We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Redefining the word "Hospitality"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camomile Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camomile Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Eye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Redefining the word "Hospitality"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

There are no word combinations that can explain how I feel about this place.

Usually we stay in cities and in chain hotels. I now know what we’ve been missing. I’ve never felt so welcome anywhere I have stayed.

We stayed for two nights in mid July 2011 with some family renting the other room; this meant that we had the whole place to ourselves.

The whole cottage oozes character and comfort, none more so than Aly. A welcome with as much coffee as you can drink and the deepest most delicious cake I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting!

We stayed in the Elm room, which has the wonkiest floor I’ve seen. (you lay in bed and the other end of the floor is higher than you are, but at least its downhill to bed at the end of the day). Inside the cupboard is some very old wallpaper and the bathroom is great too (watch out for the top of the doorway, ouch!). Our family stayed in the other room (Oak), which is just as nice but totally different.

There is something great about being in the middle of nowhere, no mobile signal and waking up hearing what you can only describe as ‘nothing’. It’s the small touches that make this cottage so special. You don’t get tea and coffee in your room – Aly knocks on the door at your chosen time with a soft “good morning”. Nothing has been overlooked, and whilst other places might scrimp on quality of some items such as crockery or bed sheets – this is not the case here everything is beautiful.

The lounge area is homely and fabulous, with books, guides, a fascinating collection of lovely ‘things’, a log burner and even a photo album of refurbishing the cottage. There is also a TV, but why you’d want to watch it, I don’t know. There is a log burner too, and we’re determined to come back in the winter to use it (hopefully get snowed in, too)

The kitchen is open for you to use. There’s tea (special teas too), coffee etc.

The breakfast is unimaginable – the effort that Tim and Aly run to for up to four people is phenomenal and the quality of what is put out is just beautiful (‘finest’ yoghurts and fresh, de-stalked berries). The breakfast table is in another beautiful room and is always set the night before. As you’d expect of Aly, it’s exacting and thoughtful. We started moving things late at night, giggling like children and turning bowls round etc – but she knows and it’s corrected before you come down!

The breakfast is the best breakfast I think I have ever had anywhere, which is also served up with another massive dose of warm hospitality. I’ve tried to match their eggs benedict at home, but just can’t.

This isn’t just a bed and breakfast. Tim and Aly are a captivating, interesting, warm and welcoming couple. It felt like meeting old friends and it’s impossible to be a guest in their home without feeling special and relaxed.

Room Tip: They are both beautiful. You might want to bring some socks with grips on if you stay in the Elm ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
64
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

This is a belated review as I have only just got into the swing of doing these reviews. We stayed for three nights in late August. A genuinely warm welcome from Aly along with tea and scrumptious cake and biscuits set us up for a great few days in this quirky and very comfortable cottage. We loved the bedrooms with their careful attention to style and comfort and I think we are the only couple to have used both rooms in the same visit. Breakfasts were first class and I think we worked our way through most of the options–all excellent. Aly and Tim are genuine and really helpful hosts with good recommendations on where to eat and visit. Tim is an artist/designer and we bought two pieces of his work which serve as momentoes of a wonderful break at Camomile Cottage.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

A beautiful B&B with bags of character. In our opinion this was a five star B&B with fantastic service. A great place to relax and enjoy rural England

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl_Jago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wickham bishops essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Well once again,it gets better and we dont want to leave,Tim bless had to go out early to get Granary bread as he got the wrong one, but nothing is to much for him,Aly cooked a great breakfast.
The room smelt so so nice the bed was to die for and Red roses for Valentines all these things are so magical that makes this the best B&B ever.
We sat by the log fire till wevwere frazzled,drank and totally chilled so relaxed ready for bed at 10.
Tim & Aly are so nice they will always have a story to tell if you want or will leave you if you would rather be left.
we always stay in the Oak room but we looked at the barn and it is a credit to them,so we may try that in the summer.
Once again fab,brilliant your B&B and much much more.
Karen & MIck x

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ireland02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Great Great Great
Well worth a visit as a lovely B&B with a warm and friendly feel. Both Aly and Tim are both lovely and helpful hosts. Upon booking the room Aly booked a meal at a local restaurant and then ordered a local taxi to pick us up and return to collect us at request. The overall experience is defiantly worth a visit as the rooms are very clean and tidy and the sitting room with a real log burner is a great effect which warms not only the room but the hole cottage, If you’re going my recommendation is to book with another couple for a couple of nights making full use of the cottage and we will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

A well renovated listed 16th Century Suffolk Long House with CHARM by the bucket. Lovely timbered lounge to relax with log burner and comfy sofas.The bedroom was beautifully appointed, comfy bed with fine cotton linens. Very quiet location. Good shower. Great art by the owner.

Lots of information on surroundings and well located to see inland as well as coastal Suffolk. Great pubs nearby. It was our first time in Suffolk and we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay exploring many villages both inland and on the coast. including Southwold, Aldeburgh, Snape Maltings and Orford. Close to Norfolk border so a trip up to the broads was easily done.

We found the hosts most delightful, super breakfasts to set you up for the day and such a relaxed atmosphere

. If all Bed and Breakfasts were like this you'd never stay in a hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank houghers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Camomile Cottage, each visit is as excellent as the last. It has now become a yearly birthday treat ! Which also gives us a great chance to visit Black Thorpe Barn to do all our Xmas shopping. On this visit a couple of friends came with us, they were both very impressed with the cottage, and with the warm welcome we all received from Ally &Tim. The pot of tea, coffee and homemade cake were much appreciated, Tim and Ally are very good hosts, who go out of their way to assist you with restaurant bookings, taxis, and directions.

The breakfast is excellent, there is a large selection to choose from, but with the Full English provided you would be very pushed to eat anything else. All the ingredients in the cooked breakfast are of the highest quality and the breakfast is delicious.

The accomodation is very tastefully decorated, very homely & comfy with a large log burner (and underfloor heating) which makes the cottage warm and cosy. Beds are very comfortable with the highest quality cotton bedding (i'm fussy with my bedding) Our room was a tad too warm for us, but not a problem as turned rad off, and was perfect. The fresh flowers and chocolates are a very nice touch. We both really appreciate the morning cup of tea that Ally brings up and leaves outside your room.

Camomile Cottage is like home from home to us now - and we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warrior24Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eye
1.4 km away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Brome Grange Hotel
5.4 km away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Thornham Hall
Thornham Hall
#2 of 4 in Eye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.7 km away
The Auberge
The Auberge
#1 of 1 in Yaxley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camomile Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camomile Cottage

Property: Camomile Cottage
Address: Camomile Cottage Langton Green Brome Avenue | Eye, Eye IP23 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Eye
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Eye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alastair Sawday's Best Newcomer Winner 2013/14.Sunday Times Ultimate 100 British Hotels Award 2013.Situated in the heart of East Anglia with easy access to Lavenham, Southwold, Cambridge and Norwich. Awarded 4 Star Silver by the Tourist Board we provide a private luxury B&B experience in the beautiful Suffolk countryside. A maximum of only 4 guests at any time ensures your comfort is our first aim. All rooms are furnished with antiques, have exposed beams and rural views. Guests have a private and comfortable lounge with real fire and are welcome to relax in the large gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing