We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent visit”

Ross Memorial Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lovely 1824 Georgian mansion holds not only a wonderful love story, but also a surprising collection of fine early New Brunswick furniture, paintings by Canadian and California artists and artefacts collected by the museum's benefactors, Henry and Juliette Ross on their world travels.Free admission, donations appreciated. The Ross Memorial Museum offers personal guided tours,self-guiding materials and an exhibit highlighting photographs, video and special artefacts.The museum is open June to Canadian Thanksgiving, Monday to Saturday 10am to 4:30pm and off season by chance or appointment.
Barbados
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent visit”
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Local history comes alive and you get a floavour for the town, its people and its history. Well worthwhile.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank RoyalWestmoreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dieppe, Canada
2 reviews
“A delightful, well preserved home filled with amazing items from a time gone by”
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This home is filled will interesting items from around the world. My 19 yo dtr, my husband and I enjoyed a leisurely tour through this museum which took 30 minutes and the guide was there to answer any of our queries. Great place if you want to take pictures of the items. A fascinating stop in Saint Andrews!

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank campervantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fascinating look into the lives of a unique couple.”
Reviewed 14 August 2016

The house was actually purchased by a couple to display the many items that they collected on their travels around the world, along with antiques that they had purchased throughout their life. There were many very beautiful items on display, and the stories about the couple were also very interesting.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank ArdyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This period house was just beautiful. What amazed me most was the collection of artifacts that they collected over their lifetime and world travels. It was very interesting learning about this history of he house and couple. The girl who greeted us at the door was very helpful in explaining a bit of the history of the house and this generous couple. There is no entry fee but donations are requested.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Local hiatory”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Another gem in Saint Andrews that can be visited for free! Really enjoyed learning about the Ross couple and seeing all the artifacts from their travels. After a brief introduction about the house from the staff, we were able to follow the self-guided tour at our leisure. Don't forget to bring a donation :-).

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ross Memorial Museum also viewed

Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 

Been to Ross Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing