We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“wonderful place, it was hard to leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lighthouse Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Qualicum Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lighthouse Motel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Kingston, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful place, it was hard to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

I found the lighthouse motel online and called to book a room for 3 nights. I found the process was easy and Judith was warm and professional. When we arrived late in the afternoon the view took my breath away. We were greeted by Judith and shown to our room. We were very pleased with the accomodation. It had a fully equipped kitchen with every thing we needed to cook full meals. There was also a barbecue available if we wanted to use it. Judith and Colin, the managers, went above and beyond several times and always with a smile and cheerful manner. They were very helpful with directions around the area also. There is a small cafe within walking distance that needs to be experienced to appreciate, words will not be enough. We will be back. I believe we have found our home away from home. There is so much more to say about this lovely get-a-way but it has to be experienced to truly appreciate.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceedee98346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

beautiful little spot right on the water in Qualicum Bay. we had the pleasure of staying in the Bayview Suite #1, with a full kitchen, living room, separate bedroom and private deck looking out into the straight. Nice and relaxing and quiet. The road noise dies down in the evening hours and it's very peaceful. The beach is not very accesible right in front at high tide, but great at lower tides. The grounds on the water side include hammocks, picnic tables and a big deck to sit at right at the waters edge. The yard is big enough for a croquet, bocci or badminton game. What a nice little gem right at the beach. The staff are very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanIsle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

Norman and Lynn extended their utmost hospitality that exceeded our expectation. We found this place on our way, and I am so glad that we did. Not only the room was spacious, very clean with wireless access, a kitchen and all the necessary utilities, but the view of the ocean was breathtaking. The mood of this place was captivating and being here seemed like one of those incidences that one would remember for time to come. Norman, a true worldly gentleman whose company and kindness was unforgettable. I highly recommend this fantastic place for anyone who plans to be dazzled by mother nature and the wonderful creations within it...

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armanfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

We left an article of clothing behind - after an all-too-short stay - and Hillary sent it to us by Canada Post almost immediately. Now, that's "Service" so we will be back, just on the basis of that act of professional courtesy.
Everybody should be ready to play throw-and-catch with the border collie, can't remember his/her name, but it's friendly as can be.
Motel faces out over the bay, and the grounds have a nice concrete walkway - with benches - for enjoying that morning cup of coffee while smelling the fresh aroma of kelp. The backside is exposed to the noisy fast traffic of Highway #19A, a bit disconcerting during the daytime, but remarkably quiet at night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

We just stayed at the Lighthouse Motel the past two nights(July1st and August 2nd)
What a lovely place!
We had found it through the internet and were delighted at this little gem.
The location is fabulous, you have a gorgeous view of the ocean right at your doorstep (or from the lovely patio that is situated right on the beach's edge.)
The garden with it's lovely flowers and garden swings, hammocks and even resident collie are almost bucolic.
The collie is friendly and sweet; and friendly to other dogs visiting...
The suite itself was clean, cute and VERY recently renovated; there was obviously a brand new stove, fridge and microwave, and it looked like new linens(all of which were so well chosen)
The proprietor was friendly and obliging; it felt like visiting friends.
The most important thing is that it was QUIET; even at night there wasn't a PEEP out of the other guests(and the place was full)
I heartedly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paristoujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

When my wife and I checked the web for a place to stay we found this cute motel. We booked it because we were able to bring our family dog. The room was clean and comfortable although the bathroom was very small.

No fault of the motel but the beach is rocky and no sand but it was nice to look at. The grass area was nice to walk in or play on. The BBQ was also nice to have. We also liked the kitchen in the room.

My beef was that the room was not cleaned for us after the first of a 2 nights stay.
the couch should be replaced and the bed was good.
The management we not firm on their smoking policy. As a man ( from 2 units down) was constantly smoking right in front of our room and even though the manager was often right there I had to asked him to move. I was disappointing that we had to buy our own paper towels for the kitchen as the role was empty.

We decided to move closer into Qualicum Beach to be near the sandy beaches .We stayed in a NEW Motel for about $13 more a night that had a private balcony and the owners were very obliging to us with the dog.

Even though I might recommend this hotel to a friend, I feel that the price was too high for what we got.
The garden is nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1sttimetravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Mainland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

We contacted the manager through the e-mail I found on a web site. She was very nice replying right away and letting us know everything we needed to know about the place. The morning we arrived she showed us a couple of the rooms and waited patiently until we figured out the best one for us and our border collie. Hard decision because they were all so appealing to us. After we picked the one and put away our bags we went for a walk on the beautiful patio that for our surprise had not only chairs but hammocks and a barbecue just for us to use if we wanted. The view was just fabulous!! We could see more than 180 degrees of ocean right in front of us. Eagles and other birds were flying above us etc. Back in the room we noticed how every piece of furniture and washroom was so clean and everything so tidy welcoming us. It felt as if we were in our own beach cabin. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Latitude23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
3.4 km away
Shady Shores Beach Resort
15.1 km away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
27.7 km away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
12.3 km away
Shorewater Resort
Shorewater Resort
#3 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
28.2 km away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Motel

Property: Lighthouse Motel
Address: 6035 Island Hwy W | Qualicum Bay, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2E1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Motel is the perfect location any time of year to escape from life's stresses and relax. Our property fronts directly on the ocean overlooking the Strait of Georgia, Hornby Island and the snow capped Coastal Mountain Range. Our hotel is located on the waterfront of peaceful Qualicum Bay, approximately 10 minutes north of Qualicum Beach. We offer affordable accommodation that is perfect for families, couples, or individuals looking for some rest and relaxation. We are a pet-friendly hotel, so you can bring along your furry family member! We are centrally located for day trips to the Parkville-Qualicum area for activities such as hiking, kayaking, skiing and snowboarding, golfing and fishing. For those who just want to enjoy the warm sea air, sit back on the expansive seawall and enjoy a good book or just take in the view, along with the eagles, kingfishers, herons and other wildlife we have the privilege of watching. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel Qualicum Beach
Lighthouse Motel Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing