We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
34
15
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
15
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator downtown orillia choice hotels cookie cutter vintage hotel overflow parking three floors rooms are modern loved this hotel keurig coffee maker water front hot items small hotel main floor within walking distance stay there again short drive
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 56 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2017

Great place... Front desk was super friendly, other staff as well. Rooms were well appointed and recently renovated. Price was great value for the quality we received. Highly recommend you stay here, we will be back!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank matthewadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are please you enjoyed your stay

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017

This old building houses very up to date rooms with wonderful coffee makers, trendy soaps, clean and new bedding. Very pleasant front desk staff. Includes free breakfast.
Location is close to the waterfront, a liquor store, at least 4 restaurants and an old Ontario downtown.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elcbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are conveniently located in downtown Orillia with many attractions around us.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2017

From staff, rooms to complimentary breakfast, service was beyond exceptional. Check in, staff was having issues with check in system, they remained calm and professional and made our check in pleasurable, sharing valuable info from restaurants to shuttle/cab system, breakfast specials etc. We were attending a show at Rama and preordered a cab to pick us up 50 min prior. They were not coming...Long story short, the ladies at the front desk did everything possible to get us to the show in time., calls calls and more calls. Rooms are smaller in size but very clean and comfortable. A1 establishment, definitely recommend and will stay there everytime going forward.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am so glad you got to your show on time after all the waiting. We

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2017

There were three of us, in two king suites with fireplaces. We loved it! Great location, didn't start the car once all weekend. Unique decor, well-suited to the heritage building. We were on the third floor but found the walk-up no problem at all. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Strongly recommend if you are tired of bland cookie cutter chains and/or want to be right downtown.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Graygo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile

As a Diamond member of Choice hotels, I stayed at lots of them around Ontario. Champlain is for sure one of the best. Booked online with points, a reasonable 12k for a king size, one night in November.
The pros:
Newly renovated, cool design of rooms, inside and out of the hotel, especially the Lobby. Very attentive front desk staff, helpful and welcoming. Perfect mattress, pillow, lake view from 3rd floor (even though is not next to the lake). Nice to also have a fireplace I'm the room. Huge tv, new furniture. Breakfast was plentiful and varied.
The cons:
Small parking at the back, we had no problems parking but probably if the hotel is full, it will be a problem.

Overall very happy with the stay, will definetly return when in the area :)

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael110382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews