We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
A DAY I WILL NEVER FORGET

This should be on your bucket list. Wow! To see Grizzly Bears this close up, in their natural... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2021
dianebE4850WY
,
Spruce Grove
Amazing experience with Grizzly bears

From start to finish this was an amazing experience. Booking was easy and personable. Onboard... read more

Reviewed September 12, 2021
RobertBc
,
Chemainus, Canada
via mobile
Read all 422 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Vancouver Island
from US$237.79
More Info
from US$250.51
More Info
from US$130.82
More Info
from US$128.60
More Info
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
375
32
7
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
375
32
7
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain john grizzly bears whale watching humpback whales bute inlet pacific white sided dolphins salmon wealth of information their natural habitat spectacular scenery an incredible experience weather was perfect highly recommend this trip tour company bucket list bear viewing local history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 422 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2019 via mobile

We had a very good day visiting the grizzly bear reserve and were well taken care of. Operators offer transport and catering for the trip to the actual reserve (managed by owners of the reserve), and did this quite well.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank JWandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMS_Sarah, Marketing at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2019

Thank you JWandM, we appreciate your review and are pleased to know that you had a good day on one of our Grizzly bear Expeditions into Bute Inlet and the traditional territories of the Homalco First Nations. We are very proud of our crew and the Homalco First Nations Guides with whom we partner, they are all genuinely passionate about what they do and 100% committed to ensuring guests safety and positive experience viewing Grizzlies in the wild. Thank you for booking with us it was our pleasure having you on one of our tours and we hope to welcome you and or your family back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2019 via mobile

What a lovely family run company. We went with this tour organiser to Bute inlet to watch Grizzly Bears. It was well organised and our Captains Chris and Al were excellent. We were well looked after by the Homalco people too and saw a lot of bears in a lovely respectful environment. We were also lucky enough to see whales, sea lions and seals on the trip over. The food on the outward and return journeys was great too.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 442fionak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMS_Sarah, Marketing at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2019

442fionak, thank you for your review. It was our pleasure having you onboard participating in one of our Grizzly Expeditions to Bute Inlet. It's quite the experience isn't it to see Grizzly Bears in the wild. We are very fortunate with our dedicated crew and our Homalco First Nation Guides - they are all passionate about what they do and very respectful of the environment and will always ensure that we do disturb the natural behaviour of the bears or the whales and other marine wildlife that we quietly observe during our tours. Safe travels home and thank you for booking with us, I will certainly pass on your comment to Captain's Chris and Al. We hope to welcome you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2019 via mobile

Me and my wife went on the bear watching trip two days ago. We had been looking forward to this trip very much and it didn't disappoint. It was the most amazing day. It's a two hour boat trip each way to see the bears, the scenery is fantastic. The two guys on the boat, Ted and Al were great. Once we got there it was amazing experience, something we will never forget. The first bear we saw caught a big salmon right in front of us. We saw several more bears and the we saw a mother with two Cubs, it was fantastic. Would very highly recommend this trip .

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMS_Sarah, Marketing at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2019

Ricard C, thank you for your recommendation and review, we are thrilled to hear that your experience matched the build up of excitement and anticipation ahead of your tour. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking isn't it and I am confident in saying that our entire team would agree that there is nothing quite like seeing Grizzlies or in fact whales in the wild for the first time - it certainly is something none of us will ever forget! You were extremely lucky that your first sighting included a salmon being caught right in front of you and a mother with two cubs hopefully you were able to get some good photos from the safety of the viewing stand to help you remember the experience. Our Captains and Crew, like all the team are passionate about what they do and genuinely care about ensuring our guests have a fantastic experience - so I will share your kind comment with Ted and Al - thank you. Safe travels home, we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back one day. Thank you for booking with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2019 via mobile

We had a great whale watching trip seeing both humpbacks and orcas. Our captain was very friendly and knowledgable. The boat was comfortable and spacious.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank paz752451
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMS_Sarah, Marketing at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2019

Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience paz752451. It certainly sounds like you were fortunate with your sightings of both humpbacks and orcas. The orca we see in our area are predominantly mammal eating killer whales as I am sure your Captain explained, are often in the area hunting but are more stealth like than the fish eating Northern Residents and therefore not always easy to find. But we have been very fortunate with our sightings this year of Orcas and the majestic giant Humpbacks. It's good to know you found our boat comfortable and spacious as our guests comfort and enjoyment is second only to your safety. Thank you for booking with us and we hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2019

Took a full-day tour to see Grizzlies and had an amazing time. Friendly and professional front-end staff, knowledgeable and passionate boat crew made for an unforgettable day.

We were lucky enough to see a few Grizzlies - such a privilege to see them in the wild catching and eating salmon, and Captain John even made time for us to stop and see some humpbacks on the boat ride there!

Lunch provided and hot drinks and snacks were a really nice touch too - thank you to naturalist Ed for looking after us!

Thank you Discovery Marine Safaris, we hope to be back in the future!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMS_Sarah, Marketing at Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2019

Thank you Ashley H, we are thrilled that you had an amazing day out on your Grizzly Bear Expedition. There is nothing quite like seeing Grizzly Bears in the wild is there? it certainly is a privilege to observe their natural behaviour and to watch them catching and eating salmon as they fatten up for the winter months - did you know that they can eat up to 90lbs of food each day! Captain John and Ted are a great team and like all our crew will work hard to ensure that your experience is the best possible. We are all passionate about the Grizzlies and marine wildlife that we are so fortunate to have in our area - and will try to make sure whenever possible that our guests experience the opportunity to quietly observe these beautiful creatures while on one of our tours. Thank you for booking with us, we too hope to welcome you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews