We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rouyn-Noranda
Kirkland Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stay at this hotel often when we stay in Rouyn. The rooms are nice and clean. You can get a feng shui (spelling?) rooms that will for sure create relaxation and may entice you to access the terrific spa on the lower floor. The spa is great for couples. Get massages together and sit after in your house coats over some mint tee perhaps? A restaurante "haute class" is attached to the hotel as well. I personally have never eaten at that restaurant but I have heard that its worth the extra cash for the food and treatment. Oh yes and they have a pool as well:)

Room Tip: feng shui rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oosak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
16
3
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Excellent hotel in the heart of Rouyn-Noranda. Spent 2 nights in Feb. 2011. Modern & clean rooms, comfortable beds and soft linens made for a great night sleep. Practical business center & meeting rooms in main lobby, on-site restaurant/bistro and wine bar was warm and inviting, great place to unwind after a busy day. There is also a spa & exercise room, as well as an attached convention center.

Service was top notch and polite, despite a little hiccup with my reservation that the manager quickly resolved. Parking is outdoor only, street / alley spots, and was a little dodgy in trying to find an ideal spot without having the brave the elements.

Compared to some of the other local hotels (independent & middle-class chain), Le Noranda offered top notch facilities and services, at an affordable price - well worth the few extra dollars in my opinion.

Will definitely be staying here again for my next business trips to the Abitibi region.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

It was a very pleasant stay. We stayed there two nights and because we needed a fridge we were bumped up into an executive room without any extra cost. It was very clean, modern and quiet. The only shame was that the hotel no longer has a pool. But we definitely would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creative2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Hi everybody, I’ve just returned from a two day stay at the Le Noranda Hotel du Gouverneur and here is my review. The Hotel is located on the Noranda side of the city in a mostly quiet residential district. The hotel is modern three stories high and has a convention center linked across the street. Upon arrival I was pleasantly greeted and within a few minutes I was in my room. My room was on the second floor (room 214). The room was clean and comfortable fitted with two queen beds and nice quality linens, TV, Iron, Coffee machine, Ice bucket, Hair dryer are all standard. The bathroom was large and clean except that for a four star I found it wasn’t’ t up to the standard I would expect. There were some loose floor tiles that would rock when you walk on them, I realize that this is not the chamber maid’s choir but it should have been reported to the maintenance people, same thing with the bath mat, it was really discolored and should have been replaced. If the management is reading this may I suggest you inspect your rooms more attentively, after all this Gouverneur hotel is a four star. Apart from that the breakfast at the Cellier restaurant was great and inexpensive. My two day stay cost me a total of $264.31 with taxes. And for the final question would I return to this hotel? Probably not, not because it was a bad experience but I would want to compare it with another of the same type. Cheers!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikealoneathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

We spent one Saturday night here in early November. From what we can tell it appears to be the nicest hotel in town. The attached restaurant is also the classiest and most modern in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windowpane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

WOW!

Your rooms, section business, are SUPER. Your renovations just one word

WOW" Contemporary style. SUPER.

Bathroom same. WOW

I would recommend your location to everyone that goes in your region

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmike5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

I stayed at this hotel for four nights in November of 2008. I was very impressed with everything about the hotel. Most hotels in Northern towns are somewhat lacking but this one had a great feel, good service and decent rooms. The restaurant in the hotel was very good and the room service was very convenient. There is no fitness center in the hotel, but instead they gve you passes to use the gym in town (which is better since there is lots of equipment).
There is also a spa in the hotel with a hamman which I would have liked to use but it closes early (6 or 7pm I think) so I didn't get a chance.
The room itself was spectacular but it was warm and fairly quiet- but be warned a lot of people who stay here need to get up early as they work for the mines.
You can also walk downtown from here.
I think this is the best choice in town.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jac2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouyn-Noranda hotels
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Albert Rouyn-Noranda
1.9 km away
Quality Inn Rouyn-Noranda
Quality Inn Rouyn-Noranda
#5 of 6 in Rouyn-Noranda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 6 in Rouyn-Noranda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Deville Centre Hotelier
Deville Centre Hotelier
#3 of 6 in Rouyn-Noranda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda

Property: Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda
Address: 41, 6e Street | Rouyn-Noranda, Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec J9X 1Y8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Rouyn-Noranda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rouyn-Noranda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda is 71 spacious and comfortable rooms, a restaurant with grilled over maple logs, a convention center at the cutting edge of technology, a Spa with massages and Nordic baths, a modern exercises room, a warm and dynamic team. Our mission is your confort! Welcome home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gouverneur Le Noranda Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing