We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 2021-05-02
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Get Off the Fence and Get on the Boat!

I went on this tour on the recommendation of a friend. I'm glad I did as it was a life-changing... read more

Reviewed November 5, 2019
Preston241
,
Lethbridge, Canada
Grizzly bear expedition - amazing experience

My husband and I had planned a whale watching trip, but unexpectedly needed to cancel due to a... read more

Reviewed October 17, 2019
Ann B
,
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Read all 411 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Vancouver Island
from US$181.56
More Info
from US$184.44
More Info
from US$118.85
More Info
from US$122.47
More Info
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
364
32
7
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
364
32
7
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain john grizzly bears whale watching humpback whales bute inlet first nations killer whales top deck salmon great trip quadra island bear watching safety talk roosevelt elk grizzly tour boat ride their natural habitat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 411 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Booked at the last minute because of trying to get a good weather day. The trip left on time and the boat was good & fast to get you out to the viewing area quickly. We spent a long time observing humpbacks feeding and playing, and at no time did the tour feel rushed. We also saw harbour porpoises and Stellar's sealions (which are funny). Capt Ron & Katelyn(sp) the naturalist were excellent hosts.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Nicolette46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Hi Nicolette,

Thank you for the review and choosing us for you whale watching trip. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your trip and got to experience the humpbacks feeding and playing -- they are pretty spectacular aren't they?! I agree the Stellar sea lions are so fun to watch, it is a full sensory experience! Hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

There are a few companies to choose from, others generally have smaller boats usually ribs, which is why we chose Discovery marine safaris as the boat is a good size, comfortable and if bad weather you have an inside with seating.
John the captain of the boat is a fun professional, clearly with great knowledge and Maritime skill.
We saw Humpback whales, Orca whales, dolphins as sea lions.
They do give you a coffee and a cookie around lunch time, but good to take your own water and lunch, all the fresh air and excitement makes you hungry.
Truly a great day, one of my best on the planet so far!
They are a good company to book with.
Gavin Bristol/England

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Gavlar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Hi Gavin, wow thank you for the review. I am so glad to hear you had such a great experience on board. We are lucky to have such an amazing crew with captains like John that share their years of experience and expertise with us and our guests. Sounds like you had amazing sightings. The wildlife in our area is is truly spectacular. You might have noticed our naturalists often will be as excited as our guests as they watch and teach about the whales -- they never lose their charm. Thank you for choosing us for your whale watching trip in Campbell River, hopefully we will see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Never expected such an experience when visiting relatives on Vancouver Island from UK. Amazing afternoon with a comfortable boat in which we all felt safe. Captain John and his knowledgeable wild life expert were so skilled and respectful of the whales and other sea creatures. Coffee and cookies were an unexpected treat too. Thoroughly recommend!

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank purpledaffodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Thank you for choosing us for your whale watching trip while visiting Vancouver Island! I am so glad to hear you had a great time. Captain John has years of experience in our area -- between him and the rest of the on board crew, I learn something new every time I go on a trip. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, maybe we will see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Around 9 o‘clock our whale watching tour started after a short instruction from captain Ted and Ruben. Shortly after we left the harbour we saw about 6 killer whales. Ted always looked that the boat is far enough for the whales but close enough for good pictures which both was very important to us. Ruben told some interessting facts about those big animals and had always an answer ready to any questions. Later on we saw several Humpbacks. Some were playing around and waving with their huge tails. We have seen so many whales and every singel time we spotted one everyone was so enthusiastic, it was much fun! Would highly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Beat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Hi Beat, sounds like you had really great sightings on your trip. Always lucky to see both Killer Whales and Humpbacks! Captain Ted and Ruben are such great crew members -- so enthusiastic and passionate about what they do. Glad to hear you enjoyed your trip with us. Thank you for choosing us for your whale watching experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2018

Have waited until we had a bear trip at another location before writing review, so that I can compare experiences.

Well, Discovery Marine win with their atttention to detail in making the trip a pleasure. Captain Ted and Rueben were very knowledgeable and interacted well with all the passengers and made sure we all had a good afternoon.

They both clearly have a passion for what they do.

The fact that we saw 7 Orcas and at least 10humbacks helped the experience and one that will stay with us, especially when one came up right next to the boat, giving us all a shock!

Wish we had booked the bear trip now but time didn’t allow.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank AlfaMaleYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taya M, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, sounds like you had some great sightings. I agree, Captain Ted and Ruben are great! We are very fortunate to have both of them as part of our crew, and always do a great job to share their excitement about the wildlife with the rest of the group. Thank you for choosing us for your whale watching trip while in Campbell River. Hopefully we will see you again on board one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews