We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
239
211
73
40
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
211
73
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watermark restaurant waterfront room muskie jakes breakfast was included watch the boats honeymoon suite lawrence river the pub muskoka chairs river view prime rib overlooking the water main building tour boats off season no elevator third floor
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 584 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2015

My husband and I make a point to visit Gananoque about once a year and we count this as our 7th time at the Gananoque Inn. This time we stayed in room 306 but we have stayed in a number of different types of suites in the Main inn, the Annex and even once stayed in the Admiralty Suite in Cedar Knoll. We always stay at the Gananoque Inn and come back because we love their rooms and their cozy atmosphere. I'm sure we could find cheaper places to stay, or a B&B, but we would never be able to duplicate the comfortable vibe and the charm. This time was no different and was the first time we visited when there was no ice or snow on the ground. We typically visit during the off-season to take advantage of the lower rates but decided to stay in October this time as we were driving back from Ottawa to Toronto. Being able to enjoy Gananoque in the warmer weather was great, and it has inspired us to try to come back in the summer time (in 2016). As usual the service was wonderful at the front desk and in the Watermark for breakfast. Jean and Adam are both pleasant and attentive. Could not ask for anything more. The room was small but everything we needed. One small feedback is that the toilet needed a bit of fiddling to stop the gurgling sounds. The bikes were a nice touch and it was fun to be able to hop on and ride around some of the streets in the neighbourhood. The hotel itself is grand and beautiful, close to the water and also to downtown. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys a homey, safe and clean environment but is not necessarily expecting modern or trendy. I always love the smell (similar to a cinnamon candle) that welcomes me upon entering the lobby and it's part of what makes me want to come back. The internet / wifi was a bit intermittent throughout our stay, and sometimes you can hear people walking by your room in the hallway but it is generally peaceful and quiet. DVD in the bedroom and a long list of movies at the front desk. We watched the Help and the Imitation Game which are relatively recent movies but there could be a better selection of newer releases. The staff is always courteous and have always granted a late checkout when we have asked. Love love love! Always feels like home. See you next year.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2015

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you made an autumn visit to the inn. Our staff will appreciate your many positive comments. Reviews such as yous keep us all inspired!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2015

Booked in for a night in a king sized room but liked it so much we tried to get a second night but it was already taken so we had a chalet,right on the river front.Both rooms were excellent,very comfy with everything you'd need.The staff were great,even moved our luggage for us once the chalet was cleaned.A good choice for breakfast,although this could be slow in arriving. If we're ever that way again this will be our first choice.

Room Tip: try to get a lake view
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gasmanGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you chose to spend a second night with us and that you found our staff so helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2015

We stayed here two years ago, and again Oct 4/15. Friendly, quiet spot on the St Lawrence River. Dated rooms, poor internet service, very nice grounds. Dinner was good, but not top notch for the price. Playhouse theatre, never disappoints us.
I really have nothing negative to say or anything to cheer about. It's nice.

Room Tip: Ask for building below the annex nicer view
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jullypost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Gananoque Inn and Spa. We like to think our decor is traditional not dated and that it adds to the historic nature of the inn. For travelers seeking a different style there are several chain hotel in town. The Thousand Island Playhouse productions have been very well received this year and we glad you enjoyed the performance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2015

We had booked for 2 nights and as soon as we arrived we decided to make it 3. We were lucky this was just after the Labor day holiday so there was availability. We had a cosy room in the Annexe with river view and it was just lovely.
Our room had chairs on the balcony outside so we could sit and enjoy the view across the river. The room also had a water jet corner bath in the bedroom as well as the main shower room, we also had the luxury of some soft cosy dressing gowns.
Breakfast was included which was a nice surprise - 2 mornings it was buffet style as the hotel was full, on the last morning it was cooked off the menu.
We ate twice in the pub attached to the hotel and the food was good, it was very busy and service a little slow, however the server told us when we were being seated that the kitchen was really busy and there would be a wait.
The hotel also has some cute bike that can be borrowed,no charge just got the receptionist to book them out to the room, they are proper old fashioned style with no gears and peddle backwards to brake. Once we got used to them we had a fun day out.
Excellent location if you are planning a trip out on the boats or want to swim in the lake from the little beach area, we did both. It would be equally nice to just spend some time relaxing in the hotel grounds. All round it was lovely.

Room Tip: The annexe rooms with river view are great. Set slightly apart from main hotel they are very quiet and cosy.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tw0Sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2015

Thank you for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit and decided to extend your stay to take advantage of activities both at the inn and in the area. The old fashioned push bike are always popular!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2015

We stayed only one night as they were fully booked the next night. Everything was as good as it gets . We dined in the dining room and had a first class dinner and the breakfast was great too. We could find nothing and nobody to adversely criticize .we will return but for a longer stay . In the late September weather was exceptional. Incredible value for money considering the substantial breakfast was included.

Room Tip: Try the so called annexe rooms opening directly on to the lovely gardens
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sylviastonehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2015

Thank you for your review. Such positive comments as yours are a reward for us and for our wonderfully committed staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews