We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed there this past weekend and the service was fast, the prices were very affordable and the staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean, the continental breakfast was more than adequate and the location was very convenient! I definitely recommend it to everyone!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTejani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabiya, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful words Mrs.Tejani. We are pleased to hear that our property along with our staff accommodated you and your family during your holidays. It was such a pleasure to invite your family into ours. We do hope to see you all soon.

Mebs Ladha
General Manager
Kensington Hospitality Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    43
    39
    41
    52
See reviews for
58
86
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Any time im in orillia I stay at this hotel.
I enjoy the fact that they have smoking and non smoking rooms as for I'm a smoker.
The rates are reasonable and the rooms are clean an have mini fridges an mic in them free wireless internet for guests and some rooms now have the new flat screen tvs. The breakfast is simple but a nice added touch with no extra cost. This is the second review I've done as for I failed to realize that there is an extra link to follow not a big computer user.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabiya, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Econo Lodge Orillia. Our success is measured by our guest's experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Econo Lodge on your next visit to the Orillia area.

Mebs Ladha
General Manger
Kensington Hospitality Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at Econo Lodge and we are satisfied with our room and the staff. Breakfast is a customary continental in a comfortable dining area. We especially like the fair prices.

Room Tip: We usually acquire our room through Priceline there's always one available for a very low price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

A warning to anyone who are waiting for Econo Lodge Orillia to call or confirm your reservations for the weekend of June 7- 10 for the Barrie Automotive Flea Market. Their Head Office booked up all the rooms for this weekend and no one will find out if they have a room until after May 1st. Good thing we had decided to find another hotel to go to. Have been going to this Orillia location for about 20 years now and the state of the place is getting worse every year. Management need to start fixing up the place and checking behind the furniture to see if proper cleaning has been done. When I called this morning to check on our booking for the June weekend as we had not been called yet, the clerk informed me that we wouldn't know if we had a room until after May 1st.
Feel sorry for the staff as over the years we have gotten to know them quite well and they are only doing what management tell them.

Room Tip: don't blame the staff for the mess, call head office and tell them to start spending some money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orillia hotels

toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I have stayed at other Econlodge locations in the past that have been far better than this. Next time I will pay more money and stay somewhere else.

When I made the reservation online, it website stated that nothing would be charged to my credit card until checking out of hotel the next morning. Before we arrived that this location, the hotel had already done a pre-authorization for the 2 nights we originally planned on staying there. I understand that pre-authorizations happen with hotels, but give the guest a chance to arrive before you do that.

We mentioned it to the receptionist upon check-in and she was very rude about it. We finally got to our room and the room was smelly, the sheets were wrinkled and basically the room looked like it wasn't clean.

We advised the receptionist on our way out who stated that she would get the room re-cleaned. When we arrived, it did smell a little better. But as I was getting ready for bed, I pulled the sheets back and from under the bed flew a tag from someone's recently bought shirt and a reciept. I guess the room wasn't as clean as it should have been. I reached over behind the nightstand to plug something in and there was a HUGE CLUMP OF HAIR between the nightstand and the bed. At that point I was fed up and I called the night time receptionist and advised that I wanted her to come and see the condition the room was in.

She arrived at our room but we could tell that she was not a happy camper that she had to come to the room. She offered us an upgrade, which was not much better than the first room. The comforter was stained, dirty and smelly. I didn't even want to get under the covers. When I went to the bathroom, I picked up a hotel from the stack and saw that the towel was VERY STAINED!!! i picked up the others and they were in very poor condition.

We didn't even bother with the second night. We checked out the next day.

HORRIBLE HOTEL!!!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere ELSE!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HimandI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabiya, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Econolodge Orillia. We appreciate your patronage and are saddened to note that your visit and stay with us was less than satisfactory. Please accept my sincerest regrets and apologies.

In order to better understand and resolve the issues, I ask that you call me on my toll free number 1-877-326-6534. I am available at any time and look forward to speaking with you.

With best regards,
Mebs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We've had a longer stay at this hotel and it has been great. It's very family and pet friendly. There are smoking and non smoking rooms. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. There is a free breakfast included in your stay. The rooms are good size and comfortable. If there is anything you need, the staff will do their best to help you. There are lots of restaurants in walking distance. Shuttle bus to the casino on weekends.
Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have door to outside, so you can park your car at your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We had to change rooms right away when you find old food in your fridge,then it kept going from there. Holes in the blankets, stains on the comforter, toilet broke,light bulb burns out in washroom, taped up converter, horrible picture on tv, problems with room key, and a few more smaller things. When checking out, not even an offer of discount or free room next time you stay in one of there chains, not very good service on the desk. Overall not the best stay.

Room Tip: Do not check in without looking at the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabiya, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for your recent feedback after your stay with us at Econolodge Orillia. I am very sad to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory and on behalf of the staff & the management please accept our sincerest apologies.

Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you. It is our earnest hope that you will visit Econolodge Orillia again in the near future and give us the opportunity to provide you with the service and hospitality that we are known for.



Thank you,

Mebs .....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orillia hotels
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
213 reviews
2.0 km away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Knights Inn Orillia
Knights Inn Orillia
#7 of 14 in Orillia
127 reviews
3.4 km away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
555 reviews
4.0 km away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 265 Memorial Ave, Orillia, Ontario L3V 5X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Orillia
Econo Lodge Orillia, Ontario
Orillia Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing