We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
11
36
52
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
36
52
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot breakfast on site restaurant the trans canada highway free wifi gas station long drive front desk staff would stay again bed was comfortable hairdryer soap
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 128 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018

We stayed in a basic room with two double beds. The beds were quite comfortable. The room was clean, but dated. Staff were friendly and helpful. We ate dinner and breakfast in the dining room and food was tasty and filling.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sfinbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again on your next visit to Gander.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Stayed here 3 nights while attending meetings. We had a room with a drive up entrance. The room came with a mini- fridge and a queen size bed. Decent enough room but certainly dated and in need of some touch ups. A rather noisy air conditioning unit and nearby entrance was a favourite haunt for smokers.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, we appreciate all feedback. Very happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay with us.

In regard to room upgrades, this is an area we are currently working on. We have just recently installed new carpet and furniture in most rooms including the drive up rooms that you stayed in. We will also be adding new wallpapers to these rooms shortly.

I apologize if the air conditioning unit interrupted your stay. Thank you for bringing it to my attention, We will address this with our maintenance department.

When you decide to stay with us again, please let our staff know if you have any issues at all with your room and we will do our very best to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2018

Spent the night at this hotel on june 2nd 2018. We found it to be a nice clean hotel and very easy to find as its on the Trans Canada Highway in Gander. We stayed there one night and would have no problem staying there again. They serve a lovely hot breakfast for a fee. The rooms are spacious and have a hairdryer, iron and ironing board. The beds are very comfortable and clean. The internet was also great and fast.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank alma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to share a review with us. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate the feedback. Hopefully on your next travels through Gander, we may see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2018

This was my second stay at the Albatross. The front desk staff were polite, professional and very friendly. Check in and check out were fast and accurate. Staff were very accommodating and helpful with local directions and getting taxis when needed. The on site restaurant is quite nice, very quiet and relaxing. Food was good and prices reasonable. The room itself was well set up, bed was comfortable and clean and sofa was easy to sit on, even with a bad back. The building and rooms are a bit dated but well kept and maintained. The bathroom was very clean. Internet was usually stable, but some periods with lower speeds were encountered. Overall, a very enjoyable stay with some great people.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. We greatly appreciate all the feedback we receive. So glad to hear that your time with us was so positive. We hope the rest of your time in Gander was also enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2018 via mobile

My husband and daughter are currently staying here. Upon arrival and check in to their room they found a pair of men’s underwear on the bed (see pics). My husband called the front desk and they apologized and sent up a man to take the underwear away. No one asked at this time if he wished to change his room, offer to change the sheets, or give home a free nights stay. I then sent an email about my concern (have never received a reply). The hotel called my husband and asked if he would like to change rooms. He declined as it would be a couple of rooms down and they were settled. He asked if the sheets were changed and they assured him they were, although I am surprised and shocked that someone would miss navy underwear on a white bed. The manager did follow up today to apologize and offered $50 off and said they would thoroughly clean the room. If are looking for a clean room and good service, look elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank loriann123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we at The Albatross Hotel always strives to provide our customers with the best experience possible and we are very disappointed to hear that your husband encountered some issues during his recent stay.

Unfortunately, sometimes despite our best efforts, things do get missed and mistakes are made. The cleanliness of our property is an area we take very seriously and the issue encountered is being investigated fully. We will take all measures to ensure issues similar to this never occur again.

We also very sorry to hear that you felt your husband did not receive adequate customer service to resolve his issue at the time. Upon being made aware of the issue with his room, your husband was contacted by our front desk and was offered the opportunity to change rooms. Whenever a guest is not completely satisfied with their room for whatever reason the ability to change rooms is always our first option presented. In this instance, as you mentioned your husband was content with how the situation was dealt with and was comfortable going forward with his room and declined to move.

As compensation for his experience, a discount was charged against his room which we were very happy to offer. We hope that your family will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews