We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good People - Poor Equipment”

Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.89*
and up
Multi Cave Adventure Tour
More Info
US$106.69*
and up
4-Hour Vertical Cave Challenge in Horne Lake
More Info
US$35.85*
and up
2-Hour Outdoor Rock Rappel Training in Horne Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Check out the Vancouver Island Underworld! Open year round for exploration above and below ground. Tours range from easy family tours all the way to the "Underground Extreme" where explorers rappel down a seven-storey waterfall! Or try the "3 hr. "Wet & Wild" Spelunking Adventure. Next door to the Horne Lake Campground where visitors will find lakefront campsites, canoe & kayak rentals, free parking & picnic area, boat launch and even camping in a teepee!
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good People - Poor Equipment”
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Clothing - I have caved in many areas of Europe and this is the first place that asks you to wear your own clothing without providing a protective over suite.

There are very few people in the world who have good water proof material that they don't mind getting torn or shred on the rocks in the caves. To enjoy the experience you have to crawl about and you will damage your clothes.

I managed to rip a couple of holes in my climbing jacket and my water proof trousers.

On speaking with the a few people it is the owners who are somewhat reluctant to pay for these suites.

The staff there and our guide were outstanding and there is no blame with them.

It might be obvious to some to wear crappy clothing but if you want to be warm and dry then you wear the clothes you know will work and to see it wrecked does annoy you a little.

Do this tour as it is outstanding but if you know a mechanic borrow there coveralls.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank pjcuthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave_Park_Director, Owner at Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park, responded to this review, 29 November 2016
Thank you for taking a moment to submit a review.

We are happy to hear that you chose to visit Horne Lake Caves, and particularly happy to hear that your interest in caves has you seeking them out around the world -- that's cool :-)

There have been many discussions about coveralls for clients during our 28 years of operation. However, being a remote/off-grid location makes the logistics of the endeavor very challenging. Our power source is a gasoline generator, with an additional small trickle of solar power input. The power only runs during open hours, not through the night.

We do not have the resources (power system, space, or staff) to create laundering facilities within the provincial park, or to be able to dry client coveralls overnight. We have considered various ways to create a system to drive the dirty coveralls to town for laundering. However, to do such we would need to increase the tour rates to cover the increased costs to maintain the coveralls. Although some clients may be alright with a price increase for this - as a provincial park we strive to maintain tour rates that are affordable for the majority of our visitors.

Additionally, during our peak seasons we can have more than 100 tour guests through the park in a day. That is a very large fleet of various sizes of coveralls to try to maintain, even if we did not have the added logistical challenges of being remote and off-grid.

Sorry to hear that your clothing garnered some 'adventure scars' during your experience here, that is not a typical outcome. When we describe some of the 'challenge by choice' opportunities on the tours, we also mention that care should be taken to not snag your clothing. Of course an 'oops' can happen, unfortunately it sounds like that may have happened with your gear.

Thank you for the kind words regarding how you enjoyed the tour, your guide and our staff!! We are proud of our team and services. It is fantastic when customers share their experience, in turn getting many others excited to come explore their inner selves and our inner planet.

Thank you, we hope you have many more caving adventures ahead :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    83
    12
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Spectacle Incredibly ,Nature Best”
Reviewed 14 November 2016

This is the great fun to do with the family , special the kids , it is a little challenge for people like me ,(over 60 year young )wow ! they do offer 1 , 3 hours tours ,we have the 3 hours tour with John ,he is excellent leader and very knowledgable , girlfriend #1 get so wet and fun ,she love the outdoor adventure ,air so fresh and cold (She live and work in Hong Hong ! never have the time and opportunity to see mothers nature best !) ,this is the great adventure with natures lover ,,spectacle under ground caves to seen ,,but you do have claim up and down inside the caves , and squeeze though a lot of tight passages !it worth the money and time to visit , and the road off high way is very muddy and potholes every where , so ,drive slow ,give yourself extra time ,special in the winter , but soon as you went inside the cave and seen the spectacle rocks , ,you will say to your self ! it worth the time and money ! and bring extra dry clothing ,after the trip ,you need it ! so ,try it out with the family ,

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank TONY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun caving”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The 3 hour wet and wild tour was fun (albeit not very wet or wild), but a little slow paced. Next time I would do one of the extreme tours in the summer, or just rent equipment and go on my own.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank ghgreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beauty not to be missed. Don't forget your flashlights.”
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Easy drive from Qualicum Beach. The road in does get a bit greasy , but nothing too bad. Certainly worth it in spite of a few potholes. The surrounding area is beautiful. Easy up hill hike for our kids ( 3 and 7). We just went in the main cave and it was a very fun experience. It won't blow you away or anything like that, but it's definitely out of the ordinary. I was surprised at how tight the "entrance" to the cave is-not for the "full figured". Don't forget your flashlights!!!!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Stevefrench34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Trip”
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We booked the 2 hour tour on line and really enjoyed it. The place is well off the beaten path and while the road is a bit rough in places the journey is worth it, just don't wash the car before you go. We opted for the $3 headlamp upgrade and the women also bought some rubberized gloves. You can also bring your own gloves. The hike to the cave is all uphill but frequent breaks are included. The guide was very knowledgable and had interesting stories to tell. The inside of the cave is tight in some areas but you can stand up in some areas. If you are in reasonable shape ( we're in our sixties ) you shouldn't have much trouble. Wear some study shoes as you will be climbing over uneven ground once in the cave. Some light snacks and souvenirs are available in the shop.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Herb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing