We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Consistently first-class accomodation and ambience"”
Review of Treadwell Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Treadwell Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Saint Andrews B&B and Inns
ontario
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“"Consistently first-class accomodation and ambience"”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This was our fourth stay at the Treadwell over the past 6 years, and my comments here reflect our observations over all of those stays.
We give this property an "excellent" rating because the owners,Gerry & Annette, have continued to provide a clean, friendly and classic experience within the walls of their historic Inn.
St. Andrews is famous for its amazing Fundy tides, and the Treadwell has one of the best vantage points to watch in amazement at this daily show put on by Nature. Our room, a suite with a balcony view, has been our favourite. It is large, well-equipped and appointed.
Breakfast (bacon/eggs/cereal/breads) is available in the morning and is very tasty. Parking is right next to the building and is free. Although St. Andrews has a lot of history and thus historical buildings, the Treadwell is one of the best-kept of the lot. The owners have continued to invest in the property's appearance and facilities over the years and we have noticed it in our visits.
No place in the town has a better view of the tides on the bay. No place is better-kept or operated, from our observation. There are several good eateries within easy walking distance, and plenty of seafood, naturally. The nearby Rossmount Inn has established a reputation for excellent food. It is only a few minutes-drive away.
Make sure you take a two or three day stay in St. Andrews.....it seems like (and is) a small town, but there is plenty of history to this place, and the sheer quietness is a feature all by itself.
The Treadwell Inn, and St. Andrews NB....a great combo and not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Saint Andrews is a great resort town. The Treadwell Inn is in a great location, you can walk anywhere.
The room that we were in only had a double bed and our daughter had to sleep on a cot which made the room smaller, but not too crowded.
The best part of our stay was the delicious breakfast that was served each morning pancakes or bacon and eggs. Excellent food/ Excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eskape96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We spent one night in St.Andrews and couldn't have made a better choice. The room was fantastic, with deck overlooking the bay, jacuzzi tub and sitting area. The building was beautifully maintained and well furnished.

The breakfast was good, partly buffet style and partly "short order cook" style. Annette cooked to order, but compared to other B&B's where we stayed on this trip, I think adopting the more prevalent format of preparing a set meal seems more "homely". Annette's breakfast seems more "hotel" style.

All in all, a great inn, and gracious host and hostess.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeltaFlyer-321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Treadwell Inn in St. Andrews, NB, is a truly outstanding B&B. It is a great facility with a terrific location, food & service.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrWmBainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The Treadwell Inn is a wonderful spot when visiting St. Andrews. We stayed in one of 2 suites which had a king sized bed, a sitting area, a jacuzzi tub, and a kitchenette. The inn has wonderful furnishings and is very well decorated Breakfast each day was delicious and Annette is a perfect hostess. The inn is on the main street so most everything is within walking distance. The view of the bay from our deck was so beautiful, we even had dinner at our room several nights. St. Andrews and the Treadwell Inn are well worth the trip!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpap80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at this inn when we went to St. Andrews to go whale watching in early August. The Inn is a beautifully maintained old home on the town's main street and within walking distance of all shops and restaurants. Our room (#3) was spacious, charming, and impeccably clean -- exactly what the website promised. We enjoyed our morning coffee and made-to-order eggs on the inn's back porch, which overlooks the bay. However, we think the best feature of the Treadwell Inn may be its host, Jay. We truly enjoyed talking to him, and his help and recommendations were invaluable. I don't think you can go wrong if you book at this B&B.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mariamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Have just spent 5 glorious nights at this beautiful Inn. The only way to describe it is:
Excellent accommodations
Excellent food
Excellent host/hostess
Beautiful view of the bay from a deck right off your room, very private, quiet and restful.
The Village itself is a wonderful collection of artistic shops, restaurants, and everything
you require is all within walking distance of the Inn. My only regret is not having booked
for an additional week.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blitzen467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Andrews hotels
5.4 km away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
275 reviews
0.7 km away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
2.3 km away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
No photo provided
Kingsbrae Arms
#9 of 13 in Saint Andrews
129 reviews
0.1 km away
St. Andrews Motor Inn
St. Andrews Motor Inn
#5 of 7 in Saint Andrews
129 reviews
0.9 km away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treadwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treadwell Inn

Property: Treadwell Inn
Address: 129 Water Street, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront property with king beds and private balconies overlooking the sea. Relax by the outdoor fire or in our beautiful garden by the waters edge. Historic Building In the heart of town with private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Treadwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treadwell Inn Saint Andrews, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing