We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Camomile Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camomile Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Eye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This place really is perfect. It cannot be faulted. Everything from the wonderful welcome right through to the sad goodbye is faultless.

Fantastic home cooked breakfasts with loads of fresh fruit. Wonderful tea and cake on arrival. Fluffy towels and crisp sheets. Low beams, Log fires and cosy sofas. Completely peaceful.

Wonderful hosts, so welcoming you really will not want to leave.

This is our second visit and it really won’t be our last!

Room Tip: Just book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weetabixuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
66
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My partner and I were invited as guests to Camomile Cottage for two nights over a weekend. My friends had stayed before on a previous occasion and it was decided we all go as it was one of our birthdays

There are two types of accommodation on offer. The cottage itself (Camomile Cottage) is a sympathetically restored medieval building which has two double bedrooms both with en suite shower rooms, its own lounge, dining room / conservatory and a kitchen for tea and drink preparation

It was explained to my partner and I that the hosts “come in” and organise tea and cake on arrival and when you get up if you require. In addition, at a predetermined time, they cook and serve your breakfast. We had never stayed anywhere who offered this procedure so were intrigued to find out more

The hosts were very welcoming and polite and nothing was too much trouble. Their high attention to detail in all matters is acute. When travelling I feel that many hosts “go through the motions” of being polite as they see so many guests from week to week, but it was if we were the only ones who had ever visited

On arrival we were promptly offered tea and a homemade cake. Each day we were asked what time we would like breakfast and what egg type we would require. All ingredients are locally sourced and eggs come from their hens to have the run of the gardens. There is plentiful tea, coffee (and espresso), fruit, toast, preserves and cereals. In fact anything you could possible want to eat is there and in good quantities and exceptional quality

The cottage itself forms part of the hosts main house with an interconnecting door for them to access the kitchen. This in itself is not a problem as you have complete privacy and the hosts are very respectful of your space. The other accommodation on offer was a self contained detached chalet / barn (Chobbs Barn) which was lovely and modern but not as characterful as the cottage (in my opinion)

Our advice would be to go with another couple and take the cottage as it works very well. You can share the communal areas as “yours” meaning you don’t feel compelled to stay within the confines of your room. This is itself if not an issue anyway as they are very tastefully furnished with much character and fine views with excellent en suite facilities. There is also good quality “ironed” linen, fresh soft towels and to top the lot “Molton Brown” hand soap and shower wash

The hosts are also knowledgeable about the area. Although our travelling party had been before the hosts called and organised two restaurants locally which turned out to be excellent. We were also asked before we left if we would like to have the log burner light for our return. We said yes and enjoyed a roaring fire on our return

We all travel extensively but we all agree without exception that there is little that can be done to make this a better experience than the one we received. As a parting gift may friend was given a bottle of champagne as it was his birthday !

What you waiting for .... book up now !

Room Tip: Single couple .. Barn, two couples cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andybullBanstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

There are no word combinations that can explain how I feel about this place.

Usually we stay in cities and in chain hotels. I now know what we’ve been missing. I’ve never felt so welcome anywhere I have stayed.

We stayed for two nights in mid July 2011 with some family renting the other room; this meant that we had the whole place to ourselves.

The whole cottage oozes character and comfort, none more so than Aly. A welcome with as much coffee as you can drink and the deepest most delicious cake I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting!

We stayed in the Elm room, which has the wonkiest floor I’ve seen. (you lay in bed and the other end of the floor is higher than you are, but at least its downhill to bed at the end of the day). Inside the cupboard is some very old wallpaper and the bathroom is great too (watch out for the top of the doorway, ouch!). Our family stayed in the other room (Oak), which is just as nice but totally different.

There is something great about being in the middle of nowhere, no mobile signal and waking up hearing what you can only describe as ‘nothing’. It’s the small touches that make this cottage so special. You don’t get tea and coffee in your room – Aly knocks on the door at your chosen time with a soft “good morning”. Nothing has been overlooked, and whilst other places might scrimp on quality of some items such as crockery or bed sheets – this is not the case here everything is beautiful.

The lounge area is homely and fabulous, with books, guides, a fascinating collection of lovely ‘things’, a log burner and even a photo album of refurbishing the cottage. There is also a TV, but why you’d want to watch it, I don’t know. There is a log burner too, and we’re determined to come back in the winter to use it (hopefully get snowed in, too)

The kitchen is open for you to use. There’s tea (special teas too), coffee etc.

The breakfast is unimaginable – the effort that Tim and Aly run to for up to four people is phenomenal and the quality of what is put out is just beautiful (‘finest’ yoghurts and fresh, de-stalked berries). The breakfast table is in another beautiful room and is always set the night before. As you’d expect of Aly, it’s exacting and thoughtful. We started moving things late at night, giggling like children and turning bowls round etc – but she knows and it’s corrected before you come down!

The breakfast is the best breakfast I think I have ever had anywhere, which is also served up with another massive dose of warm hospitality. I’ve tried to match their eggs benedict at home, but just can’t.

This isn’t just a bed and breakfast. Tim and Aly are a captivating, interesting, warm and welcoming couple. It felt like meeting old friends and it’s impossible to be a guest in their home without feeling special and relaxed.

Room Tip: They are both beautiful. You might want to bring some socks with grips on if you stay in the Elm ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This is a belated review as I have only just got into the swing of doing these reviews. We stayed for three nights in late August. A genuinely warm welcome from Aly along with tea and scrumptious cake and biscuits set us up for a great few days in this quirky and very comfortable cottage. We loved the bedrooms with their careful attention to style and comfort and I think we are the only couple to have used both rooms in the same visit. Breakfasts were first class and I think we worked our way through most of the options–all excellent. Aly and Tim are genuine and really helpful hosts with good recommendations on where to eat and visit. Tim is an artist/designer and we bought two pieces of his work which serve as momentoes of a wonderful break at Camomile Cottage.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

A beautiful B&B with bags of character. In our opinion this was a five star B&B with fantastic service. A great place to relax and enjoy rural England

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl_Jago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wickham bishops essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Well once again,it gets better and we dont want to leave,Tim bless had to go out early to get Granary bread as he got the wrong one, but nothing is to much for him,Aly cooked a great breakfast.
The room smelt so so nice the bed was to die for and Red roses for Valentines all these things are so magical that makes this the best B&B ever.
We sat by the log fire till wevwere frazzled,drank and totally chilled so relaxed ready for bed at 10.
Tim & Aly are so nice they will always have a story to tell if you want or will leave you if you would rather be left.
we always stay in the Oak room but we looked at the barn and it is a credit to them,so we may try that in the summer.
Once again fab,brilliant your B&B and much much more.
Karen & MIck x

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireland02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Great Great Great
Well worth a visit as a lovely B&B with a warm and friendly feel. Both Aly and Tim are both lovely and helpful hosts. Upon booking the room Aly booked a meal at a local restaurant and then ordered a local taxi to pick us up and return to collect us at request. The overall experience is defiantly worth a visit as the rooms are very clean and tidy and the sitting room with a real log burner is a great effect which warms not only the room but the hole cottage, If you’re going my recommendation is to book with another couple for a couple of nights making full use of the cottage and we will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eye
1.6 km away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.9 km away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
3.9 km away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
4.0 km away
The Auberge
The Auberge
#1 of 1 in Yaxley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
8.8 km away
Holly Tree House
Holly Tree House
#1 of 1 in Wingfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camomile Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camomile Cottage

Property: Camomile Cottage
Address: Camomile Cottage Langton Green Brome Avenue | Eye, Eye IP23 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Eye
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Eye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alastair Sawday's Best Newcomer Winner 2013/14.Sunday Times Ultimate 100 British Hotels Award 2013.Situated in the heart of East Anglia with easy access to Lavenham, Southwold, Cambridge and Norwich. Awarded 4 Star Silver by the Tourist Board we provide a private luxury B&B experience in the beautiful Suffolk countryside. A maximum of only 4 guests at any time ensures your comfort is our first aim. All rooms are furnished with antiques, have exposed beams and rural views. Guests have a private and comfortable lounge with real fire and are welcome to relax in the large gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing