We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
34
15
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
15
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator downtown orillia choice hotels cookie cutter vintage hotel overflow parking three floors rooms are modern loved this hotel keurig coffee maker water front hot items small hotel main floor within walking distance stay there again short drive
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 56 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Our son was hospitalized in the Pediatric Hospital in Orillia. We arrived with nothing but the clothes on our backs. The staff and owner of The Champlian hotel were generous and kind and made sure we were taken care of. Every effort was made to insure were were comfortable and that we had what we needed. Special extras were offered and it held us together during one of the most difficult times in our lives. I am in the hospitality business and I have been inspired to do better. Please stay here if you have anyone in hospital and you are from out of town. It is a short drive down the street and you will have a family here to receive you when you are about to fall apart at the end of the day. This is real hospitality offered by warm and caring people. I should also mention the hotel has beautiful character and is in the heart of everything you could possibly need. Shoppers Drugmart, Metro, countless restaurants and LCBO are steps away. Also located at the foot of the historic downtown with too many cute local shops and cafes to count.

Room tip: We had side by side rooms just off the breezeway of the front lobby. Very private as they are the only 2 rooms on that level!
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Many Thanks to your Five Star review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed a pleasant experience throughout your stay during your difficult time. We are also so please to hear that Oscar is responding to treatment and doing better.

We are conveniently located for many shopping experiences.

We'll be here when you're ready to come back. Visit anytime.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2017

We stayed at the Champlain Waterfront Hotel in December. When searching for a hotel, we were looking for something very close to Casino Rama for the night we were attending a concert. This hotel is about 10 - 15 minutes away on the west side of Orillia not far from Highway 11 but in the downtown core. It is very reasonably priced and very recently updated. Although the rooms were a little small, it was perfect for a one to two night stay.

The rooms have been very well updated. We really were impressed with the updated bathrooms. The rooms have free internet and a Keurig coffee maker. Beds were very comfortable and there is a complimentary breakfast.

There is a liquor store right across the street, a restaurant - Fionn's right there as well and is within walking distance to the lake or old downtown Orillia. Lovely hotel, professional staff and would definitely recommend.

The only downside is that there is no elevator but the walk up the stairs wasn't arduous. I don't believe that it is wheelchair accessible.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are please you enjoyed your stay. We do have accessible entry as well as an accessible room on the ground floor.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2017

Great place... Front desk was super friendly, other staff as well. Rooms were well appointed and recently renovated. Price was great value for the quality we received. Highly recommend you stay here, we will be back!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank matthewadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are please you enjoyed your stay

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017

This old building houses very up to date rooms with wonderful coffee makers, trendy soaps, clean and new bedding. Very pleasant front desk staff. Includes free breakfast.
Location is close to the waterfront, a liquor store, at least 4 restaurants and an old Ontario downtown.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elcbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are conveniently located in downtown Orillia with many attractions around us.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2017

From staff, rooms to complimentary breakfast, service was beyond exceptional. Check in, staff was having issues with check in system, they remained calm and professional and made our check in pleasurable, sharing valuable info from restaurants to shuttle/cab system, breakfast specials etc. We were attending a show at Rama and preordered a cab to pick us up 50 min prior. They were not coming...Long story short, the ladies at the front desk did everything possible to get us to the show in time., calls calls and more calls. Rooms are smaller in size but very clean and comfortable. A1 establishment, definitely recommend and will stay there everytime going forward.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am so glad you got to your show on time after all the waiting. We

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews