We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
A DAY I WILL NEVER FORGET

This should be on your bucket list. Wow! To see Grizzly Bears this close up, in their natural... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2021
dianebE4850WY
,
Spruce Grove
Amazing experience with Grizzly bears

From start to finish this was an amazing experience. Booking was easy and personable. Onboard... read more

Reviewed September 12, 2021
RobertBc
,
Chemainus, Canada
via mobile
Read all 422 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Vancouver Island
from US$237.79
More Info
from US$250.51
More Info
from US$130.82
More Info
from US$128.60
More Info
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
375
32
7
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
375
32
7
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain john grizzly bears whale watching humpback whales bute inlet pacific white sided dolphins salmon wealth of information their natural habitat spectacular scenery an incredible experience weather was perfect highly recommend this trip tour company bucket list bear viewing local history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 422 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2018

We booked a trip for 18th September 2018. it started out rather damp and raining as we boarded the boat for the 2.5 hour trip to Bute Inlet. we left the boat and were met by some first nations people. we were taken by bus to a building for a safety briefing and small exhibition. Shortly after we got onto a bus and were taken to the first location where bears were expected to be. we were not disappointed as in the distance we could see a couple of mum's each with cubs. after about 40 minutes we drove to the next site. when we arrived there were no bears to be seen but within a few minutes several bears with cubs walked past only a few metres away.
A great day

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 155richard81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Hi Richard,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and taking the time to post a review. We always love to hear feedback from our guests. Sounds like an excellent day, despite the rain. It is always amazing to see the Grizzly's but I think its a little extra special to see a mum and her cubs!

Hopefully we will see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018

We booked a grizzly bear trip with discovery safaris for 1st September, which was they 1st trip of the year.The day was perfect with plenty of sunshine and the boat trip to Bute inlet was most enjoyable with beautiful scenery.We were meet at Bute inlet by the Homalco indians who were our guides on the trip. We were transported round in small coaches to find the bears, on the way round we saw one grizzly who was crossing a stream, we were allowed to leave the coach to take photos as the grizzly was a safe distance away.We then proceeded to a viewing tower where we were lucky enough to see another 7 bears ,playing in the water below the tower. a mother and her 2 cubs came very close to the tower and the 2 cubs stood up on their hind legs just in front of us. What a wonderful sight and i was lucky enough to great some marvelous photos of all the bears. MIchelle and Ruben were our guides along with capt. Al who had incredible knowledge of the bears and were very informative and made our trip even more special. The trip was worth every dollar we spent on it , and we will certainly do it again if we return to Canada

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Ray and Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Hi Jackie,

Thank you so much for the review! Isn't it just stunning in the Bute Inlet! We are so fortunate to have the Homalco First Nation as partners to be able to offer this spectacular tour in their territory. I am so glad to hear that you had such a great trip, and such great sightings, hopefully we will be able to welcome you on board again one day. Thank you for taking the time to share you time with us while in Canada, and writing your review. We always love to hear feedback from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018

This was the best experience we had during our trip to Vancouver Island. It was a great day. Saw many grizzlies, some very close. Excellent scenery.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Fearless466459
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us, so glad to hear that you enjoyed it so much .It really is an amazing experience to see these Grizzlies up close and in person isn't it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018

4 of us went out on a whale tour and we all had an awesome trip. There were enough whales close to Campbell River that we didn't have to travel far, so spent most of the trip following along both orca and humpbacks. The crew was knowledgeable and attentive, and added to the event by making it an educational experience. We saw a few fins of the harbour porpoise, lots of stellar sea lions lolling on the rocks, and numerous harbour seals soaking up the warmth of the rocks.No rain was a big bonus. My cousins, visiting from Calgary, were thrilled both to be out on the water, and to see these creatures in their natural habitat. Great trip!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank roystongirl2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Sounds like you had some great sightings out there! We believe incorporating education into our wildlife viewing to be an absolutely vital part of the experience, I am glad to hear you found it valuable as well. That is is so great to hear that you saw so much.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am thrilled to hear you had such a good time, hopefully we will see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Well what can I say?
My wife and were visiting BC for a holiday. Wanted to see the wildlife and after research picked Discovery to give us our fix. We booked the Grizzly tour for Saturday 15th Sept. This tour exceeded our wildest expectations. We visited 6 or 7 viewpoints and we witnessed 18 different Grizzlies feeding or fishing. We were able get within a distance of less than 40 feet on some occasions . Just a phenomenal day.
Sunday 16th we had booked the whale watching trip but had low expectations (one never knows on these trips if you will see anything and having had such a brilliant day with the Grizzlies did not believe we could get anything better BUT As we set off we saw a group of Transient Orcas pass us by. Then a large pod of Pacific white sided Dolphins came and played around the boat and we all thought how lovely but later came to witness the less than sweet side of nature.
We had managed to locate and watch a hump back whale so by now we all thought that was enough for one day until!!
Our captain was informed that a group of Orcas had trapped a large number of the dolphins in Village Bay and looked like they were in for the kill. We sped to the scene and witnessed the amazing spectacle of this group of 4 Orcas cornering the dolphins before some were able to scape but not before the Orcas tossed a dolphin in the air before feasting on it and celebrating with tail flips and jumping out of the water.
These past 2 days have been 2 of the best travel days of my life and thanks for those experiences go to the staff and organisation at your company.
Special thanks to Captain John and his crew member (sorry forgot her name) first Nation guides and to Captain Al and Rueben for the Whale watching trip. Just an unforgettable and once in a lifetime experience for me.
Thanks to all. Jim and Sue Simpson

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank jiminysimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Hi Jim and Sue,

Thank you so much for sharing your time with us on holidays and choosing us for your whale watching and Grizzly Bear trips. Sounds like you had two fantastic trips! The whale watching trip you were on was probably one of the most exciting of the season. It truly is a once in a life time experience to witness nature in its rawest form like that. I know the crew was very excited when they got off the water as well.

Thank you for the kind review, hopefully we will see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews