We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Homalco Wildlife & Cultural Tours
from US$157.43
More Info
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
171
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day tour boat driver culture janet stories bear wildlife eagles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 174 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2021

One fine day with the fine folks at HOMALCO. Fine vessel, comfy inside and out, just the right amount of salty spray, and first rate guide and captain. Homalco made the sea and forests come alive. Our Native captain shared the story of his people and his own experience growing up on the Salish Sea. Our guide was compelling, informative, and showed all of us a fine time. The vessel was large enough to handle the chop, and the the party was small enough so we could see whatever popped up on port or starboard. Even the humpbacked whales cooperated. And the Homalco folks conserve the treasures they have to offer. Highly recommend if you are looking for quality presentations, up-close moments, unparalleled scenery and wildlife-viewing adventure. Sign up with enthusiasm and confidence!

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank FirenzeJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomalcoTours, Lead Naturalist at Homalco Wildlife & Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2021

Hi Jim, thank you so much for your kind review!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your Whales, Wildlife and Culture tour. Our specialized landing craft style vessels are definitely a crowd-pleaser and we are pleased that you found them comfy inside and out, large enough for a comfortable ride and small enough for good viewing.

It's wonderful to hear that you thought the crew was first-rate! Our Guides and Captains are passionate about Homalco culture and history as well as the water, land and wildlife that we visit on our trips. It's lovely to hear that their passion came through to provide compelling, informative and enjoyable presentations on the wildlife, scenery and on their personal experiences on the Salish Sea.

Thank you again for your review and for recommending us. We hope to see you again in the future! I:mote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2021

Fantastic day with lots of wildlife in addition to the grizzly as well as some of the best west coast scenery. Guides Holly and Jared were great at sharing both their knowledge and entertaining stories. The boat was excellent and made the trip enjoyable even during the rain showers. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank gmU1330OQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomalcoTours, Lead Naturalist at Homalco Wildlife & Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2021

Thank you for your review! It's so good to hear that you had a fantastic day on your Great Bears of Bute tour and that you saw Grizzlies, beautiful scenery and lots of other wildlife! Thanks for letting us know also that you liked our boat, Klohoy, as well as our guides. I:mote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this entire day. All the staff were very friendly, welcoming and knowledgable. Respect for the wildlife and the land was evident in every aspect of the tour. On the boat ride we learned some of the history and language of the Homalco people and I particularly enjoyed the cultural stories. The scenery was stunning and despite the high river we saw several Grizzlies, plenty of Eagles and sea birds. On the water we were fortunate to see Sea Lions. I definitely recommend this tour.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank R8839KAannetteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomalcoTours, Lead Naturalist at Homalco Wildlife & Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2021

Hi Annette, thank you very much for your review. It is wonderful to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your Great Bears of Bute tour! A core aspect of the way we run our tours is with respect for wildlife and the environment in mind. It's great that it came across in the way we run the tours. Sounds like there was a lot of wildlife around that day too! Thank you for recommending us as well! I:mote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2021

No hesitation in giving Homalco all 5 stars. We couldn’t be more happy with our tour. We saw all the west coast things. Beautiful seas, tall mountains, Homalco Culture and historic locations, humpback whales, orcas, seals, sealions, eagles, and of course the great grizzly bears of Bute. The guides, Holy and JJ, were awesome. Knowledgeable and personable. The boat captain Flavian was confident and skilled. Flavian also shared about his life in Church House. It was a really great day. If your looking for this type of tour ….look no further. This is the one you should do.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank 874raidab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomalcoTours, Lead Naturalist at Homalco Wildlife & Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2021

HI Raida, thank you so much for your glowing review! Sounds like you really did see ALL the things! It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your Great Bears of Bute tour! We are really proud of our crew and we're really happy to hear that you liked them too. Thank you again for sharing your experience and for letting us know that you had a really great day! I:mote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2021

A most enjoyable day--couldn't have been better. Beautiful scenery with scattered cloud in the early morning as we cruised the inlet--typical west coast . The sun broke through before we disembarked and most passengers spent time on the outer deck. The boat was comfortable and the cruise smooth.

The skipper and guides were most knowledgeable about indigenous culture, the land and the sea as well as the animals. We saw bears at all three stops and the bonus was seeing sea lions and orcas on our way back.

Waterfalls and rapids were an addition I didn't expect.

I have no hesitation in recommending Homalco Tours.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank emilywB7442RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomalcoTours, Lead Naturalist at Homalco Wildlife & Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2021

Hi Emily, thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful day on your Great Bears of Bute tour. It is wonderful as well that you enjoyed the boat and found the crew knowledgeable. Sounds like there was an abundance of marine wildlife in addition to the bears! We love showing off the beauty of the Homalco traditional territory, so it's great that you enjoyed the scenery, rapids and waterfalls! Thank you again for sharing your experience and for recommending us! I:mote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews