We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
11
36
51
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
36
51
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot breakfast on site restaurant free wifi the trans canada highway gas station long drive front desk staff would stay again bed was comfortable hairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 127 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2016

This hotel is under renovations, which are LONG overdue. For that, I am thankful. The check in staff were great. They were friendly and helpful. However, the room itself and the journey to get there is far less than ideal. I will likely not stay here again until the renovations are complete. There is exposed construction that seems unsafe. The bedroom and bathroom were in better shape. The room did not feel clean and there was a stain of some sort on the wall near the headboard.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotterNL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treena B, Assistant Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Thank you for your review, we appreciate any feedback we receive. We are currently working very hard to complete our construction as safely and as quickly as possible. We are working with Occupational Health and Safety and requirements are being met in the renovation process. Hopefully, when the renovations are complete, the trek to the room will become much shorter. We hope that you will stay with us again, so we can exceed all of your expectations next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2016

My, Wife, Son had a wonderful stay at the Albatross while on vacation. We would not hesitate to tell our friends thjat when they are traveling in Newfoundland to check out this wonderful Hotel The room was clean and the beds very comfortable . Try out this Motel on your next visit to Gander.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank rebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2016

Thank you for such a wonderful review. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Albatross and thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I hope that the rest of your stay in Gander was also enjoyable and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Three of us stayed here Saturday night after a long ferry ride and an even longer drive. On arrival the front desk lady was helpful and very pleasant. Our check in was seamless and our room was as advertised. It's an older hotel but the room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was standard and reasonabley priced. It is located within walking distance to a couple of restaurants, gas station (that sells beer), and a tummies. Two minute drive to a Plaza with Canadian tire, grocery store, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nokids2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treena B, Assistant Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2016

Thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel. As always, we are committed to making our guests as comfortable as we can during their stay. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2016

There was a swim meet in town so we were hunting for a place to eat. The Albatross' restaurant was one of few decent places in town. It wasn't bad and it wasn't good; it was just average. It's a throwback to the past in decor and menu, well past its prime.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 922PaulE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treena B, Assistant Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Thank you for your review, we appreciate any feedback we receive from our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Hotel was very clean and the beds were very comfortable however there were two ice machines, one out of service and one with no ice. My sister went to bar and the server managed to scrounge up a little ice. The two glasses in room were child size, there was no fridge, no microwave.
Breakfast was provided but we had to pay for orange juice. Service at front desk was not friendly. I don't think all people at reception were as unfriendly as the one we dealt with
We will not stay at this hotel again

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank eastcoastgirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treena B, Assistant Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2016

Thank You for your review.
We are terribly sorry about the inconvenience you had with the ice machine, currently we are under renovations and had to shut our water off a few times. When we do that it sometimes takes a little while for our ice machines to refill.
All of our breakfast promotions with room packages does not include any complimentary juice.
We do have portable refrigerators if requested and available.
We do not have microwaves in any of our rooms.
I apologize for the service you received at our front desk, please call myself or Kayla so we could get more information from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews