/shower area have a fresh bouquet of flowers sitting up on the paper towel dispenser.

The next time we stay here, I'm bringing my fishing rod. The river is just steps away..

Apparently the grounds are on the site of an old drive in movie and the plywood screen is still standing. I think this would be a wonderful opportunity to have some local talent paint murals on the screen, depicting all the amenities that are available in the area. We had checked in for one day but soon changed it to three. We loved it.

Room Tip: This is an RV park
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Kootenay River RV Kampground, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Thank you for the great review Anne L. The girls work very hard to exceed all expectations! Bathrooms/showers have been renovated this year and as always, the fresh cut flowers from the grounds. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castlegar hotels
2.0 km away
Super 8 Castlegar BC
Super 8 Castlegar BC
#1 of 8 in Castlegar
490 reviews
2.4 km away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#5 of 8 in Castlegar
127 reviews
2.0 km away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#2 of 8 in Castlegar
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
2.2 km away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
12.3 km away
Genelle House B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kootenay River RV Kampground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kootenay River RV Kampground

Address: 651 Rosedale Rd, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 4L2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Castlegar
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our quiet adult oriented RV park, where great fishing, hiking and golf are just a stroll away. Our Park has a beautiful river location with lots of sun, trees and flowers. The perfect base location to stay and do day trips, with many options within an hours drive. Full facilities include cable, power, water, sewer, laundry, free WiFi and very clean showers. New upgrades in 2014 include, 30/50 amp Big Rig pull through sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing