We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Review Highlights
Fabulous!

I have already reviewed the company we went on our grizzly bear watching trip with and gave them... read more

Reviewed December 5, 2018
JanL2105
,
Hockley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Grizzly Bear spotting

We took this tour on a very wet day with poor visibility and were worried we wouldn’t see any... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
Christine M
,
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 55 reviews
  
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
54
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orford river bears feeding on salmon grizzly bear viewing their natural habitat native tongue boat trip safety briefing first nations bear tour two hours amazing tour great viewing thank you so much an amazing experience salmon run eagle eye discovery marine
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 55 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We took this tour on a very wet day with poor visibility and were worried we wouldn’t see any bears. Our fears were soon allayed as in the two hours we were on this tour we were very fortunate to see 13 grizzlies. Such a surreal experience being so close to them in their own ‘back yard’. They were catching and eating salmon to fatten up before they hibernate for the winter. There were two mothers, one with one cub and another with two cubs that were so cute. The experts were so helpful answering all our questions, certainly a trip I will never forget.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPO133, General Manager at Homalco Wildlife & Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Christine, isn't it wonderful how even on a wet day in Orford the experience is sublime? Thank you for your comments and joining us in Orford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018

This tour was just plain awe inspiring. It takes a couple of hours on a boat from Campbell River, with magnificent scenery all the way. We saw a pod of orcas and some dolphins. The boat crew bent over backwards to take care of us with hot coffee and sandwiches and local information. Upon arrival, we went to a viewing stand, guided and driven by Homalco tribal members who know everything about the area and bears. From the viewing stand we saw three sows, each with two or three cubs. One lingered with her cub in the water directly about 20 feet below us for a long time, catching salmon while the cub grunted and howled to be fed, and finally was. Awesome doesn't begin to cover it. There is also a small tribal museum and, of course, a gift shop. This is a magnificent way to spend the afternoon for people of all ages.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sungron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPO133, General Manager at Homalco Wildlife & Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Thank you for joining us and your wonderful review. Your comments about the magnificent scenery enroute from Campbell River are so true! We hope you'll join us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018

I’ve been very fortunate to be on this tour several times and not only has it never disappointed, each time has been different. The hosts are always kind and generous. The best advice was on today’s trip - be patient.

You never know what the bears may do. Be ready with your camera.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank darrenb320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPO133, General Manager at Homalco Wildlife & Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Darren, you are always welcome in Orford! Thank you for your comments and for sharing those fantastic photos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic wildlife tour. We saw whales on the boat trip in and back, and non stop bears from the very moment our boat arrived, until it left. Well hosted, and very safety conscious leaders.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank hohepa56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPO133, General Manager at Homalco Wildlife & Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Thank you for your comments and for sharing the photos...love the one of the mama and cubs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Absolutely first rate! This was my second trip into Bute Inlet to the Homalco lands. Our tour guides were excellent.We saw 26 bears on our trip. At one time there were three sows, with their respective cubs together at the same place. Simply amazing.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank viking_princess007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chyanne T, Tourism Coordinator at Homalco Wildlife & Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

We're happy to hear your second trip to Orford was amazing! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with Homalco Wildlife Tours and our wonderful guides. Hope to see you out again for a possible third trip! Emote (It is good).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews