We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rouyn-Noranda
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

It was a very pleasant stay. We stayed there two nights and because we needed a fridge we were bumped up into an executive room without any extra cost. It was very clean, modern and quiet. The only shame was that the hotel no longer has a pool. But we definitely would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creative2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
16
3
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Hi everybody, I’ve just returned from a two day stay at the Le Noranda Hotel du Gouverneur and here is my review. The Hotel is located on the Noranda side of the city in a mostly quiet residential district. The hotel is modern three stories high and has a convention center linked across the street. Upon arrival I was pleasantly greeted and within a few minutes I was in my room. My room was on the second floor (room 214). The room was clean and comfortable fitted with two queen beds and nice quality linens, TV, Iron, Coffee machine, Ice bucket, Hair dryer are all standard. The bathroom was large and clean except that for a four star I found it wasn’t’ t up to the standard I would expect. There were some loose floor tiles that would rock when you walk on them, I realize that this is not the chamber maid’s choir but it should have been reported to the maintenance people, same thing with the bath mat, it was really discolored and should have been replaced. If the management is reading this may I suggest you inspect your rooms more attentively, after all this Gouverneur hotel is a four star. Apart from that the breakfast at the Cellier restaurant was great and inexpensive. My two day stay cost me a total of $264.31 with taxes. And for the final question would I return to this hotel? Probably not, not because it was a bad experience but I would want to compare it with another of the same type. Cheers!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikealoneathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

We spent one Saturday night here in early November. From what we can tell it appears to be the nicest hotel in town. The attached restaurant is also the classiest and most modern in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windowpane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

WOW!

Your rooms, section business, are SUPER. Your renovations just one word

WOW" Contemporary style. SUPER.

Bathroom same. WOW

I would recommend your location to everyone that goes in your region

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmike5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

I stayed at this hotel for four nights in November of 2008. I was very impressed with everything about the hotel. Most hotels in Northern towns are somewhat lacking but this one had a great feel, good service and decent rooms. The restaurant in the hotel was very good and the room service was very convenient. There is no fitness center in the hotel, but instead they gve you passes to use the gym in town (which is better since there is lots of equipment).
There is also a spa in the hotel with a hamman which I would have liked to use but it closes early (6 or 7pm I think) so I didn't get a chance.
The room itself was spectacular but it was warm and fairly quiet- but be warned a lot of people who stay here need to get up early as they work for the mines.
You can also walk downtown from here.
I think this is the best choice in town.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jac2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2005

This is an excellent hotel for any visit to Rouyn-Noranda . The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the cleanliness sets an example that other hotels should strive for. There are two restaurants in the building. One is for fine dining and the other one has very affordable pub style meals. The pub has a medieval theme to it and even attracts many locals. The swimming pool and hot tub were very nice. The spa also looks nice, though I did not use it because cheaper massages were available inside the town. The only problem with this hotel is the location. It is not in the downtown core though Rouyn is a small town and thus downtown can be walked in 10 or 15 minutes. Also there is a diner that claims the best poutine in the world just up the street from it. They are quite possibly telling the truth and as a result, it would be good for any travellers waistline to be careful.

Stayed February 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank Chenjesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouyn-Noranda hotels
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Albert Rouyn-Noranda
1.8 km away
Quality Inn Rouyn-Noranda
Quality Inn Rouyn-Noranda
#5 of 6 in Rouyn-Noranda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.7 km away
Deville Centre Hotelier
Deville Centre Hotelier
#3 of 6 in Rouyn-Noranda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 6 in Rouyn-Noranda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda

Property: Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda
Address: 41, 6e Street | Rouyn-Noranda, Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec J9X 1Y8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Rouyn-Noranda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rouyn-Noranda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda is 71 spacious and comfortable rooms, a restaurant with grilled over maple logs, a convention center at the cutting edge of technology, a Spa with massages and Nordic baths, a modern exercises room, a warm and dynamic team. Our mission is your confort! Welcome home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing