We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 2021-05-02
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Get Off the Fence and Get on the Boat!

I went on this tour on the recommendation of a friend. I'm glad I did as it was a life-changing... read more

Reviewed November 5, 2019
Preston241
,
Lethbridge, Canada
Grizzly bear expedition - amazing experience

My husband and I had planned a whale watching trip, but unexpectedly needed to cancel due to a... read more

Reviewed October 17, 2019
Ann B
,
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Read all 411 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Vancouver Island
from US$180.53
More Info
from US$183.39
More Info
from US$118.18
More Info
from US$121.77
More Info
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
364
32
7
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
364
32
7
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain john grizzly bears whale watching humpback whales bute inlet first nations killer whales top deck salmon great trip quadra island bear watching safety talk roosevelt elk grizzly tour boat ride their natural habitat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 411 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

While the tourists typically complain about the weather, the rain was good for the Grizzly and good for the salmon. Gorgeous ride up to Bute Inlet. Stopped at a gigantic group of Pacific White Sided Dolphins on the way up. Wow! Arrived st the Homolco First Nations bear camp and headed out to see the Grizzly Bears. We were not disappointed! Mom and two cubs gorging on fish. We watched them got close to an hour and this was just the beginning! Ended the trip with20 Grizzly Bears spotted. A stellar day indeed. The two last stops for bears put us behind schedule and there was no time for the gift shop. A little over two hours later and we were back in Campbell River, greeted with rain that made the departure rain feel like a mere shower!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Bob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Hi Bob,

Thanks so much taking the time to provide your feedback with us! I am thrilled to hear you had such a great trip -- very special to see the Pacific White Sided Dolphins! They are one my of favorites to see, so playful and exciting.

I agree with you, that while yes the rain can be a bit of a disappointment for us and our customers, we and the bears both are happy to see it! We do live in a rain forest after all, and everything thrives when we get it.

Thank you for choosing us for your Grizzly Bear Expedition. Hopefully we will see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018

On the 16th and 18th September 2018 my husband and I went on each of these tours. Both were outstanding with an excellent crew, comfortable boat and knowledgeable guides. On the whale watch tour we witnessed a spectacular Orca hunt of Pacific white sided Dolphins - it could have featured on a National Geographic programme it was so impressive. On the bear watching trip to Bute Inlet the First Nation guides were welcoming and very informative taking us to a number of sites where we witnessed at least 15 grizzly bears some at quite close quarters, but viewing safely from a viewing platform. Couldn't have asked for more!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Hi Kath,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! So glad to hear you two great trips! I have heard the whale watch you were on was a pretty spectacular one. Sounds like the grizzly tour was as well. 15 bears, wow!

Thank you for choosing us for your Whale and Grizzly watching trips. Hopefully we will see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018

We booked a trip for 18th September 2018. it started out rather damp and raining as we boarded the boat for the 2.5 hour trip to Bute Inlet. we left the boat and were met by some first nations people. we were taken by bus to a building for a safety briefing and small exhibition. Shortly after we got onto a bus and were taken to the first location where bears were expected to be. we were not disappointed as in the distance we could see a couple of mum's each with cubs. after about 40 minutes we drove to the next site. when we arrived there were no bears to be seen but within a few minutes several bears with cubs walked past only a few metres away.
A great day

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 155richard81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Hi Richard,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and taking the time to post a review. We always love to hear feedback from our guests. Sounds like an excellent day, despite the rain. It is always amazing to see the Grizzly's but I think its a little extra special to see a mum and her cubs!

Hopefully we will see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018

We booked a grizzly bear trip with discovery safaris for 1st September, which was they 1st trip of the year.The day was perfect with plenty of sunshine and the boat trip to Bute inlet was most enjoyable with beautiful scenery.We were meet at Bute inlet by the Homalco indians who were our guides on the trip. We were transported round in small coaches to find the bears, on the way round we saw one grizzly who was crossing a stream, we were allowed to leave the coach to take photos as the grizzly was a safe distance away.We then proceeded to a viewing tower where we were lucky enough to see another 7 bears ,playing in the water below the tower. a mother and her 2 cubs came very close to the tower and the 2 cubs stood up on their hind legs just in front of us. What a wonderful sight and i was lucky enough to great some marvelous photos of all the bears. MIchelle and Ruben were our guides along with capt. Al who had incredible knowledge of the bears and were very informative and made our trip even more special. The trip was worth every dollar we spent on it , and we will certainly do it again if we return to Canada

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Ray and Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Hi Jackie,

Thank you so much for the review! Isn't it just stunning in the Bute Inlet! We are so fortunate to have the Homalco First Nation as partners to be able to offer this spectacular tour in their territory. I am so glad to hear that you had such a great trip, and such great sightings, hopefully we will be able to welcome you on board again one day. Thank you for taking the time to share you time with us while in Canada, and writing your review. We always love to hear feedback from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018

This was the best experience we had during our trip to Vancouver Island. It was a great day. Saw many grizzlies, some very close. Excellent scenery.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Fearless466459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us, so glad to hear that you enjoyed it so much .It really is an amazing experience to see these Grizzlies up close and in person isn't it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews