We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and humane environment IMO”

Greater Vancouver Zoo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open year round and located only 45 minutes from Vancouver, Step Into The Wild at the largest zoo in BC! Discover the sights and sounds of over 140 species on 120 acres in the beautiful Fraser Valley! Experience the Zoo your way by bringing your own wagons, roller blades, bikes, skateboards, and picnic lunches. The playground and large picnic areas are great for birthdays, company BBQ's, group events or family picnics. In the summer, spend a Night In The Wild as you camp overnight inside the Zoo, and be sure to sign up for one of our popular Junior Zoologist Day Camps! Since 1970, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is focused on education and conservation.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We attended, two adults and a toddler and had a lovely morning exploring this beautiful park. There is an impressive number of animals here and their habitats are generous and allow for solitude for the animals if they wish to remain unseen.

Thank Ursula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit at our facility. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bring your own"
in 12 reviews
"lion feeding"
in 16 reviews
"grizzly bear"
in 16 reviews
"science world"
in 5 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 12 reviews
"lots of space"
in 5 reviews
"large enclosures"
in 10 reviews
"red panda"
in 6 reviews
"picnic tables"
in 6 reviews
"radical raptors"
in 6 reviews
"grandchildren"
in 12 reviews
"angela"
in 6 reviews
"membership"
in 10 reviews
"wagon"
in 5 reviews
"stroller"
in 10 reviews
"rescue"
in 5 reviews
Filter

40 - 44 of 459 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2017

The zoo is not well kept and the animals look very sad and barely move. And for $25 per adult it is definitely not worth it. There were more kids playing at the park than looking at the animals b/c there's nothing to see.

Do not support this place. They need to shut it down!

1  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about our facility and our animals.

As opposed to other zoos The Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely on admission rates to operate the Zoo on a year round basis. This includes everything from animal health care, food, electricity to heat the barns, and programs offered. We are located in a rural area to provide our animals with a larger space and more natural setting also allowing us to provide larger enclosures.

The Greater Vancouver Zoo is CAZA (Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums) accredited. The accreditation process takes place every five years where we go through a very comprehensive application submission, followed by a review from the CAZA Accreditation Committee Board, and then a team of inspectors is selected from this committee for a 3.5 day on-site inspection. They inspect all aspects of zoo operations including animal health care, exhibits, husbandry of all our animals, educational programs, safety/security, guest services, conservation, research, staff training programs, finance and physical facilities. educational programs, safety/security, guest services, conservation, research, staff training programs, finance and physical facilities.

Thanks again for the review and we hope you'll consider visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017

My son didn't really enjoy the exhibit. He is very sensitive and usually loves animals. I am lead to believe the animals are entirely not happy! Lots of pacing and sitting in the sun... exhausted of the cage life? They did not appear like they were basking in the sun joyfully, lets say that. I spent $80 for 2 adults, a child and some train tickets and I wanted to get my moneys worth! I believe they need to reinvest in the the property and take steps to ensure animal's livelihood is still attained. The gift shop is truly disappointing.

We arrived at 10 and left at 1 (I did get a good number of steps in though!). There was not much else to do, so we chose not wait for our non-refundable train ride at 1:30. My son's favorite part was the park.

Thank Eyvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about our facility and our animals.

The Greater Vancouver Zoo is CAZA (Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums) accredited. The accreditation process takes place every five years where we go through a very comprehensive application submission, followed by a review from the CAZA Accreditation Committee Board, and then a team of inspectors is selected from this committee for a 3.5 day on-site inspection. They inspect all aspects of zoo operations including animal health care, exhibits, husbandry of all our animals, educational programs, safety/security, guest services, conservation, research, staff training programs, finance and physical facilities. educational programs, safety/security, guest services, conservation, research, staff training programs, finance and physical facilities.
As opposed to other zoos The Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely on admission rates to operate the Zoo on a year round basis. This includes everything from animal health care, food, electricity to heat the barns, and programs offered. We are located in a rural area to provide our animals with a larger space and more natural setting also allowing us to provide larger enclosures.

Thanks again for the review and we hope you'll consider visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

We decided to do something different from our usual Sunday Drive to White Rock. So we decided to head out to the Zoo and after driving from downtown Vancouver we were very unsatisfied as The entire zoo is run down with very limited number of exhibits.

Even though the zoo had a considerably smaller selection of animals & exhibits like in other zoos the entry price is the same or in some cases more.

I would not recommend this Zoo as an outing for anyone a total waste of time and money.

1  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about our facility and our animals.

The Greater Vancouver Zoo is CAZA (Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums) accredited. The accreditation process takes place every five years where we go through a very comprehensive application submission, followed by a review from the CAZA Accreditation Committee Board, and then a team of inspectors is selected from this committee for a 3.5 day on-site inspection. They inspect all aspects of zoo operations including animal health care, exhibits, husbandry of all our animals, educational programs, safety/security, guest services, conservation, research, staff training programs, finance and physical facilities. educational programs, safety/security, guest services, conservation, research, staff training programs, finance and physical facilities.
As opposed to other zoos The Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely on admission rates to operate the Zoo on a year round basis. This includes everything from animal health care, food, electricity to heat the barns, and programs offered. We are located in a rural area to provide our animals with a larger space and more natural setting also allowing us to provide larger enclosures.

Unlike many other Zoo’s, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely solely on admission rates to operate the Zoo year round. The Zoo is home to over 140 species on 120 acres. The size of our facility allows us to provide our animals with larger enclosures. At first glance some enclosures may appear empty, however it just requires a bit more time to search for the animal.
Animal health and welfare is our number 1 priority however we are very excited to let you know that we are currently planning extensive renovations to our facility and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again for the review and we hope you'll consider visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

I struggle seeing animals in captivity but it was interesting for the kids to see some wildlife they will likely not see in the mountains. The one negative thing I would say is this is another spot in our driving trip that had no plan for a family pet. In fact they were very critical that we had a dog with us on our trip. Quite ironic to me that the lady at the desk gave me a hard time for leaving our dog in the back of our pickup truck parked in the shade, with cold water and food with all the windows open while there entire business was animals locked up with food and water and a bit of shade.

1  Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We are happy to hear that your children had a good visit.

Our facility is home to over 140 species on 120 acres. We only house animals that were born in captivity, former pets, surrendered animals, rescued or that come from different facilities. Animal health and welfare is our highest priority. All of our animals have unlimited access to their barns in order to provide relief from our weather conditions; whether it be summer, or winter conditions.

As we are a CAZA (Canada's Accredited Zoos and Aquariums) accredited facility, we adhere to the strictest standards of animal welfare in all of Canada.

Due to the severity of the heat within enclosed vehicles it is our responsibility, if we are informed by guests of animals being left in a vehicle during the warm summer months we address the concern. We are currently working on ways to address this concern with kennels that can provide temporary pet day care during your visit. However, it is a long process and we are actively working towards a solution.

Thanks again for the review and we hope you'll consider visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greater Vancouver Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Greater Vancouver Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing