We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local hiatory”

Ross Memorial Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lovely 1824 Georgian mansion holds not only a wonderful love story, but also a surprising collection of fine early New Brunswick furniture, paintings by Canadian and California artists and artefacts collected by the museum's benefactors, Henry and Juliette Ross on their world travels.Free admission, donations appreciated. The Ross Memorial Museum offers personal guided tours,self-guiding materials and an exhibit highlighting photographs, video and special artefacts.The museum is open June to Canadian Thanksgiving, Monday to Saturday 10am to 4:30pm and off season by chance or appointment.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Local hiatory”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Another gem in Saint Andrews that can be visited for free! Really enjoyed learning about the Ross couple and seeing all the artifacts from their travels. After a brief introduction about the house from the staff, we were able to follow the self-guided tour at our leisure. Don't forget to bring a donation :-).

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting little museum”
Reviewed 25 July 2016

It was a nice place to spend 40 min to an hour. An interesting collection of world items, and we liked reading about the Ross couple.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank EE52013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too much to see....too little time!”
Reviewed 16 July 2016

This house is spectacular!! Unfortunately, we did not have time to really see it properly, so will go back soon. It is probably the most detailed home/museum I've ever been in. It feels like the family is still living there and is a MUST SEE if you're in the area,You need at least one hour (or more) to really appreciate the detail of presentation and all the artifacts.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A gem of a small museum!”
Reviewed 10 July 2016

One of my favourite stops in St Andrews. This lovely little museum provides a glimpse into the lives of Henry and Sarah Ross, an American couple who made St Andrews their home. Their story is one of love for each other and generosity towards friends and their community. They amassed quite a collection of art, furniture and carpets, and then bought this lovely Georgian home to house it all. Admission is free but a donation is appreciated and I would suggest nothing less than $5, it is well worth it. There is great interpretive signage throughout if you want to self-guide or staff is happy to give you a tour. I have had tours with permanent staff members and with summer students, all are excellent. My first visit this year the young lady was knowledgeable, engaging, and when I asked something she didn’t know, she insisted on finding out the answer even when I said it wasn’t necessary. There are a number of interesting places of historical interest in SA that are “free” but put this stop at the top of your list.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank fincaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“beautiful old house,”
Reviewed 8 July 2016

toured this with our friends. beautiful furniture, interesting history. tour guide was very well informed and looked up answers to any questions we had they weren't sure of

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank yysuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ross Memorial Museum also viewed

Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 

Been to Ross Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing