We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely stay here again!”
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay here again!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was our first stay at this hotel and we will definitely be back! Our room was a small suite, complete with fridge, wet bar, microwave, toaster, and coffeemaker, and there were dishes and cutlery provided. The bed and pillows were comfortable, a turn down service was provided, and the room was very clean. There is a small pool and hot tub on the main floor, as well as a small bar/restaurant called the Fireside Lounge, which serves locally brewed beer. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room. Free parking is available, and there is a 24-hour grocery store very close by. The staff was friendly, and the rates were very reasonable. We were impressed with our stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickelcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    146
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
110
264
17
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I have stayed at the Stone Gate several times, most recently on March 3 2012. Spacious rooms-actually all are suites, with all the amenities, comfortable beds and very clean.I have tried a few other hotels in Orillia, but none can even come close, except in price, which only proves you get more for your money at Stone Gate, with pleasant professional staff and dependable quality every time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyh558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stay at the Stonegate at least 2 to 3 times a year for the past several years, most recently in December. This is an excellent small inn (about 45 rooms I think). The value for money is excellent. All rooms have fridges, microwaves, wet bars, and the suites are very spacious and have most of the conveniences of home. The bar on the main floor is very cute and the staff go out of their way to be helpful. The beds have been replaced recently and are extremely comfortable. Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - from the standard rooms up to the executive and luxury suites. Have stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We took a mother/daughters trip to Orillia and stayed at the lovely Stone Gate Inn. The room was great and offered 2 dbl beds (very comfy), a kitchenette with fridge, microwave, dishes, utensils. Complimentary in room coffee and bottled water, soft fluffy robes. Room service. A large washroom. Everything was very clean and modern. We used the pool/hot tub which was a nice way to unwind after a busy day. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The rates are very good and include a deluxe continental breakfast in the morning..lots to choose from: coffee, assortment of teas, milk, juices, fruit, yogurt, cereals, muffins, bagels, toast, sausages and boiled eggs. Very nice touch. Nearby is the fabulous Mariposa market. Next door is a 24 hr grocery store. Great place to stay while in Orillia. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the standard 2 dbl's and it was lovely, so I'm sure all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Stone Gate while seeing a show at casino Rama, excellent hotel and Christian at the front desk was terrific.....beautiful room, spotless, comfortable....breakfast included was great....nice stay, quiet, comfortable and not to far from the casino....

Room Tip: 2 nd floor and above, quiet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrytraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights recently and are so happy we decided to give them a try. Suites are very comfortable with all the amenities needed for a great getaway. Couldn't hear a thing in our bedroom at night from other guests, very quiet. Christian and the staff are wonderful and definitely are a large part of the 5 star rating given, they are one of the reasons we would go back. My husband and I are planning on going back to the area for our anniversary and would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunnys_1_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We had tickets to a show at Casino Rama so we were looking for a hotel in the area. This came up in my searches so we decided to try it out.

Location:

It is in Orillia, about a 15-20 minute drive from Casino Rama. They offer a shuttle every hour on the weekends to the Casino so if you don't want to drive there is always that option.
There really isn't much around other then that, but you are a few minute drive to to the main drag of Orillia.

Service:
The service is great here. There seemed to be only a few main workers on the weekend we stayed there and they all were very friendly and helpful. You get that small town friendliness which I love. If we had any questions, the front desk was always able to answer them.

Rooms:
The rooms where fine. Nothing over the top fancy but a nice size, clean with a homey feel. The bathroom was really nice, clean and up to date. I felt like I was getting ready at home. We had a room with a King bed which was comfortable. The TV was a nice size and there was lots of channels to choose from. We had a room on the ground floor at the end of the hall (away from the bar) so we never heard any noise. I'm not sure how I would feel with a room closer to the bar as it could get noisy there at night. There is a coffee maker, small fridge and microwave in the room as well in case you want to bring snacks.

Food and Drink:
Friday nights they have a little party hosted in the bar/lounge area which seemed to be popular. We did not make it as we had other plans, but definitely a great idea to interact with the others staying at the hotel.
They offer a free continental style breakfast with your stay that was served from 7-10. It consisted of boiled eggs, sausage, bagels, toast, cereal, granola, fruit and yogurt. There was jams, juices and coffee. One of the better Continental Breakfast I have had in a hotel.

Other:
There is a 'fitness' room which is disappointing. It consisted of a treadmill (which was in rough shape) a elliptical and a weights machine (which was also in rough shape). There was really no room to do anything other in there as it was a very small room. This is probably really the only real complaint I had about the hotel (as I workout regularly and I like a gym) It did have something though, which is better then nothing.
There is a small pool off of the bar area with a above ground hot tub. The pool is not really for swimming due to the size, but the water was warm and it was nice to just get in. The hot tub was relaxing. They are open until 10pm I believe. Kept clean and worth bring your suit for.
There is free Parking all around the hotel which is a bonus (I have paid as much as $50 extra per night for parking at hotels) so this is a big +

We drove around the town and this hotel is by far the nicest one in the area. All in all, a great stay and I would recommend and if I was in the area I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kassi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
4.3 km away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
4.1 km away
Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
4.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Days Inn - Orillia
2.4 km away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
32.7 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Property: Stone Gate Inn
Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing