We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Best medicine for the Covid tortured Soul and Spirit

After all that Covid lock down, I had the opportunity to go onto a whale watch. tour with Discovery... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
162detleff
Fantastic Day!!!

What a fabulous day!!! July 3rd, 2021. Humpbacks, sea lions, orcas.... Gorgeous scenery and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Diane S
via mobile
Read all 414 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Vancouver Island
from US$186.46
More Info
from US$207.21
More Info
from US$119.48
More Info
from US$127.18
More Info
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
367
32
7
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
367
32
7
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bald eagles salmon bear watching safety talk crew company boat orca sightings wildlife pod scenery knowledge cubs nation mother protection
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 414 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2018

During our 3 night stay in Campbell River we did 2 trips with Discovery Marine, on our first day was the full day grizzly bear trip. We took a 2h boat ride towards Bute Inlet, and on the way we saw 2 pods of orca and humpback whales. We were given lunch, tea, coffee and cookies on the way and when we arrived we were greeted by the Homalco First Nation. After a short introduction we were transported via bus to several different viewing platforms strategically located by the river and salmon spawning areas. We saw LOTS of grizzly bears, mums with cubs and bald eagles! I think we saw over 20 bears by the end of the trip, some very close, some in the distance. It was a truly unforgettable experience, and on the way back we saw even more humpback! The next day we joined the crew again for the whale watching trip. We followed a large pod of orca and saw 2 active humpback whales, breaching and slapping their pectoral fins! It was incredible to watch these majestic creatures in their national environment. The 2 days spend with Discovery Marine was definitely one of the highlights of our 3 week trip to Canada. In addition to the animals mentioned above we also saw lots more wildlife including porpoises, seals, sea lions, sea birds, dolphins and the huge salmon! All the staff and crew were very friendly and accommodating.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMS_Sarah, Marketing at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Thank you for sharing your adventure on Discovery Marine Safari's Ultimate Safari and for the great photos. We are thrilled that we were able to give you a truly unforgettable experience. Our 2019 season starts in May and the team can't wait to get back out on the water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

We where out on Sep. 24th and had a amazing time. We saw the Humpbacks play ing around, some eagles and I don’t know how many bears.

Everything was good organized.

The team was perfect; helpful, friendly and very informative.

I also liked the idea for food and coffee, they even had a gluten free snack prepared for me, which was very tasty.

Thanks for the good trip!

We will come back for a other tour somewhen.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Kyra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Hi Kyra,

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip so much and had some great sightings! We strive to make our guest experience as good as possible, and have a great team who works hard to make that a reality.

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Humpback whales, dolphins, porpoises, eagles, sea lions and seals, all in a 4 hour boat trip. Add to that the stunning backdrops and scenary also.
The boat was spacious, confortable, not overcrowded and easily accessible even for myself with limited mobility. The crew were very knowledgeable and informative, they made the trip a good learning experience to add to the visual experience.
A must if you're in the Campbell River area

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank iancQ7443ZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hi Ian,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us on your whale watching trip, and got to see so much as well!

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, hopefully we will see you again on board one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Captain Ted and Rueben were very knowledgeable and personable. We had a great afternoon. They made the trip fun and a great learning experience.
We saw Orcas and Humpbacks, turtles, sea lions, seals, and Bald eagles. A humpback whale came up right next to the boat, giving us all a shock!
We learned lots and laughed lots! What a great experience. Captain Ted explained the proper, mandated distance that the boats are to be away from the marine life. Ruben explained how he can tell which whale it was according to the markings, etc on their tails.
Thank you so much from the girls that stayed up top with you when it was raining! :)

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Bev4441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Hi Bev,

Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us, sounds like you had a great trip. I am glad to hear you enjoyed it so much and you felt it was an educational experience. We strive to always have our guests leave feeling like they learnt something new about the wildlife they encountered!

Thank you, hopefully we will see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

I'm not a huge fan of boats or deep water but I have always wanted to see whales up close. This was my birthday weekend and we did the tour with Captain Ted and Reuben. I lost count of how many whale sightings we had. There were humpback whales, killer whales, sea lions, eagles ... Reuben was so knowledgeable and Captain Ted was funny yet I felt safe which was GOOD!! We laughed so hard, was in complete awe so many times. The ocean was magnificent. Captain Ted found all the sweet spots for viewing and yet was very respectful of the marine life. Discovery Marine Safaris was an over the top amazing tour and definitely will go back next year!!
Hugs to you all!! The Alberta Girls!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Venture555105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TayaM32, Front Office Manager at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

I am so glad to hear you took a chance and pushed yourself to join us on board! Sounds like you had fantastic sighting, it is always a bonus to see both humpbacks and killer whales. Captain Ted and Ruben are such fantastic members of our team, skilled at what they do and always excited to be out on the water with our guests. We are very lucky to have them both as a part of our team!

Hopefully we do see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews