We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camomile Cottage
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
J.D.Young(Harleston)
US$109
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel(Stowmarket)(Great Value!)
US$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Cedars Hotel(Stowmarket)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Limes Hotel(Needham Market)
US$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$42
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Breckland Lodge(Attleborough)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
94
1
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
1
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog burnerpot of teawonderful hostsmake teaon arrivalselection of cooked breakfastsguest accommodationself cateringkitchen areawarmest welcomeegyptian cotton sheetssitting roomguest loungebed and breakfastbarn conversionhome made cakeseggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 97 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My partner and I were invited as guests to Camomile Cottage for two nights over a weekend. My friends had stayed before on a previous occasion and it was decided we all go as it was one of our birthdays

There are two types of accommodation on offer. The cottage itself (Camomile Cottage) is a sympathetically restored medieval building which has two double bedrooms both with en suite shower rooms, its own lounge, dining room / conservatory and a kitchen for tea and drink preparation

It was explained to my partner and I that the hosts “come in” and organise tea and cake on arrival and when you get up if you require. In addition, at a predetermined time, they cook and serve your breakfast. We had never stayed anywhere who offered this procedure so were intrigued to find out more

The hosts were very welcoming and polite and nothing was too much trouble. Their high attention to detail in all matters is acute. When travelling I feel that many hosts “go through the motions” of being polite as they see so many guests from week to week, but it was if we were the only ones who had ever visited

On arrival we were promptly offered tea and a homemade cake. Each day we were asked what time we would like breakfast and what egg type we would require. All ingredients are locally sourced and eggs come from their hens to have the run of the gardens. There is plentiful tea, coffee (and espresso), fruit, toast, preserves and cereals. In fact anything you could possible want to eat is there and in good quantities and exceptional quality

The cottage itself forms part of the hosts main house with an interconnecting door for them to access the kitchen. This in itself is not a problem as you have complete privacy and the hosts are very respectful of your space. The other accommodation on offer was a self contained detached chalet / barn (Chobbs Barn) which was lovely and modern but not as characterful as the cottage (in my opinion)

Our advice would be to go with another couple and take the cottage as it works very well. You can share the communal areas as “yours” meaning you don’t feel compelled to stay within the confines of your room. This is itself if not an issue anyway as they are very tastefully furnished with much character and fine views with excellent en suite facilities. There is also good quality “ironed” linen, fresh soft towels and to top the lot “Molton Brown” hand soap and shower wash

The hosts are also knowledgeable about the area. Although our travelling party had been before the hosts called and organised two restaurants locally which turned out to be excellent. We were also asked before we left if we would like to have the log burner light for our return. We said yes and enjoyed a roaring fire on our return

We all travel extensively but we all agree without exception that there is little that can be done to make this a better experience than the one we received. As a parting gift may friend was given a bottle of champagne as it was his birthday !

What you waiting for .... book up now !

Room Tip: Single couple .. Barn, two couples cottage
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andybullBanstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2011

There are no word combinations that can explain how I feel about this place.

Usually we stay in cities and in chain hotels. I now know what we’ve been missing. I’ve never felt so welcome anywhere I have stayed.

We stayed for two nights in mid July 2011 with some family renting the other room; this meant that we had the whole place to ourselves.

The whole cottage oozes character and comfort, none more so than Aly. A welcome with as much coffee as you can drink and the deepest most delicious cake I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting!

We stayed in the Elm room, which has the wonkiest floor I’ve seen. (you lay in bed and the other end of the floor is higher than you are, but at least its downhill to bed at the end of the day). Inside the cupboard is some very old wallpaper and the bathroom is great too (watch out for the top of the doorway, ouch!). Our family stayed in the other room (Oak), which is just as nice but totally different.

There is something great about being in the middle of nowhere, no mobile signal and waking up hearing what you can only describe as ‘nothing’. It’s the small touches that make this cottage so special. You don’t get tea and coffee in your room – Aly knocks on the door at your chosen time with a soft “good morning”. Nothing has been overlooked, and whilst other places might scrimp on quality of some items such as crockery or bed sheets – this is not the case here everything is beautiful.

The lounge area is homely and fabulous, with books, guides, a fascinating collection of lovely ‘things’, a log burner and even a photo album of refurbishing the cottage. There is also a TV, but why you’d want to watch it, I don’t know. There is a log burner too, and we’re determined to come back in the winter to use it (hopefully get snowed in, too)

The kitchen is open for you to use. There’s tea (special teas too), coffee etc.

The breakfast is unimaginable – the effort that Tim and Aly run to for up to four people is phenomenal and the quality of what is put out is just beautiful (‘finest’ yoghurts and fresh, de-stalked berries). The breakfast table is in another beautiful room and is always set the night before. As you’d expect of Aly, it’s exacting and thoughtful. We started moving things late at night, giggling like children and turning bowls round etc – but she knows and it’s corrected before you come down!

The breakfast is the best breakfast I think I have ever had anywhere, which is also served up with another massive dose of warm hospitality. I’ve tried to match their eggs benedict at home, but just can’t.

This isn’t just a bed and breakfast. Tim and Aly are a captivating, interesting, warm and welcoming couple. It felt like meeting old friends and it’s impossible to be a guest in their home without feeling special and relaxed.

Room Tip: They are both beautiful. You might want to bring some socks with grips on if you stay in the Elm room, it can be challenging to get up hill to the door!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This is a belated review as I have only just got into the swing of doing these reviews. We stayed for three nights in late August. A genuinely warm welcome from Aly along with tea and scrumptious cake and biscuits set us up for a great few days in this quirky and very comfortable cottage. We loved the bedrooms with their careful attention to style and comfort and I think we are the only couple to have used both rooms in the same visit. Breakfasts were first class and I think we worked our way through most of the options–all excellent. Aly and Tim are genuine and really helpful hosts with good recommendations on where to eat and visit. Tim is an artist/designer and we bought two pieces of his work which serve as momentoes of a wonderful break at Camomile Cottage.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2011

A beautiful B&B with bags of character. In our opinion this was a five star B&B with fantastic service. A great place to relax and enjoy rural England

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl_Jago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Well once again,it gets better and we dont want to leave,Tim bless had to go out early to get Granary bread as he got the wrong one, but nothing is to much for him,Aly cooked a great breakfast.
The room smelt so so nice the bed was to die for and Red roses for Valentines all these things are so magical that makes this the best B&B ever.
We sat by the log fire till wevwere frazzled,drank and totally chilled so relaxed ready for bed at 10.
Tim & Aly are so nice they will always have a story to tell if you want or will leave you if you would rather be left.
we always stay in the Oak room but we looked at the barn and it is a credit to them,so we may try that in the summer.
Once again fab,brilliant your B&B and much much more.
Karen & MIck x

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ireland02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews