We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacle Incredibly ,Nature Best”

Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.69*
and up
Multi Cave Adventure Tour
More Info
US$106.33*
and up
4-Hour Vertical Cave Challenge in Horne Lake
More Info
US$35.73*
and up
2-Hour Outdoor Rock Rappel Training in Horne Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Check out the Vancouver Island Underworld! Open year round for exploration above and below ground. Tours range from easy family tours all the way to the "Underground Extreme" where explorers rappel down a seven-storey waterfall! Or try the "3 hr. "Wet & Wild" Spelunking Adventure. Next door to the Horne Lake Campground where visitors will find lakefront campsites, canoe & kayak rentals, free parking & picnic area, boat launch and even camping in a teepee!
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Spectacle Incredibly ,Nature Best”
Reviewed 14 November 2016

This is the great fun to do with the family , special the kids , it is a little challenge for people like me ,(over 60 year young )wow ! they do offer 1 , 3 hours tours ,we have the 3 hours tour with John ,he is excellent leader and very knowledgable , girlfriend #1 get so wet and fun ,she love the outdoor adventure ,air so fresh and cold (She live and work in Hong Hong ! never have the time and opportunity to see mothers nature best !) ,this is the great adventure with natures lover ,,spectacle under ground caves to seen ,,but you do have claim up and down inside the caves , and squeeze though a lot of tight passages !it worth the money and time to visit , and the road off high way is very muddy and potholes every where , so ,drive slow ,give yourself extra time ,special in the winter , but soon as you went inside the cave and seen the spectacle rocks , ,you will say to your self ! it worth the time and money ! and bring extra dry clothing ,after the trip ,you need it ! so ,try it out with the family ,

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank TONY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    82
    12
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun caving”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The 3 hour wet and wild tour was fun (albeit not very wet or wild), but a little slow paced. Next time I would do one of the extreme tours in the summer, or just rent equipment and go on my own.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank ghgreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beauty not to be missed. Don't forget your flashlights.”
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Easy drive from Qualicum Beach. The road in does get a bit greasy , but nothing too bad. Certainly worth it in spite of a few potholes. The surrounding area is beautiful. Easy up hill hike for our kids ( 3 and 7). We just went in the main cave and it was a very fun experience. It won't blow you away or anything like that, but it's definitely out of the ordinary. I was surprised at how tight the "entrance" to the cave is-not for the "full figured". Don't forget your flashlights!!!!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Stevefrench34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Trip”
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We booked the 2 hour tour on line and really enjoyed it. The place is well off the beaten path and while the road is a bit rough in places the journey is worth it, just don't wash the car before you go. We opted for the $3 headlamp upgrade and the women also bought some rubberized gloves. You can also bring your own gloves. The hike to the cave is all uphill but frequent breaks are included. The guide was very knowledgable and had interesting stories to tell. The inside of the cave is tight in some areas but you can stand up in some areas. If you are in reasonable shape ( we're in our sixties ) you shouldn't have much trouble. Wear some study shoes as you will be climbing over uneven ground once in the cave. Some light snacks and souvenirs are available in the shop.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Herb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for an Introduction to Caving”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Yo have to book a reservation on line before you go to the caves. We decided on the middle of the road two hour tour as our first caving experience. We had a group of four so we got 10% off! When you arrive you get fitted with a helmet with a light which you have to wear the whole time. We opted for the upgraded lights, ($3 more) and they were really worth it. We hiked about 20 minutes to the cave entrance with stops along the way with our guide pointing out interesting geological features. Most of the caves are locked to prevent vandalism, though a couple are open for self guided tours. Our tour went seven stories under the ground seeing numerous fascinating calcite deposits. While the floor was a seasonal creek and littered with rocks, the "climbing" was not difficult for most. One highlight was when we all turned our lights out at the same time to "see" total darkness. The guide was knowledgable and interesting to listen to. Overall a great experience. Our group wants to go back next summer for one of the more extreme tours involving real climbing and rappelling!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing