We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Derbyshire with sunshine”
other travellers have booked this property
Cherry cottage exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior Cherry cottage exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage veranda
Kitchen &  Living room
Kitchen &  Living room
Kitchen &  Living room
Bedroom
Cherry cottage bedroom
Bathroom
Cherry cottage bathroom
sunset views
cherry cottage sunset view
surrounded by beautiful countryside
Gardens
Gardens
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cherence-Le-Roussel, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Yowsertow...
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Derbyshire with sunshine”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As we approached Le Champ Sous le Bois Cherry Cottage we knew we had booked the perfect place in the most idyllic setting. This was just like being in Derbyshire with sun.

Cherry Cottage is exactly as the pictures portray and we wholeheartedly support and echo what all the other reviewers have said as Lance and Kim are indeed two very special people with two very special dogs. They are so passionate about the peaceful Hamlet that they have restored to such a high standard, this place has been built with pure guts,sweat and determination and they have every right to be proud, it's fabulous.

Lazy mornings breakfasting on local breads, coffee and Kim's home made preserves in the garden and cosy evenings on the comfy sofa on the star twinkling veranda over looking the lake watching the sun set with a glass of wine are memories that will stay with us forever.

Sourdeval is less than 10mins away in the car where there are at least 3 small supermarkets (the one on the square is open till 7pm ) I think we counted 5 boulangeres . The Artisan Boulangere in the square was excellent and even opens on Sunday morning for a couple of hours . There are also a few places to eat in Sourdeval.

For information - there is a pizza restaurant and a Boulangere in Cherance de la Roussel which is less than 5 min drive away

We took our bikes with us and made great use of the redundant railway tracks that have been used since 1992 by walkers and cyclists. We cycled on there to Vire one day and to Lake Dathee another this is a must (take a picnic)

Nothing was too much trouble. Lance was full of recommendations on where to go and where to eat. I could go on...

We have made two (4) new lovely friends and look forward to returning next year to see more of beautiful Normandy AND for a cook off....Lance's Indian v Wendy's Thai. Watch this space

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaffney99
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Cherry Cottage is a fantastic tranquil location for a couple or young family seeking to get away from it all. We stayed here with our 15 month old daughter & she loved the dogs, the sheep, the fish. There a number of nice places to head for day trips within a reasonable drive of the cottage & Lance & Kim are really friendly & engaged hosts.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It was ideally placed, an extremely friendly welcome and the peace and quite
Liked least: The cool wind on the first few days.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MFloyd15
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“How you gonna keep 'em in Paree, after seeing the farm?”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Storybook cottage, set in rolling green hills, with forests and farmland surrounding. Timeless French architecture, restored with all the modern touches to make your stay comfortable. Close to quaint villages, markets, iconic historic sights, and memorials to the battle for France in WW II. Wonderful outgoing hospitality from the friendliest hosts you"ll ever meet. Incredibly relaxing, especially after the frenetic pace of Paris.
Come and see, you'll be glad you did!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners.
Liked least: Our time was too short.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC, USA
Reviewed March 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Poole
Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Staffordshire
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing