We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in the area...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a two night visit, the reception staff were very good and kept in touch to see if all was well. Room had a sitting room / kitchen with the beds in a loft area. We very much liked the sleeping area and the beds were very comfortable. A balcony gave views across to Quadra and much to see wildlife, we saw eagles and seals from the balcony alone. The breakfast had good choice but the eggs and sausage were a bit uninteresting. Minor issue really. The place comes across as a bit dated! The pool and tub were good to visit. We were a bit miffed on the second day, a Sunday as we were out all day but came back to a room untouched, later a towel change was made after we got back but the bins were left not cleared and the beds were down to us. We don't know if that is normal but that has not happened before. Visited the pub next door at Freddie's and had a good meal. It appears it was a bit quiet so on the Saturday closed at 9.30pm and on the Sunday it was closed before 8.30pm? Anyway, hotel nicely located and good views.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuchananPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write your review. The loft chalet room you stayed in are a very popular room at our hotel, the view as you mentioned is outstanding. We have a variety of wildlife that pass by the hotel, we even named a room the eagle room. I would like to apoligize for the houskeeping issues that you mentioned on your second night, your comments have been passed on to the housekeeping manager for her review. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Austrian Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

MY family has stayed here the last 2 easter long weekends. Awesome pool, great continental breakfast, outdoor mini golf ,ping pong , laundry. Has 2 floor rooms with loft!!!! Right across the street from the ocean. Pub right next door, 2 minute drive to down town. Very clean and comfortable, and great staff!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, Front Office Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Campbell River....maybe next Easter Long Weekend.
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband , myself and our two dogs just returned from a four night stay at this motel while looking around for property. The ground floor room,although a bit dated with an older TV, was exceptionally clean. I'm pretty fussy about bathrooms so was pleased to find the tub and washbasin free from any kind of mildew and that the towels were plentiful and fluffy. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The breakfast was included in the price and was fresh and tasty. Juice, sausage and egg muffins, make your own waffles together with a selection of cereals, toast, yoghurt, danish pastries and fruit. The breakfast room assistant was really cheerful and made everyone feel at home. Unfortunately the reception staff weren't able to give us much information about dog walking areas so in future perhaps they might point people to the Beaver Lodge Forest trails off McPhedran Road. The dogs loved them!
We enjoyed our stay and would go back again
All in all

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, Front Office Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your comment.
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Not sure how it got 3 stars from CAA. Good breakfast, nice location, rooms are dated, not up to 3 star cleanliness. Old tvs and cords everywhere along the walls to plug things in. Did have an ipod plug in alarm clock which was nice. Good bed, pilows and linens but many little things in need of repair. Was suprised as it is a "plus" hotel. Would stay again if others had no room.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SF222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, Front Office Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We have recently become a "Plus" and are continuing to improve and update our rooms, some exciting changes we made when becoming a Plus was brand new Serta Pillow Top beds, changing to the triple sheeting for our linens and upgraded in room amenities. We have many more upgrades and improvements we will be working on this year such as upgrading all rooms with flat screen TV's. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we may continue to show you all the improvements we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

While not fancy, this hotel is certainly clean and comfortable, and meets the needs of a travelling family quite well. We had one of their rooms with a king bed on a loft above the main level, and it was perfect for us and our two boys. The bed was actually soooooo comfortable and of a much higher quality than I would have expected for a Best Western. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and the complimentary continental breakfast, again while not fancy or over the top, was a nice touch to get our day started. They have a pool and a little mini-golf course, which is fun for the kids. While right on the highway, most of the rooms are well back from the road, so there was no highway noise at all.

Room Tip: Go for the loft rooms-some added space and such comfortable beds! The kids can sleep on the pull ou...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDH154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, Front Office Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Our loft chalet units are ideal for a family, you stayed in our one king bed in the upper loft bedroom, we also offer a loft style room with two queen beds. Our loft units are popular for familys, its nice to have the seperated area's with two TV's and living area with the extra hide a bed.
We hope to see you back in Campbell River.
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed here one night while visiting friends for Boxing Day. The Hotel is a bit dated but the room itself was very nice, clean and comfortable. They have a Continental Breakfast included which was very appreciated. Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, waffle maker, pastries and the usual bagels, bread selection. No problems and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurallee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberDonaghy, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your business is important to us and we value your feedback. We have recently added sausage, eggs and english muffins to our breakfast room menu, the breakfast sandwich seems to be a popular item and a well liked addition to our breakfast .
Hope to see you back in Campbell River
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stay in Campbell River regularly to visit family. We have two kids 9 (aged 10 and 12) who don't like to share a room. On our last two visits we have stayed at the Austrian Chalet, in a three-bedroom aprtment with full kitchen, which is located above the office.

Each bedroom has a comfortable queen bed and the kitchen is suitable for cooking for longer stays. The living and dining rooms are huge and the couch makes into a fourth bed if needed. Everything is very clean and comfortable.

The Austrian theme is now a bit dated and threatens to become kitschy and the TVs are not flat screens, but these are minor quibbles in what is otherwise a very nice set-up. Noisewise the only complaint is that in the bedroom above the office you can hear guests checking in and out, which can be a drag if you want to sleep late or go to sleep early. There is a bit of highway noise in all the bedrooms, but nothing that interferes with sleep.

There is a good basic complimentary breakfast, which we were told is going to start offering more hot items, in addition to the toast and waffles that are currently available.

One thing that deserves emphasizing is the outsttanding service. On this trip we failed to book the correct number of days that we actually required and the staff very effciently found a suitable alternative set of rooms for the family that was supposed to come in on what we thought was our last day. Rather than make us feel bad about what must of been a major hassle for her, the desk clerk could not have been more understanding. That kind of attitude counts for a lot.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandT94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberDonaghy, Front Office Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and your comments, we are happy to hear on your last two visits you enjoyed your stay in our three bedroom suite, this room is great for family or entertaining with friends. This suite is very popular and offers an incredible ocean view.

We hope to have all of our rooms upgraded to flat screen TVs' soon.

Thank you again for your comments, we will be sure to pass along your kind words to the staff.
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
3.1 km away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
377 reviews
3.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
310 reviews
1.5 km away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
204 reviews
13.3 km away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
56 reviews
39.0 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 Island Highway S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: $90 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing