We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, peaceful Suffolk retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cornhouse Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A double and single bed are in the comfy blue room The beamed lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
A double and single bed are in the comfy blue room
The beamed lounge
Fully equipped kitchen
We love our spiral staircase!
The patio - ideal for having a BBQ!
Not a house in sight!
Enjoy a bounce on the trampoline!
You will find the kitchen stocked with some goodies
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Eye, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marmitefo...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful Suffolk retreat”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Charmaine and Robert's lovely farm over the half term break with my 96 year old father-in-law and found it to be well equipped, very comfortable and spacious. It is well located for day trips to the coast or to local towns. We were on a short break and visited Southwold and Aldburgh for a day, which was great.

The farm is set in a quiet location, yet close to everything you may need at Stradbroke, including the Ivy House Pub, whose home cooked food we very much enjoyed one evening. The local Spar is well stocked for self-catering.

Charmaine provided homemade cakes, milk, a homemade loaf, cereals, eggs, tea, sugar and coffee, which made it feel more like a B&B than self catering! They also came up trumps with an external connection for our electric car, which meant that we were able to recharge overnight. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and we can highly recommend staying at Cornhouse Cottage if you enjoy hearing the birds, seeing rare wildlife and chilling out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful environment.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words, Jo, it was a pleasure to meet you, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleMis...
Southampton
1 review
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This cottage afforded us a comfortable base for visiting family in Suffolk. The owners were very friendly, and the freshly baked bread, cakes and other provisions were gratefully received! The setting was peaceful and the cottage itself had everything we needed, including character.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to have you as neighbours!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
Cromer, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful accommodation”
Reviewed November 10, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Very enjoyable stay at Cornhouse cottage,
Lovely homely accommodation stocked up with lots of goodies (the cakes were delicious!)
Charmaine and Robert were nearby if we needed anything .
Although it was a working farm it was very quiet and very peaceful.
The accommodation is situated within easy reach of Diss, Southwold (our favourite),Snape Bury st Edmunds and also several National trust properties and reserves.
After a day out it was lovely to return to the cosy cottage.
We enjoyed it so much we hope to return in 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cakes ! And the comfortable beds
Liked least: The wi fi was very limited. Would have like a bed guard on the single bed, as predicted my 8year old son rolled out of bed!! No harm done though !!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angielu50
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Myself, my husband and two adult daughters enjoyed a short stay in this very well-equipped and comfortable cottage. We loved the old beams and decor and immediately felt at home. Charmaine and Robert gave us a very warm welcome and it was an added bonus to have some basics provided (eggs, millk, butter) as well as freshly baked rolls and rice crispie squares! The cottage is adjacent to the farmhouse in a very peaceful location. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfie B
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the perfect place for relaxation. Just the birds singing in the trees. The cottage is spacious and very comfortable and very well equipped. Charmaine welcomed us with fresh baked bread and biscuits, milk, eggs and homemade jam amongst other things that would start off your break with an immediate snack should you need one. The cottage is perfectly placed for touring the area and only a short walk to the village and the choice of 3 pubs, we chose to eat in the Ivy House and would recommend it. The cottage is right next to to farm house but you feel quite secluded but with the knowledge and assurance that Charmaine and Robert are just next door if you should need anything at all. It is on a working farm but it was so quiet here you would not know it and you are welcome to have a wander around. We can not rate this property highly enough. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithCal
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High standard accomodation, at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned home after spending 6 very enjoyable nights at Cornhouse Cottage.

It sits next door to the farmhouse on a working farm, but there is no noise save for the birds
singing.

The cottage is a converted barn spread out over two floors with loads of oak beams and a spiral staircase.

It was very clean, warm and so well equipped in all rooms.

Charmaine and Robert were lovely hosts, we wanted for nothing and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil idyllic location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing