We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect girls' getaway weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
2 reviews
“Perfect girls' getaway weekend”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Just got home yesterday after having spent 2 nights in "The Chancel" with my mom, sisters and sister in law. It is the perfect little cottage for a girls weekend. The "cottage" is very prettily decorated, quaint and cozy and painted with lovely warm colors. Even though the kitchen is a little small, we were able to sit 5 of us at the table for 2 evening dinners. The kitchen is stocked with pretty much everything you need! There is a 2-sided fireplace between the two sitting areas where one room houses a murphy bed, and the other a pull-out sofa bed. The bathroom has a nice corner jacuzzi tub, and a wonderful red heat lamp in the ceiling, which is really appreciated! We thoroughly enjoyed having the back cemented patio and grassy area (complete with fire pit and an ample supply of firewood) all to ourselves, as well as use of a BBQ. We also took advantage of their spa, and had massages, scrubs and pedicures. All of us were very pleased with our treatments! The hosts, Patrice and Zeke were absolutely wonderful, and very gracious hosts. Friendly, helpful and easy and interesting to visit with. And I couldn't "leave" without saying that Zeke makes the BEST fruit-stuffed french toast we have EVER had. We think the best in Canada, but he's happy with the best in Alberta. We were able to see 3 of the other rooms at the Inn and Spa, and they also looked very cozy, comfortable and pretty. We will be coming back to Drumheller for another girls' weekend at some point in the future, and will definitely be staying in the Chancel cottage again. Would highly recommend it for 2 or 3 couples, or a group of women like we did!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmonton26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    53
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
52
169
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Upon arrival, I was given an upgraded room from the one that was booked. I was then treated to a massage that was pleasantly more of a therapeutic massage than I was expecting. The spa treatments melted my stress away and then the Jacuzzi tub in my room finished me off. The Inn has a very homey, warm and friendly atmosphere with all the authentic creaks of a 100 year old house. The antique furnishings polish off the look wonderfully.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaSpalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2010

The service was excellent - not overbearing nor lacking. We thoroughly enjoyed our room in the Upper Turret, the king sized bed was comfortable, and the jacuzzi tub was well used by us! The Inn was close to everything in town and nearby a wonderful little coffee shop called the Cafe Ole. We enjoyed the romance package which is offered by the inn. it was discreet, and well presented. Worth the extra money. The only thing that was disappointing in our spa package was the massage itself as you could hear everything that was going on throughout the inn, and the gentleman didn't seem to really know what he was doing. But the rest of the spa package was very nice. I would highly recommend anyone to book a relaxing weekend there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank findingromance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

This inn seems to advertise everywhere possible,,,maybe they should save some of their advertising dollars and upgrade the inn. Stayed here on way through Drumheller for business last year and then came this year for a spa treatment. The massage was great,,,,,but the inn seems cluttered, could use some updates and better lighting. If first impressions are what is important they missed it,,,,,came in Feb and the main door of the inn was still wrapped in wrapping paper from Christmas, as well as Christmas tablecloths still on the table...... There was a young girl cleaning some of the rooms and our party was sitting in the sitting area in the fireplace room. Off the fireplace room is a deck ...it was filled with garbage bags that the young girl would walk past us and throw out the door. Yikes! This may be a case of too many rooms and not enough energy to keep up with offering a great boutique inn?? Its all in the details and this inn is lacking...sorry
Don't forget you are not staying at a BnB, so your breakfast will cost you extra. Luncheon menu that was described to our group and what we actually got was not the same. Little expensive, but the small serving of soup was good.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2010
Thank you for your review. We were caught short staffed that weekend and I apologize for the clutter. The winter months unfortunately are the only time we can do our 'projects' of painting, reno's and improvements and we have had rooms under construction for the past month or so. Which is why our rates are reduced. By the end of March I promise the Inn will be better than ever! We would like to take this opportunity to have you and your group back for another lunch and a tour of the hotel - no charge. I am positive you will be thrilled with the food, the portions and the entire hotel. Best regards, Patrice Wolf Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We were on our honeymoon actually in 2006 but it was a great B&B we stayed in a room below ground level and for us it was pretty cool, the bed was amazing. we had own shower/spa and toliet. Perfect

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmsy1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We had a wonderful weekend starting Friday with the surprise of the beautiful rooms and yard area, then off to the spa treatments for all 4 of us which was a very good way to start !!!. Friday evening Zeke had arranged for the local greek restaurant to take care of us, and that they did, it was so fun and just like the food we had in Greece. We spent the next day sight seeing and found so much to do we couldn't possibly get it all in! We attended the Rose bud theater that evening and really enjoyed ourselves. Each morning Zeke prepared a fantastic breakfast for us and I think he is right about it being the best French toast in the country, sooooo good . Sunday we Golfed 18 at one of the most senic and unique golfcourses anywhere. Zeke came along and helped each of us with our swing and what ever else needed work, He was so patient and such a good teacher. We had a wonderful day and all improved our game a great deal, I think I even like golf now lol . I cannot say enough about the hospitality and the wonderful experience we had there we will definitly be back and will tell all of our friends about it thanks so much again .TW

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pzwolfDrumheller, owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 1 November 2009
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. October is the perfect time to come because we are not as busy and Zeke is able to sneak away to the golf course! Thank you for the awesome review. We hope to see you again in the spring for a little more golf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Every year me, my sisters and mom plan a weekend get away just for us. This year we ended up at the Inn and a total spa day. We felt welcome right off the bat. Zeke made the most delicious breakfast and even though we made our own breakfast the next morning he still had a small treat for us when we came to check out. The massage and pedicures we received were very high quality and made the entire weekend that much more relaxing. Thanks again Zeke and Patrice you will definitely be seeing us again!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elemental W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
0.4 km away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
1.0 km away
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
0.3 km away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
1.1 km away
Travelodge Drumheller AB
Travelodge Drumheller AB
#9 of 9 in Drumheller
357 reviews
0.3 km away
Super 8 Drumheller
Super 8 Drumheller
#3 of 9 in Drumheller
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartwood Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartwood Inn and Spa

Property: Heartwood Inn and Spa
Address: 320 Railway Ave E, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartwood Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Heartwood Inn and Spa, Drumheller, the heart of the Canadian Badlands; home to the Royal Tyrrell - the finest dinosaur/fossil museum in Canada. Our rooms (some kid and pet-friendly) are luxuriously appointed and all have private en-suite bathrooms. For a romantic getaway imagine double-sized jetted tub, bubble bath, fireplace, chocolates and champagne. The Heartwood has two guest houses for families or groups: the Chancel with three beds, full kitchen, big back yard and bathroom with jetted tub. Our completely equipped Vacation Bungalow (located just across the street from the hotel), has a large yard, off-street parking, firepit and barbeque. Make the Heartwood Inn and Spa your choice for those special occasions - small weddings, anniversary parties, corporate retreats, family reunions, Spa Getaways and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heartwood Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartwood Inn And Spa Drumheller, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing